We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Brikcrete Motel(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites South(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Rapids Inn(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
131 Hotel-Plaza(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveler rating
229
116
55
17
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
229
116
55
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand rapidspleasant staypool and hot tubwould stay here againstaff was very friendlyfitness centereasy accessgreat place to stayfront desk staffvery nice hotelclean roomsbusiness triphot breakfastgreat breakfastbed was comfortablewafflesconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 430 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After spending most of the day in airports with delayed or rerouted flights I just needed somewhere simple but "just-like-home" to sleep for the night. Dispite arriving at 1am, the staff were calm, attentive and offered all the things I needed as my luggage was also delayed. great night's sleep and the usual perfect Hampton Breakfast. These is lots of parking and the hotel was very easy to find (despite being VERY tired). Staff gave good suggestions for a quick shop before getting back on the road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cidinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear SeniorBuyer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out this review and sharing your experience while staying at our hotel.

While I am sorry to hear about your tough time getting here, I am very pleased to hear that we were able to take good care of you once you arrived at our hotel. I will make sure to share your guest experience with our staff.

I am also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our Serta mattresses with Cloud 9 bedding and our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. We hope to serve you again if you are ever in the greater Grand Rapids area.

We love having you here,
Kurt Baur
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

staff was very accomodating & helpful. hotel is located just off the interstate less than 10 minutes from downtown grand rapids. conveniently located w. a shopping complex w. meier & target nearby. larger breakfast area/space for the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craft_brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Craft_Brew,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to write this review. We love hearing from our guests!

I will make sure to pass along your kind words to our staff. It is always our goal to deliver excellent service while providing a convenient location just six miles south to Downtown Grand Rapids.

We love having you here,
Kurt Baur
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

excellent staff very helpful room clean and comfortable. pool very clean breakfast excellent and nice variety. even though halls were being updated mess was kept to a minimum and had a very restful night

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitmanpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear kitmanpk:

We appreciate the time taken to give such wonderful feedback and will pass along your comments to our entire staff for going above and beyond. We always try to reach beyond standard expectations and provide a stay that is memorable, comfortable and relaxing. It's great to hear we did just that! We look forward to serving you the next time you are in the Grand Rapids area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Areas of this hotel currently undergoing renovation: so it is a bit rough in many areas (unfinished). Room & bath were fairly clean. Beds were clean and excellent. Breakfast was very good, and area was kept clean by the staff despite several boy's hockey teams rushing through breakfast to get off to their tournament.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Barry F:

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay during our renovations. We are happy to say we should be done with our hallway renovations within the next few weeks. Thank you for your kind words about our housekeeping staff and breakfast servers. I will pass your comments along to them. We hope to serve you again the next time you are in the Grand Rapids area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have been staying at this location for over three years now and the improvements made recently to the lobby and hallways really modernize this facility. After a long days work just want to relax in a quiet room with quality internet services.

Room Tip: Easy on and easy off Highway 131
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Jim B:

Thank you so much for your kind review here on Trip Advisor as well as your loyalty to our hotel! We appreciate being able to serve you and be your home away from home over the past 3 years. We are pleased to hear you are enjoying the modern look of the renovations and the upgraded WIFI strength. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit. Until then, I remain,

At Your Service,
Kristi McWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews