We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Fabulous Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queen's Residence B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queen's Residence B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Ypsilanti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a Fabulous Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

My son and I drove to Ypsilanti from Colorado for his school year at EMU. I was booked for two nights at the Queen's Residence in the Newton Suite. My son ended up staying both nights as his apartment wasn't ready to move into, and we had a wonderful time there. Marla and Joe are fantastic people. We enjoyed learning about the house, and the Tavern, having warm cookies when we came in, and just talking. My son invited his two roommates over and they played a board game in the Gentleman's Parlor, which was perfect. The meals were out of this world, and I think I may have gained a little weight with it all- What a great chef you are Marla! The room was comfortable and very clean. The antiques around the house could keep one busy for a long time just seeing them all. No detail is missed at this one. I will definitely come back and this will be my first thought for lodging in Ypsi next time!

Room Tip: If you need more than one bed, which isn't easy to find in a B&B, The Newton Suite is perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkieDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    1
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
34
68
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Marla and Joe were exceptionally welcoming and hospitable and I only wish that we had more excuses to stay the night one town over from our own home! The historic decor is beautifully matched with the lovely building, the rooms are both comfortable and aesthetically pleasing, and breakfast was AMAZING. What a deal... I don't think I'll ever go back to hotels again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chloroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Joe & Marla are warm, welcoming hosts who catered to all our needs and provided a delicious breakfast. The building itself is magnificent, and a feast for the senses. We enjoyed relaxing in the parlor and the library rooms, as well as in our elegant and comfortable bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keepinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay. The owners are friendly and helpful. The suite we stayed in was decorated very charmingly. The extratwin captain's bed in the sitting room was just as comfortable as the larger bed int bedroom. The house itself is gorgeous, with just enough antiques to not look like an antique store. The furniture is beautiful and comfy. The hottub was an nice extra. The courtyard and its garden was a great place to relax with a book. Breakfast was delicous. The authentic 18th century tavern located in the basement level was really interesting. The B&B is a short drive from the attractions in Ypsi and Ann Arbor. There are only a few rooms in the B&B, and it was very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneChitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neversink, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Joe and Marla Queen have created a magical jewel in Ypsilanti that exemplifies a beauty, hospitality and originality which we had never encountered anywhere in our travels! From the exquisite comfort of our bed to the intricate attention to every possible desire that we might have as their guests, accommodating our need for a place to find a tranquil rest through creating an impeccable Victorian retreat with incredible service, Marla and Jo have elevated their profession as hosts to an art form unmatched! Their meticulous attention to the most minuet details, whether a lovely antique hat placed in just the right spot or a breakfast which would be the pride of any trained chef, left us feeling pampered in a way that coddled our souls. Our only regret is that we did not plan a longer stay… but next time we will!

Room Tip: Eat at the Sidetrack Bar and Grill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blog_at_50ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Queen's Residence for 4 nights. Joe and Marla welcomed us so warmly and graciously! Their Victorian home is absolutely beautiful. They really made us feel at home. There is not a detail that they have overlooked. The breakfasts were so delicious. I ate so much every morning that I couldn't eat another bite until dinner time. Marla is a great chef! Every morning we had delicious fruit bowls, yogurt and granola, fresh baked muffins, assorted juices, and an amazing main course...eggs benedict, stuffed french toast, frittatas, baked oatmeal. DELICIOUS! Marla truly outdid herself. This was an amazing experience and we would definitely go back for another stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

My daughter and I loved the Queen's Residence. It is decorated amazingly - beautiful, gorgeous antiques - but also very clean and not musty at all. The breakfasts were amazing and *very gourmet*. The innkeepers were so gracious and welcoming... they made us feel very comfortable and like they really enjoyed hosting and doing what they do. Everything was just superb quality and they had so many special beautiful touches. Truly a place I would recommend to anyone!!!

Room Tip: We loved the Newton room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pebbles8mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ypsilanti
3.5 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Marriott Ypsilanti at Eagle Crest
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#19 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
9.7 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#12 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Residence B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Residence B&B

Property: The Queen's Residence B&B
Address: 220 S Huron St, Ypsilanti, MI 48197-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ypsilanti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ypsilanti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Residence B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...Located in downtown historic Ypsilanti, just minutes from Ann Arbor, Livonia, Belleville and Canton, The Queen’s Residence Bed and Breakfast, is a unique relaxing experience that can not be duplicated anywhere for any price! The inn is ideally situated in the Ann Arbor area for University of Michigan and Eastern Michigan University visitors and parents as well as convenient to the Detroit Metro Airport. The exclusive amenities make The Queen's Residence Bed and Breakfast popular for getaway weekends as well as for business travelers to the Ann Arbor area. Here you can enjoy the one of a kind experience of a fireside chat in our original 1700s tavern. Each guest room is unique in its décor and does not have a common wall with any other guest room increasing your privacy during your stay. The Queen’s Residence Bed and Breakfast is famous for its level of guest service and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Queen's Residence B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing