We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and met all of our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beverly Hills, MI
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and met all of our needs”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My cousin and I stayed for 2 nights - I booked the Hyatt through Priceline, after we determined we wanted to be in the Wyoming area. I cannot add much to the descriptions already posted: beautiful rooms and lobby, spacious, lots of nice fluffy towels, very comfy beds, food menu available 24/7, nice breakfast with some hot items. Also salads, etc. to go from a fridge in the lobby. We both forgot phone chargers, and the hotel had universals available as free loaners - yay! We appreciated the in-room coffee maker, toothpaste, multiple electrical outlets, room-darkening shades, large sitting area in our double queen room. Everything was great!!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor - no complaints.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hmm. I did not notice any recycle bins, but then when I travel I always keep a box in my trunk for anything recyclable and bin it when I get home. They had the usual cards in the room speaking to reusing bedding and towels.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
BuffyLou,
We’re happy to have had you and your cousin as our guests, and we’re glad to hear your stay with us at Hyatt Place was enjoyable. We appreciate your complimentary feedback on our great hotel and all the wonderful amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Grand Rapids. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Nick Fischioni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    125
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
191
95
23
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The facility is beautiful, the rooms ate modern and nicely decorated. However, there were some problems.
One of the two glasses in the room was dirty upon arrival. We would have appreciated at least 4 glasses so we wouldn't have had to reuse, in this case, 1 glass until the next day.
Our room wasn't cleaned until 4pm on the day after our arrival which was very inconvenient since we had invited guests to our room in the afternoon.
When our room was finally cleaned, the English breakfast tea was not replenished which made me unhappy the next morning, since I don't drink coffee. Also there were no fresh washcloths put in the room and, although we spruced our bed up for the aforementioned company, housekeeping never touched it when they cleaned the room.
There was no tea or hot water available at the continental breakfast, but the food was good.
The front desk was friendly but only offered a free Gatorade in exchange for our troubles.
The lounge furniture in the lobby was a little tattered.
All in all, it's a gorgeous place, but the management needs to do a little fine tuning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
KBeas,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing from you and receiving your valuable feedback. I sincerely apologize that the housekeeping service did not meet your expectations and the inconveniences that you experienced during your visit. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark during your stay. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Nick Fischioni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and two kids for one night to attend a wedding. Everything was very nice, bed was comfortable and room was nice and large. My only complaint was that we ended up in an ADA room, so things were laid out a little bit different which I totally understand. We met some other family there, so the common area was perfect to catch up with them ver breakfast. The kids had a swim in the pool which was nice too. Great place would stay again when returning back to GR.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheAntiTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
TheAntiTourist,
Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and found the accommodations spacious and comfortable. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids while in town for a wedding, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon for more family fun. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Nick Fischioni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went off for an overnighter to the westside of Michigan and found this gem in Grand Rapids. it's a modern style hotel, but not the cold glass & metal feel. Very warm & inviting. The staff were very helpful with ideas on where to eat and giving us directions to the sites in town. The room was nicely appointed and was just the perfect size. HUGE flat screen TV, biggest hotel shower I've ever seen and absolutely the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on while traveling! The breakfast buffet was nicely stocked, not huge, but good solid breakfast fare. Something for everyone. Great price. You will not be sorry staying here!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportmom1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
sportmom1966,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids. We appreciate your complimentary feedback on our hotel, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Nick Fischioni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nicer than expected. Rooms have a nice sofa for sitting and the tv rotates between the bedroom and the sitting area!! Nice high pressure shower!! Will go back!! Make great Starbucks coffee and have good food in the lobby!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkorcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Jkorcal,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Hyatt Place. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to exceed your expectations. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Nick Fischioni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Dear Christina: Upon check-in my husband and I requested specifically of you that we be placed in the most quiet location: away from all noise, including elevators doors, stairwells and noisy guests. You indicated your understanding and put us on a 4th floor room. We liked our room and everything was fine until we returned from dinner in downtown Grand Rapids and noticed the chartered bus in the parking lot. Incredulous we walked the 4th floor back to our room, every other room seemingly filled with the bustling activity of Brooklyn teenagers on spring break: in and out of the rooms, the lobby and up-and-down the elevator. It was necessary for us to approach again with a room-change request, which you honored and we appreciated. We did get a good night's sleep which was a top priority for us. We also appreciated your handwritten note apologizing for your initial bad judgement in placing in the midst of a teenager-spring-break-chartered-bus 4th floor; but we still think putting us on the 5th floor to begin with would've been your better decision at the time of our check-in. After the inconvenience of the room-change, we found this to be a nice hotel.

Room Tip: If your expectations are for a quiet room, request the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell-hop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHotels, General Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
tinkerbell-hop,,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Hyatt Place. It’s unfortunate to hear that you were not assigned a room in a quiet location as you initially requested. I apologize for the inconvenience of changing rooms and the noisy disturbances that you encountered. I’m happy to hear that you were eventually able to get a good night’s rest. We value you as a customer and hope we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Nick Fischioni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are huge and the beds are comfortable. We also liked the massive flat screen TV in the room. The bathrooms are tiny, but the shower was nice. The hotel is a few years old, but appears to be very well taken care of. Our room was clean for the most part, but a couple of areas could have used a bit more attention. We couldn't get over how good the breakfast was. The hotel is a ways away from downtown, but it is right on the interstate which makes it a breeze to get to. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonelocB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHotels, General Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
TonelocB,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Hyatt Place. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our comfortable beds, and the delicious breakfast. I appreciate your feedback and apologize that the cleanliness of your room did not fully meet our excellence in service. We value you as a guest and look forward to having you visit again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Nick Fischioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyoming
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#15 of 48 in Grand Rapids
142 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 4 in Grandville
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
9.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
134 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South

Property: Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Address: 2150 Metro Ln SW, Wyoming, MI 49519-9692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located just 12 miles outside the city center, far enough to be quiet, but close enough to be convenient. A golf course and park are less than two miles away, and we’re near Lake Michigan and area universities. Experience Hyatt’s incredible service and comfort here. We offer studio, standard and accessible suites, each one beautifully furnished and including amenities like comfortable signature bedding.Free Wi-Fi runs throughout our hotel, and you can also visit our fitness center and dining facilities 24 hours a day. Our indoor swimming pool is naturally lit, and our gym features modern Life Fitness cardio equipment. If you’re organizing a meeting or social function, take advantage of the area’s largest event space, at 1,200 square feet of flexible, modern rooms, holding between 12 and 120 people.We also offer special packages and amenities to event organizers, including special room rates for groups using 10 or more rooms and an exclusive online group booking page. Our event planning officials will help make organization and execution of your event easy and smooth, so you can focus on that important meeting or your special day. Your guests can focus on your event, and in their free time they can enjoy the hotel and area’s many recreation and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing