We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgettable!”
Review of Dalat

Dalat
Ranked #20 of 167 Restaurants in Ypsilanti
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Forgettable!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

With two days to spend in the Ann Arbor area, we first tried and were disappointed with Saigon Garden on University Avenue (see our comments in a separate review). Since there are not many so-called Vietnamese restaurants on or close by the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor campus, we headed to Ypsilanti twenty-minute away. Not better luck because Dalat is also unauthentic and forgettable. We ordered Vietnamese pork ravioli (Banh Cuon), which is steamed rice rolls with sliced pork loaf, Stir-fried Egg-Noodles (Mi Xao Mem), and Banh Xeo. All taste unauthentic, with not much flavor. For the portion served, it is also kind of expensive. The waiters are smiley but their service left a lot to be desired! As an example, after bringing the dishes out, they vanished until we had to go to the kitchen to look for one! It's annoying when we had to do it multiple times, actually all the times! Besides, the restaurant also looks (from the inside) more in the lower end in spite of their good location. Unfortunately, even considering the shortage of Vietnamese restaurants in the area, we would not revisit this one.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thehiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“pure love in your tummy”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

the food is so good it is healing in every way. Moms in the kitchen and she has pure light and magic coming out of her hands. Must vist when coming to Ypsilanti and destination restaurant. Humble interior and the prices are very reasonable for all you recieve

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wisewoman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good vietnamese cuisine”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This restaurant provides wonderful vietnamese food, unfortunately in an ambience entirely too reminisecent of a school cafeteria. Seats are hard, the ambient temperature a bit too cool for comfort, but the food very nearly makes up for all the shortcomings of the environment.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 841gailg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inexpensive High Quality Vietnamese Cuisine”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Dalat has been a popular restaurant for more than 30 years. The same extended family has owned and run it the entire time. Menu is extensive--meat, fish, vegetarian, three kinds of egg rolls ($1.25 ea.), dinner soups, several kinds of fried rice, etc. Everything I've ever had has been well prepared, fresh, delectable, and not greasy. My late husband and I used to go every week--could have gone every day. Prices are ridiculously low. Many Chinese-titled stir fries such as sweet and sour chicken, but not greasy or high in calories. So those unfamiliar with Vietnamese cuisine and children also like it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese”
Reviewed June 23, 2008

This is a wonderful Vietnamese restaurant. The food is good and well priced, and provided in a clean, quiet atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Original_RacerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalat also viewed

 

Been to Dalat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing