We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Cottage Hotel(Hope Cove)
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$175
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose & Crown(Yealmpton)
$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Lantern Lodge(Hope Cove)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Very Good 4/5
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Parking
      • Breakfast included
      Reviews (840)
      Filter reviews
      840 results
      Traveler rating
      560
      165
      61
      27
      27
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      560
      165
      61
      27
      27
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsmakepeace familysun loungerssea viewcream teaindoor poolsalt waterleisure facilitiesstunning locationpatio doorsnothing is too much troublefillet steakrelaxing breakspa treatmentsself cateringlounge areacoastal walknational trust
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      622 - 627 of 840 reviews
      Reviewed April 28, 2013

      We had a lovely meal in the restaurant today. Views are stunning. The new decor is great, subtle but definitely seaside style. Staff were very friendly and service great. Thanks for making the day special.

      Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
      Thank Mesapolonica
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Keith Makepeace, Owner at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

      Head Chef Ian MacDonald sends his thanks for your glowing review of his food. He has consistently held 2 Rosettes for over 15 years and now has a beautiful canvas to really show off his delicious food We are really pleased it has worked so well and glad you like the seaside chic.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed April 24, 2013

      We are a family of four who were looking for a break near the sea with things to do if the weather was against us. From the minute we walked in and received such a warm welcome we knew we had made the right choice. The owners, family and staff were just so friendly and the refurbishment of the lounge, restaurant and bar areas were well thought through and provided space and activities for all ages. My only criticism would be that the bathroom was outdated by modern standards but that did not detract from our visit. The hotel was just about to open a new pool but the existing one gave the children a place to play and make friends. Fantastic coastal walk to Salcombe as well and a great cream tea on our return. Will definitely visit again.

      • Stayed: April 2013
        • Value
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank perkinian
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

      I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and everyone looked after you so well. I hope to welcome you back soon.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

      We booked the hotel after reading other reviews, we were not disappointed. A warm friendly greeting on arrival, with a beautiful garden room. A complimentary cream tea with the best scones we've ever tasted. Didn't dine in the Restraunt for dinner. Breakfast was one of the tastiest we've ever eaten.
      Refurbishments are ongoing and will add to the splendour of this warm and friendly hotel.
      Would certainly return .

      • Stayed: April 2013
        • Value
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Mwg66
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

      It’s always great to see couples /families celebrating such special occasions with us, it really does create such a special atmosphere around the hotel. Maybe we will see you again next year, giving you the opportunity to sample our beautiful evening dinner menu.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed April 10, 2013

      I'm late posting this but it's not because this Hotel doesn't warrant it ! You know you see advertising that says things like "family run and great location" etc. and you get there and think "you must be joking!" well this place is not like that! It has a truly friendly family feel to it - nothing was too much trouble and despite poorish weather, the beach and walks with our 6 year old and puppy were fabulous. Also food and facilities were very good. And complimentary Cornish teas just after arrival - a nice touch!
      It was with some trepidation that we took a puppy but it worked perfectly - they get the right
      balance of where dogs can and can't go so other guests aren't troubled.
      Downside? just the pool for our daughter - it was cold and old but they've got that in hand - we'll be back to check it out ,,,,

      Room Tip: The ground floor rooms with Patio doors are perfect for dogs
      • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank Ernie M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

      Thank you for taking the time and leaving such a lovely review! It’s almost impossible to stay at the Soar Mill Cove without walking the coastal footpaths and strolling on the beach, after all it’s so incredibly beautiful, even when the weathers not at its best.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed April 9, 2013

      Soar Mill Cove exceeded our expectations. We received a friendly welcome by the Makepeace family, including Farley their gorgeous labrador! Our room was spacious with glorious sea views and led straight out to the fields and cove. We all enjoyed our bracing cliff top walk into Salcombe and the cream tea on our return. The restaurant was fab too and our anniversary meal splendid. Can't wait to return!

      Room Tip: Treat yourself to a sea view room and enjoy the sunsets.
      • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank Optimus34
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

      It’s great that we exceeded your expectations. Farley our hotel Labrador put in lots of hours greeting our residents upon arrival; to be honest he loves the attention! Thank you so much for your lovely review.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews