We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cafe for tasty lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvest Moon Cafe

Harvest Moon Cafe
Ranked #15 of 167 Restaurants in Ypsilanti
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice cafe for tasty lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Cozy cafe with a Harvest theme Hostess seated us promptly. Our waitress was Juanita who was humorous and very attentive.Ordered the Harvest Chicken salad which was grilled chicken and it was large, fresh and delicious. Husband and son had the Gyros which were on pitas with red onion and tomatoes; very good. Reasonable prices and tasty food. JWatching out 4 u!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWatching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“homestyle food...much to choose from”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

great food at good prices. The salads are large and fresh. always a couple great specials.pasta is great but so are burgers and sandwiches. They also offer a couple fresh low calorie options

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauramOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“good foid, good service, good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went to Harvest Moon for breakfast. The restaurant was busy on Sunday morning, and for a good reason. Service is fast and friendly, food portions plentiful, and tasted delicious. The homemade biscuits were excellenr, as was the western omelette.

Helpful?
Thank DebRon911
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milan, Michigan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Basic comfort food at decent prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I suggested Harvest Moon tonight because it was on our way home and we'd never had dinner there, only breakfast (which I would give a 3.5-4 rating). They have a good menu of homey comfort classics at prices that are decent for the amount of food you get. My boyfriend had the "Meatloaf of the Gods" and raved about it. I tasted it and thought, OK, but not like home, and certainly not "of the gods". I had the Beef Stroganoff. I was hoping for a rich sour cream sauce but it was more like gravy. The strips of beef were inconsistent, too, and a bit chewy for my taste. But, overall, it was "ok". I don't expect Top Chef in restaurants of this genre. I got a pretty good meal, as expected. We both started with the chicken noodle soup and I recommend that... it was great and we could have eaten more! Our service was also excellent, pleasant and prompt.

So what is making this "meh"? We were seated at the kitchen door so I could view our soup getting dished out into the bowls and then microwaved. I thought that was really odd because I would have thought the soup in the pot would already be piping hot. It was a really cold night and cold in the building so perhaps this was a way of making sure the cold bowl didn't suck the heat out of the soup. And maybe I watch the Food Network too much, but can't highly rate "home-style cooking" that doesn't taste as "scratch" as I'd hoped. The gravy on the mashed potatoes and meatloaf was super dark and salty. The stroganoff had little to no sour creaminess. Even the best restaurants get supplies from food service companies, but when I want home-like comfort food, I don't want it to taste so processed. A good gravy that tastes like meat rather than salt can make a big difference.

We'll be back again for breakfast and maybe dinner, too. I'll probably try some different options next time and see how it goes!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vwp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Homestyle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

A great "go to" place. Have always had good food and service. The menu allows for your choice of Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner thought the day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvest Moon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Harvest Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing