We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, short staffed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice, short staffed”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

nice hotel, like all hyatt hotels.We had a nice clean room, comfortable bed, large tv, sofa with fold out bed, desk, wifi. The breakfast was very crowded, and they ran out of coffee, fruit and everything else it seemed the minute I approached the buffet. They did replenish it, but I had to wait and jockey around the crowd. Our friends (that also had a room there), did not have maid service clean their room, even though we were gone all day, and they had no sign on their door. When we asked about it, they said the one maid had called in sick,and offered him hyatt points to placate him. Our room was serviced. We were attending artprize (wonderful!!), and this is about 6 miles away (15 minute drive). We tried to take the bus (rapid) downtown, and had a 45 minute ride from the nearby meijers to the event artprize. I'd recommend driving downtown, and paying for parking ($10 or so for the day). It would have been worth it, and we wouldn't have had to worry about the schedule getting back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilalubean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
lilalubean,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business, and we're glad you chose Hyatt Place Grand Rapids. I'm glad you liked our clean rooms and comfortable beds. I apologize for the delay in getting the breakfast buffet restocked. Our staff tries to keep up with the crowd as best as they can and make sure everything is available to our guests as quickly as possible. I apologize for your friend's room not being serviced as well. There was an unexpected change in the housekeeping service which caused this to happen. We hope these items will not in any way dimenish your fondness for our hotel, and invite you and your friends to come and stay with us again for next year's ArtPrize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    125
    50
    24
    11
See reviews for
197
95
23
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was a great place to stay for our first night of our vacation. We were doing a road trip. I wish we could have stayed here all week long! The room was amazing (just a basic room), great looking hotel, very modern, amazing free breakfast!!!! I would have loved to stay here all week! The staff were super nice and friendly! It looks like it is a new area as well that is still developing.

Room Tip: Be hungry for breakfast great food! And the staff are super nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regislive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. It was an ok location, next time I would pick something closer to Grand Rapids. We tried to check in one hour early as we had two children with us who desperately needed naps. We were told that there were no clean rooms available. My mom even told the front desk that we would take any available room configuration. The woman told her "you didn't make your reservation with us so we can't help you". Really poor customer service.

The rooms were spacious and the beds were fine. The bathroom was ridiculously small, to the point where you almost couldn't get into the bathroom and get the door shut. The fridge in the room had been turned off to save energy and the smell about knocked me over when I opened it.

The breakfast was possibly the worst hotel breakfast we have ever had. The first problem was that the girls working the front desk were also working the breakfast room. They just couldn't keep up. Everything was empty. The "egg mcmuffins" or whatever they were supposed to be were not edible. Thank goodness for frosted flakes.

Would I stay there again? Maybe, but you couldn't pay me to eat that breakfast again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mygavin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
mygavin03,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us while visiting the Grand Rapids area. We strive to provide exceptional service to our guests so I apologize that our high standards of Hyatt Place were not met during your stay. I will take all of your comments to our staff and discuss each one with them in our next staff meeting. I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention, and assure you we would most certainly like to have you and your family come and stay with us again for a more positive experience.

Best regards,
Nick Fischioni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Hyatt Place Grand Rapids is the best place to stay on the south side. I grew up in Grand Rapids and need a room for visiting family. I was pleased all around, the price, service, location and rooms were outstanding. A real value!

Room Tip: Weekend breakfast goes quick and is crowded so come get some early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyDanVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
IndyDanVan,

Welcome back to Grand Rapids. We’re glad you chose to stay with us while visiting family. I appreciate your compliments about our facility and staff. We invite you to come and stay with us again the next time you ‘come home’.

Yours truly,
Nick Fischioni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is my fourth stay at a Hyatt Place and I have never been disappointed. This property is clean, spacious and my room/suite was absolutely beautiful. The living area with sectional was spacious and comfortable. The throw was a really nice touch. I honestly can't think of a thing to gripe about. A top notch hotel with free breakfast to boot.

Room Tip: Since the hotel sits off a major expressway, ask for a room on the far side away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writesabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Writesabit,
It’s nice to hear from you on TripAdvisor. I’m glad that you chose to stay with us again at Hyatt Place as we value all of our new and returning guests. Thank you for mentioning that our rooms are spacious and comfortable to other TripAdvisor viewers. I’m sure this information will be helpful for them as they consider their stay with us. We invite you to come and stay with us again soon.

Yours truly,
Nick Fischioni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is brand new and the staff is friendly and very helpful, especially Kaitlyn and the manager. Was upgraded to a king suite! The room was large and spotlessly clean with updated ammenities. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was superb for a hotel, and served english muffins with Vermont ham, cheese, egg, cereal assortments, bisquits and gravy. The lobby of this hotel is modern and welcoming. I love the bar that you can order drinks and appetizers at. The workout room looked great, although I didnt use it during my stay.

I highly recommend this gorgeous property! Keep up the excellent work.

Room Tip: I think any room in this hotel would be nice, but espeically loved the large King Suite room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is very new and the staff is great, friendly and helpful! The breakfast was very good with a lot of options. The room was huge with a whole sitting area with desk, full couch and fridge. I would highly recommend this hotel! Downfalls are that I agree with other reviewers it is hard to close the door in the bathroom do to tight quarters, but it is not a big deal. Also there was not a whirlpool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv32dolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
luv32dolphins,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your compliments about our tremendous staff, and we’re happy to hear that you and your friends had a pleasant stay with us. We hope your recommendation will be helpful to future travelers. Please come and stay with us again, soon.

Yours truly,
Nick Fischioni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyoming
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#14 of 48 in Grand Rapids
144 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 4 in Grandville
112 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids SW/Byron Center
9.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South

Property: Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Address: 2150 Metro Ln SW, Wyoming, MI 49519-9692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located just 12 miles outside the city center, far enough to be quiet, but close enough to be convenient. A golf course and park are less than two miles away, and we’re near Lake Michigan and area universities. Experience Hyatt’s incredible service and comfort here. We offer studio, standard and accessible suites, each one beautifully furnished and including amenities like comfortable signature bedding.Free Wi-Fi runs throughout our hotel, and you can also visit our fitness center and dining facilities 24 hours a day. Our indoor swimming pool is naturally lit, and our gym features modern Life Fitness cardio equipment. If you’re organizing a meeting or social function, take advantage of the area’s largest event space, at 1,200 square feet of flexible, modern rooms, holding between 12 and 120 people.We also offer special packages and amenities to event organizers, including special room rates for groups using 10 or more rooms and an exclusive online group booking page. Our event planning officials will help make organization and execution of your event easy and smooth, so you can focus on that important meeting or your special day. Your guests can focus on your event, and in their free time they can enjoy the hotel and area’s many recreation and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing