We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly for 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family Friendly for 5”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

With 3 teenage boys, standard rooms have become a challenge when traveling. Our accommodations here with 2 double beds & L-shaped pull-out bed in the "living room" area made lounging & sleeping much more enjoyable for the night. Nice lobby with drinks & food items available upon a late night arrival was a plus. Free breakfast was a step up in both presentation & offerings compared to a Hampton. Staff was friendly & efficient. Good value for the rate we paid. Would definitely stay again when needing to stay in the Grand Rapids area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3sonsrgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
3sonsrgr8,
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day and writing a review about your experience with us at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids. We're glad to have had you and your boys stay with us, and we're pleased to know that you all enjoyed your visit. I'm glad your room provided comfortable sleeping arrangements for all, and I'm also glad to hear that you liked our complimentary breakfast. Should you return to Grand Rapids, please come and visit us again. We would enjoy it.
Sincerely,
Nick Fischioni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    125
    48
    23
    11
See reviews for
188
95
23
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

not a bad hotel but the front desk service sucked.one very rude person made a nasty comment to another employee right in front of us.my wife described front desk people as cold fish,they also failed to clean our room during our stay

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwings2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
redwings2012,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hyatt Place. While I'm glad to hear of your content with our hotel, I'm saddened to hear of your discontent with our staff. I apologize for any rudeness you encountered and can assure you that this is not our typical style of service. We will closely review your comments in our next staff meeting and make necessary improvements to our customer service skills. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I hope you and your wife will come and visit us again as we'd like to show you our excellence in service as you should have seen during your recent trip. We value having you as our guests and hope you'll return soon.
Sincerely,
Nick Fischioni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Late checking in, but still time to have a cocktail in small bar area. Couple college teams in the hotel, so my room was upgraded, as my reserved room was filled. Quiet, well insulated hotel. No noise from other guests or nearby highway. Room was clean and spacious, large flat screen TV, unfortunately remote was not working and it was too late to deal with. Large walk in shower, large towels. Adequate breakfast. No problems with checking in or out, nice overall experience, would definitely return without hesitation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LansingMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
LansingMark,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids. We're delighted to hear that you had a nice visit with us. We welcome you to come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Nick Fischioni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Pros- Modern hotel. Rooms were big, clean, and quiet. Bed was comfortable.

Neutral- Hotel staff were okay- not overly friendly, but not rude. During the week, you can tell it is a "business-man" type of hotel. I only saw what appeared to be business travellers, no families (not saying this is good or bad, I just feel like I would have felt awkward bringing my family there to stay.)

Con- There are not many sit down restaurants in the area, most are fast food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoilerUp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
BoilerUp2010,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad you had a nice, comfortable stay with us, and hope you'll keep Hyatt Place as your hotel choice when traveling to Grand Rapids. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We travel to many states for business and pleasure. We stayed at the Hyatt at St. Louis, which was a wonderful experience and I booked it online.
This time at the Hyatt, Wyoming Michigan location, I am experiencing a very obtuse and unfriendly front desk clerk name Grace. My husband and my two boys are place in a king size bedroom instead of 2 double beds. she keep telling me that I booked it with the third part and I have no other choice,but to stay in the king size bed with a rolling bed. The other front desk clerks told me that they have plenty of rooms with double beds. But still Grace refuse to give me the room! It was getting late and I was tired, I told her that I want to talk to your manager. Later, the manger aproved for us to stay in 2 double beds. Grace was not the one helping me instead she was telling the other patron that I was at not right. I have gold passport member at the Hyatt. However, I was treated very poorly this time. I feel this Hyatt from Wyoming Michigan should not participate with the third party like priceline or others.... if they treat the customers this way. I can understand if all the double bed rooms are booked, but not when there is plenty double bed rooms left. Very disappointed experience at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelsforthekims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hotelsforthekims,

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your business, and we're glad you chose to stay with us at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids. Firstly, I'm glad we were able to accommodate your family and provide a spacious and comfortable room. Secondly, I apologize if you feel you were received in a rude or unfriendly manner. This is certainly not our standard practice as we strive to provide friendly and helpful assistance to all of our guests. I assure you that your booking with a third party provider had nothing to do with your check in experience. Your comments will be taken under review. We can only hope this incident, in no way, will keep you from visiting us again. We have a great hotel and a wonderful staff so we hope you will plan another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great modern room. Clean. Friendly hotel staff. Allowed me a late checkout for free (even though I am not a Hyatt Gold plus member). Exactly what I expected and needed. Fitness room was good enough (two treadmills, climbing machine, bike, and weights.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mordechai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Mordechai G,

Thank you for writing a review. We're pleased to have had you as our guest, and glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you liked our modern, clean rooms and found our staff friendly and helpful. It's good to know we were able to accommodate your late checkout and assist in making your visit with us a positive one. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a fairly new Hyatt Place, located between two hospitals. There are no food options within immediate walking distance. But a short drive from chains and a starbucks.

The room was clean and consistant with Hyatt Place across the country.

This hotel appears to be the only hotel at this exit, so it is pretty visible from the freeway.

Bonus:
Indoor Pool
Larger Workout Room
Free Weights in Workout Room
Near Local Mall (within 2 miles)

Negatives
Not many tables for dining
No happy hour

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac_Maximum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Mac_Maximum,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you chose to stay at Hyatt Place and enjoyed your visit. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyoming
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#15 of 48 in Grand Rapids
141 reviews
10.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South
Holiday Inn Express South
#20 of 48 in Grand Rapids
172 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids SW/Byron Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South

Property: Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Address: 2150 Metro Ln SW, Wyoming, MI 49519-9692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located just 12 miles outside the city center, far enough to be quiet, but close enough to be convenient. A golf course and park are less than two miles away, and we’re near Lake Michigan and area universities. Experience Hyatt’s incredible service and comfort here. We offer studio, standard and accessible suites, each one beautifully furnished and including amenities like comfortable signature bedding.Free Wi-Fi runs throughout our hotel, and you can also visit our fitness center and dining facilities 24 hours a day. Our indoor swimming pool is naturally lit, and our gym features modern Life Fitness cardio equipment. If you’re organizing a meeting or social function, take advantage of the area’s largest event space, at 1,200 square feet of flexible, modern rooms, holding between 12 and 120 people.We also offer special packages and amenities to event organizers, including special room rates for groups using 10 or more rooms and an exclusive online group booking page. Our event planning officials will help make organization and execution of your event easy and smooth, so you can focus on that important meeting or your special day. Your guests can focus on your event, and in their free time they can enjoy the hotel and area’s many recreation and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing