We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soar Mill Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malborough
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had the most wonderful break at this beautiful hotel .
Great pool and spa area. We took our dog which was such a treat , we were able to have early beach walks followed by a Yummy breakfast. Lovely staff , so helpful . Can't wait to return

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillipa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
I’m delighted that you had such a wonderful holiday!! Nothing better than being able to take your dog away on holiday with you, we would hate to leave our Farley at home. I look forward to welcoming you back to our family home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    147
    55
    22
    24
See reviews for
215
394
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at Soar Mill Cove for a long weekend with our small child.

Our room had a sea view and terrace. The room was spacious with two double beds and plenty of room for a cot. The room looked like it had been recently refurbished but the bathroom was a little dated.

We had a good value half board package and thought the food at breakfast and dinner was excellent. Childrens' tea is served a 6pm in the cafe and there was a choice of home cooked food. The hotel has a useful baby listening service via the in room phone system.

The hotel has easy access to the coast path and we went on excellent walks to Hope Cove and Salcombe.

Lovely relaxed hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and leaving such a great review! The hotel has indeed been refurbished recently, ensuring that we offer the best to our guests. Our new indoor pool has also been a great success! I hope that we can welcome you and your family back soon, it’s always nice to see a familiar face.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

What a beautiful warm and very relaxing family run hotel. Location wise it was brilliant to enjoy the beauty of the stunning Soar Mill Cove. We were a relatively small wedding party of around 30 for our two day stay. The Makepeace family and all of their very helpful and polite staff made my daughters wedding a huge success. From our arrival to our rather slow departure mainly due to our unwillingness to leave the beautiful location, we were all very well looked after. Our cove and sea view rooms were generous with very comfortable king size beds. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff to ensure that my daughter and son in law enjoyed their big day. Behind the scenes and professionally organised the dining room area was transformed from being a breakfast dining room to an open and light area for the ceremony with the valley and sea as a backdrop, to a dining room set out again for our wedding meal. I think that they have done this many times before, and have certainly got it right. Most of our party took advantage of the amenities offered by the hotel from the new warm and light swimming pool, the spa, games room chess etc etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We take great pleasure in holding weddings at our family home near the sea!! I’ve been lucky enough to live here all my life, but the thought of sharing such a magic location with others, especially for a wedding, truly makes me and my family excited! I’m delighted that it was such a success and I wish the Bride and Groom a lifetime of happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I took my wife to Soar Mill Cove Hotel for a surprise one night stay as a birthday present and she was absolutely delighted. I can only repeat recent reviews about the quality of the staff -from reception to the waiters - they were all excellent.The evening meal was superb; the menu had a reasonable selection and we chose quail and sea bass. We also enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna, and of course the wonderful sea view from the room.
It was not a cheap break but well worth it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I’m delighted that you were able to celebrate such a special occasion with us! I will make sure the staff see your review and pass on your kind words. I hope that I will see you again, at my family home by the sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during the October half term & one of the reasons we chose this hotel is that it is "Dog Friendly". We paid for a Sea View Room (room 4) & it is worth the extra expense, after all you come all the way down to the South Coast, to spend time in a coastal hotel, at least take full advantage of the views. We arrived approx. 12.30 ish on the Saturday to be told our rooms were not ready, no problem, as we had made better time than anticipated, Lizzie on the front desk was very friendly & made us feel welcome immediately . After allowing the dog to stretch her legs in the cove, we returned to the hotel & were offered our complimentary cream teas in the lounge which were very moreish .Although stating the hotel is "Dog Friendly" this only goes as far as the dog being allowed in the hotel room & the café. We spent a fair amount of time in the lounge appreciating a fantastic views & it would have been great if our dog could have been allowed in there with us , but alas no ! Room was tastefully decorated, very comfy bed & a good size wet room, however my 1st of only 3 minor criticisms of the hotel is that for the size of the room, the flat screen TV on the wall was far too small & being off centre to the bed made watching TV awkward. The breakfasts were of a good quality as were the evening meals, through room service (we didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as we just wanted to chill in our room with the mutt). My second minor criticism is that the top car park was not lit at night , well not when we were there anyway, which meant going to the car at night could be disconcerting for those of a nervous disposition. Our stay coincided with the arrival of the "Great Storm" & whilst we didn't get a huge amount of sleep due to the wind, the hotel appeared unscathed by the ferocity of the wind ! Matt, the assistant manager was like Lizzie, very friendly, & professional & they both had a "can do " attitude, which nowadays is very refreshing to see. Breakfast staff very friendly too. A nice touch, is the free loan from a huge selection of DVDs held behind reception & the fresh milk left out on reception at night for guests to take back to the room for their morning libation when they wake up . The bar is quite small, but is well stocked with primarily bottled beers although there were a couple on draught & a good selection of wines. My final criticism is the availability of the free WiFi, which was very hit & miss at best when we were there. I did overhear a couple of other guests muttering about this, & Lizzie did reset the router, but this was only interim fix & soon connectivity dropped off . With no mobile reception at all in the hotel ( not their fault) reliable WiFi is a must .Didn't try the pool or spa , but both looked good

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and leaving such a great review. Room 4 is lovely with such a wonderful sea view and king size bed. I’m delighted that you enjoy your welcome Cream Tea and the meals that were prepared for you. Thank you for pointing out your “minor criticisms” - The television sizes within the hotel vary from 19” to 42” depending on the size of the room, the last thing we want to do is over power the room, with a television that’s too large. I’m sorry that the car park was not lit, as it would normally be, the timer has since been replaced and now provides light. Finally our WiFi, since your visit we have adapted a satellite method of receiving our broadband (far more reliable), our location although beautiful often makes such simple tasks difficult. Matt and Lizzy are both key to providing great customer service, however the whole team truly deserve lots of praise! Thank you so much for doing so. I hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just returned home after a wonderful two night stay at the magical Soar Mill Cove Hotel. From the minute we stepped inside this little gem of a place we were greeted with the friendliest staff who couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea. The location is stunning, amazing walks, complimentary cream tea, lovely indoor pool and the best food ever. The Makepeace family and their wonderful staff will look after you and nothing is too much trouble. Loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fi-hol-sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
I’m delighted that you had such a lovely stay!! Such a great review always give the staff a boost, especially after such a busy year. I hope that we can welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotswolds, england
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Arrived at Sour mill after a beautiful walk from South Sands, were the only guests in the hotel for lunch but despite our state were made to feel extremely welcome.
Lunch was delicious - beautiful spot and fab hanging chairs in the lounge
Will be back...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frednred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
So often we have walkers stumble into the hotel having battled through the most wild of weather conditions, thank goodness we are on hand to offer a nice warm environment for you to dry off and refuel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malborough
2.3 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
13.8 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soar Mill Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soar Mill Cove Hotel

Property: Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Address: Near Salcombe, Malborough, Salcombe TQ7 3DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Malborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Soar Mill Cove Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soar Mill Cove Hotel near Salcombe is a family run hotel & luxury self catering. A good base for walking holidays, short breaks & in holiday times popular with families enjoying caring service. A great base to explore South Devon. No stay is complete without dining in our sea view 2 Rosette Restaurant and the hotel offers best value when taking an inclusive break. All rooms have DVD library, flat screen TVs, WiFi free throughout, but limited connection speeds and no mobile phone signal in this rural idyll. 10 Acres of grounds and plenty of free parking. NEW salt water indoor heated swimming pool , sauna, gym & Spa Treatments, "just for fun" pitch and putt golf, table tennis, lawn tennis in season and snooker. Near Kingsbridge, Hope Cove, Salcombe, Thurlestone and Dartmouth. Luxury Self Catering Villas with up to 5 bedrooms. Available for exclusive use sea view weddings, so that no other guests are disturbed. New for 2015 the rather rugged approach road has been replaced with a lovely smooth driveway, the first of our new bathrooms are been rolled starting with The Makepeace Suite now ready for you holiday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Soar Mill Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soar Mill Cove Salcombe
Hotel Soar Mill Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing