We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haab's Restaurant

Haab's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 167 Restaurants in Ypsilanti
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
294 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I remember this place from the 70's and 80's when it was pretty good. Not so much anymore. Service was okay here but the place seemed dirty and the food was awful. I had tasteless whitefish and a very bland Malbec. Gazpacho soup was decent. Salads were iceberg and boring. Hubby had a pairing of chicken and salmon and didn't care for it. Just a "blah" meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank setter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    46
    20
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I used a Groupon to return to Haab's after around a 20 year absence. It was like we had been there last week. It has placemat menus and old stained glass light fixtures. Shrimp cocktail was large and tasty. The salad was average. My filet was cooked perfectly(medium rare) but a little dry. Yukon gold potatoes were very good. My wife's fish combo was very good and a generous portion. The early bird menu at $10 a person appeared to be a very good deal. Appetizer-entree-dessert

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markzink13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“yuk”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

40 years in Ann Arbor and first visit to Haabs. 7.95 BLT with tastless precooked bacon and limp soggy fries. Two Jim Beam's on the rocks at 5.50 each with one measured shot. Asked for an orange slice but they don't have orange scices. View of the kitchen was freightening; looked very old, worn and dirty. Not my cup of tea for a casual lunch. Never again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arbor48108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Down to earth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went recently with friends who apparently are regulars. It was only our second time. Nothing fancy or pretentious. Just decent service, decent food, friendly relaxed atmosphere. It was busy but not rushed. The old belt driven fans in the high ceilings over the bar area are a neat touch. Something else I liked was that each time as we were leaving, two or three staff, including kitchen staff who were near the door thanked us for coming. It seemed genuine and personal. Other than being a bit out of the way for us we would go there more often. Small suggestion: Because all the restaurant traffic passes through the bar area, you may want to get a table in away from the front.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mojo_and_the_band
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best lunch in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Three Cheese Tomato and Onion sandwich rocks - this is my very favorite sandwich for a cold season. Melts in your mouth and comes with a sauce that is awesome. Plenty of food to share with a second. Onion rings or the Yukon Gold potatoes make a great side. And their bar area is full of atmosphere and history.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nah1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haab's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haab's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing