We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exactly what I needed”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After spending most of the day in airports with delayed or rerouted flights I just needed somewhere simple but "just-like-home" to sleep for the night. Dispite arriving at 1am, the staff were calm, attentive and offered all the things I needed as my luggage was also delayed. great night's sleep and the usual perfect Hampton Breakfast. These is lots of parking and the hotel was very easy to find (despite being VERY tired). Staff gave good suggestions for a quick shop before getting back on the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cidinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear SeniorBuyer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out this review and sharing your experience while staying at our hotel.

While I am sorry to hear about your tough time getting here, I am very pleased to hear that we were able to take good care of you once you arrived at our hotel. I will make sure to share your guest experience with our staff.

I am also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our Serta mattresses with Cloud 9 bedding and our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. We hope to serve you again if you are ever in the greater Grand Rapids area.

We love having you here,
Kurt Baur
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    109
    50
    16
    11
See reviews for
139
81
22
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

staff was very accomodating & helpful. hotel is located just off the interstate less than 10 minutes from downtown grand rapids. conveniently located w. a shopping complex w. meier & target nearby. larger breakfast area/space for the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craft_brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Craft_Brew,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to write this review. We love hearing from our guests!

I will make sure to pass along your kind words to our staff. It is always our goal to deliver excellent service while providing a convenient location just six miles south to Downtown Grand Rapids.

We love having you here,
Kurt Baur
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

excellent staff very helpful room clean and comfortable. pool very clean breakfast excellent and nice variety. even though halls were being updated mess was kept to a minimum and had a very restful night

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitmanpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear kitmanpk:

We appreciate the time taken to give such wonderful feedback and will pass along your comments to our entire staff for going above and beyond. We always try to reach beyond standard expectations and provide a stay that is memorable, comfortable and relaxing. It's great to hear we did just that! We look forward to serving you the next time you are in the Grand Rapids area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Areas of this hotel currently undergoing renovation: so it is a bit rough in many areas (unfinished). Room & bath were fairly clean. Beds were clean and excellent. Breakfast was very good, and area was kept clean by the staff despite several boy's hockey teams rushing through breakfast to get off to their tournament.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Barry F:

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay during our renovations. We are happy to say we should be done with our hallway renovations within the next few weeks. Thank you for your kind words about our housekeeping staff and breakfast servers. I will pass your comments along to them. We hope to serve you again the next time you are in the Grand Rapids area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ckair Shores Mi.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have been staying at this location for over three years now and the improvements made recently to the lobby and hallways really modernize this facility. After a long days work just want to relax in a quiet room with quality internet services.

Room Tip: Easy on and easy off Highway 131
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Jim B:

Thank you so much for your kind review here on Trip Advisor as well as your loyalty to our hotel! We appreciate being able to serve you and be your home away from home over the past 3 years. We are pleased to hear you are enjoying the modern look of the renovations and the upgraded WIFI strength. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit. Until then, I remain,

At Your Service,
Kristi McWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was clean and larger than some. However, for the amount of money we were charged -even with the AAA rate- the value was not there. We had a lot of luggage since we were cleaning out a residence and there was no place to move. The sofa bed was uncomfortable and the hallway seemed like a really really dingy& dark old dorm.

Room Tip: Do not stay in areas being worked on unless just 1 or 2 people without much luggage. Rooms and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin60802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I am so sorry for the construction issues you experienced while you stayed with us. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. As you could tell we are currently going through renovations and I sincerely apologize if we caused you any inconveniences. In addition, I am so sorry if you found our sofa bed to be uncomfortable and our hallways to seem dark. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

We always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and I can assure you that your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise.

Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you travels bring you back to our area. Please know that your business is incredibly important to us and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is very convenient if you are visiting grand rapids. It is also being remodeled, almost done, and will be even better. Staff is very attentive and helpful to any special needs. This hotel is very quiet and convenient to restaurants in the area. You can walk to Arnies.

Room Tip: Book early and dine at Arnies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwmeyer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear gwmeyer31,

Thank you for staying with us recently. I look forward to sharing your kind words with our staff.

We appreciate your patience during our recent renovations. The work to our hallways will finish up next month, just in time for our very busy summer season.

Safe travels!!

Sincerely,

Scott Zeien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyoming
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#14 of 48 in Grand Rapids
144 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South
Holiday Inn Express South
#21 of 48 in Grand Rapids
175 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
8.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South

Property: Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
Address: 755 54th St SW, Wyoming, MI 49509-9723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming
Hampton Inn Wyoming
Wyoming Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing