We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Muskegon, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

We wanted to have a weekend getaway to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, so we chose this hotel because it is fairly new (16 months old) and since we live 45 minutes away, we wouldn't have an excuse to stay here again.

Upon arrival, we were treated like we were their most important guests. The man who checked us in even gave us a tour of the lobby, eating area, business center, etc! He had a good sence of humor too, which made it fun. (We asked if there was a hot tub there, and he said no, but that we could call down and they would send someone up to blow bubbles in our bathtub!)

Hotel was clean, cool contemporary decor, and great customer service. The showerhead did not have great pressure, and the bed was a bit on the hard side for us, but everything else was great!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKanaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    118
    48
    20
    11
See reviews for
177
91
23
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
230 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Clean (it's a newer motel). Nicely-designed, larger than average rooms. Enjoyed the benefits of having a separate living area with a couch (it turns into an extra bed too). Complimentary breakfast is very good and one can place a special order for an item that is paid for separately. Nice pool and exercise room areas. Wish all motels were up to the high standards of this one. The bathroom area is separate from the vanity area (as one person mentioned, the vanity and lights are directly across from the beds). The bathroom has a fan (which is hard to come by in most motels) and a nice large tub and showerhead. The placement of food items on the counter area where the complimentary breakfast is served, could be better designed for large numbers of people trying to navigate through all the breakfast choices but all-in-all, while it's a bit awkward, it's definitely workable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

Stayed at the Hyatt Place on R and R from Iraq with my husband. The room was very clean and staff was very helpful and friendly. The only thing I did not like was there was only a shower and no tub. Other than that, our stay was great!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stacerr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Minus:
Food was a little expensive, but expected.
If one person has to get ready before others, it is difficult to do so without waking others, due to the vanity lighting direcly across from the beds.
Lights in living area should dim like the lights in the bedroom area.
Plus:
Price of room.
Size of room for price. Slept 6.
Newer Hotel
Nicely decorated
Great service

Overall a great first Hyatt experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwiatkohm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for Valentine's Day and absolutely loved it! The rooms are spacious and have both a bedroom and separate area with a couch, refrigerator, sink, work desk and HUGE flat screen tv. The service was wonderful and very welcoming. Everything was very modern, clean and beautiful. We had a wonderful time and would recommend this to all!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

Excellent hotel. Professional staff. Great food. Honestly this is the top value in Grand Rapids. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UoMdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

The Hyatt Place Grand Rapids in Wyoming, Michigan is probably the nicest Hyatt Place I have ever been to. It appears that it was built from the ground up to be a Hyatt Place, and was not a conversion from AmeriSuites, so none of the slight annoyances of most Hyatt Place properties are not present here.

For those who aren't familiar, every room has a bed, a couch, a desk, and a 43" plasma TV with high definition programming. This location also has a nice stand up shower as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpetralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyoming
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
4.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#12 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids SW/Byron Center
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South

Property: Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Address: 2150 Metro Ln SW, Wyoming, MI 49519-9692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located just 12 miles outside the city center, far enough to be quiet, but close enough to be convenient. A golf course and park are less than two miles away, and we’re near Lake Michigan and area universities. Experience Hyatt’s incredible service and comfort here. We offer studio, standard and accessible suites, each one beautifully furnished and including amenities like comfortable signature bedding.Free Wi-Fi runs throughout our hotel, and you can also visit our fitness center and dining facilities 24 hours a day. Our indoor swimming pool is naturally lit, and our gym features modern Life Fitness cardio equipment. If you’re organizing a meeting or social function, take advantage of the area’s largest event space, at 1,200 square feet of flexible, modern rooms, holding between 12 and 120 people.We also offer special packages and amenities to event organizers, including special room rates for groups using 10 or more rooms and an exclusive online group booking page. Our event planning officials will help make organization and execution of your event easy and smooth, so you can focus on that important meeting or your special day. Your guests can focus on your event, and in their free time they can enjoy the hotel and area’s many recreation and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing