We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff - Partially Updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn Grand Rapids South (Wyoming) for two nights for a charity cycling event in Holland, MI. The hotel is about 13 years old, and is in the process of a major renovation. The public areas have all been completely updated. The lady at the registration desk tells me the guest rooms are going to be updated in the fall. The guest rooms are very clean, but the furniture is older (in very good shape, though). There are a few restaurants within walking distance to the hotel, and many others within a very short drive. If the guest rooms are renovated anything like the rest of the hotel, this will be a gem. It is already a nice property in a good area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stirfry300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear stirfry300:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of our property. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at our hotel including our recent public area renovations. We, too, are pleased with the changes and happy to say that we plan on beginning the guest room bathroom renovations later this fall/early winter. We hope to serve you again the next time you are in the West Michigan area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 419 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having stayed at Hampton's in the past, I thought this would be a good choice, however, it was not up to par, for what I paid. I've stayed at nicer hotels, and spent $30-$40 less, and had more amenities! Room had a stench to it... like too many cleaners. Carpet felt sticky, almost like it was sprayed with something. No refrigerators in room...we stayed in a King w/pull out. On a brighter note... it was a great location... easy on/off highway. For the price... they need to take a look at some areas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Margaret L:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize we were not able to meet all your expectations. At this time, microwave and mini-fridges are not in all our guest rooms. We do have 20 rooms that have a king bed, pull-out sofa and a mini-fridge/microwave combination. Our maintenance staff has already steam cleaned the carpets in your guest room. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a volleyball tournament. It was packed with teenage girls. The staff kept the hotel as well maintained and quiet as possible. Would definitely stay again if in the area. The location was superb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Devon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Devon G:

Thank you for writing about your recent experience with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend during the Michigan State Track and Volleyball tournaments. It's always a busy weekend for the city of Grand Rapids and I'm happy to hear we not only met your expectations but exceeded them. We can't wait to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This Hampton Inn was very nice. The facility, amenities, and staff were all top notch. I had no complaints during my stay. We came to town for a wedding and everything was close. Access to all roads to go everywhere including the airport was easy and quick.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Arthur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Arthur J:

We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback about our great hotel and friendly staff. I’m pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with the cleanliness of our rooms, our ideal location and our staff’s excellence in service. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel was not only very clean - but the staff are all extremely friendly. The morning breakfast was more then I would order at a restaurant and the selection was fantastic. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Brenda S:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay, our clean rooms, friendly staff, and our delicous breakfast that we’re proud to offer our guests. We have a wonderful team here, so it’s great to receive your kind comments. We appreciate your recommendations of our hotel and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The lobby and hallways all remodeled very nice but I opened door to my room it's like 1982. Room was very clean but extremely humid the air ran nonstop. I am diamond vip hilton honors member and this is first Hampton without a fridge and microwave in the room. Breakfast was average with line of people waiting to get coffee maybe a different set up would be better. Front desk always had 2 people there and neither ever looked up or said hello.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear daizey:

Thank you for staying with us. Although I was pleased to learn from your review that your found our rooms to be very clean, I apologize that you were somewhat disappointed with the lack of microwave and mini fridge. At this time, we do not offer the units in all our rooms but we do have 20 rooms that offer them. If booking online, they are listed as "1 KING W/ REFRIG/ MICROWAVE/ SOFABED NONSMOK", otherwise, if booking via phone, please ask the Guest Service Representative. I do appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest rooms’ appearance as this is an area we are actively examining and plan on beginning the bathroom renovation later this fall. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

When we first arrived, I saw a couple of places in the hall and elevator that seemed worn and looked a little shabby. I was worried that there would be problems with the room, but I had nothing to worry about. The room was very nice and clean. The bed was awesome! The sheets were soft and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best that I have ever had at a hotel chain. No one went hungry. My only complaint was the hot tub. The first night it was nice, but the second night it wasn't even close to being warm. Overall we had a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Aimie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and are happy to report that our whirlpool is back to holding it's temperature. We are so happy to hear you, like many others, loved the bed and the breakfast. Can't wait to pass along your kind words to our staff. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyoming
2 mi away
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
3.3 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Grand Rapids
Travelodge Grand Rapids
#35 of 49 in Grand Rapids
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South
Holiday Inn Express South
#22 of 49 in Grand Rapids
180 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South

Address: 755 54th St SW, Wyoming, MI 49509-9723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Price Range: $146 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming
Hampton Inn Wyoming
Wyoming Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing