We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but a little isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MarBella Corfu Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a good week here in this nice hotel. Grounds and facilities very good. Delux room a little small for a 5 star complex but clean and comfortable with lovely sea view balcony. Food is excellent with choice of buffet and also Greek and Italian restaurants.

Hotel is isolated but local bus to Corfu Town from main road at hotel entrance with good frequencies.

Nice hotel for a chill out week in the sun.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Ernest I,

Thank you for your review.
Hotel location is a really invitation to chill out with extraordinary views on the mountains and sea, however our activity program wihtin and around the hotel also offer many option for those who wish to get some action without going far.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 2,485 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Agree with all reviews. Better than we expected. Just back from a 1 week all inclusive stay. As we were leaving, the half-termers were just arriving, so great timing from our perspective!
Everything, but everything is included. Staff were amazing - friendly, polite, helpful and efficient, from bar staff and reception staff to domestic staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Food excellent with plenty of choice and if you eat at the beach bar, you get a la carte service and quality - again all included. Everywhere was spotless and the rooms were spacious with comfortable large bed, good pillows and well furnished. We had a free upgrade to a sea view in the main block so good views as well. Wouldn't like to to be in one of the more remote blocks as it is a large complex with lots of steps between each level.

Only one down side, the wifi reception was very poor, in fact 'wifi' as we know it is non-existent. You have to log in to the hotels site and use it as a 'hot spot'. As a result the reception is quite poor and you have to keep re-logging on very few minutes.

Room Tip: Try and get the main block near reception if you have issues with walking. The restaurant is there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 51keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear 51keith,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are proud of our team and glad they made an impression on your stay with us.
At your next visit to the island feel free to contact us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week with another couple. We had a really lovely time and I would thouroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet, peaceful holiday. The hotel is very well appointed with lovely views and facilities. The swimming pools are very nice (although they are salt water so were very cold - although it was May when we visited). There are pleanty of places to relax, and the beach area is also very nice (although we did not swim in the sea as it was not hot enough but I can imagine it would be amazing in the peak summer months). We were on an all inclusive deal and the food was 'fine' but not amazing (I am a bit of a foodie so an AL buffet rarely impresses me - I also prefer spicy foods and the buffet was a little bland for me). There were lots of lovely salads and always a meat option, but I was not that keen on the meat (I wish they provided more fresh / non processed options and also more authentic greek dishes liek homeade moussaka and what about some saganaki!)). Always pleanty and never seemed to be running out of anything. If you are on an AI basis you get to eat at the Italian or the Greek one night - we enjoyed both of these. For lunch I would recommend the Italian or the Beach Cafe - we found this much better than the buffet.

The rooms were really modern and large - I loved it! We had a partial sea view which made it extra special. We were in room 731 and it was perfect - close to amenities but quiet (I would imagine some of the rooms along the main road would be a bit noisy). All the staff were really pleasant and went out of their way to help without being OTT. I loved the screneity of the hotel and how quiet it was - no annoying entertainment around the pool or people posing around the pool!

We also visited Old Corfu Town which was great - the place to go for really authentic Greek food and lovely shops.

Overall a great hotel and I will defienetly return,

Cheers,
Overall, a great hotel for couples wanting to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Naomi H,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review here.
We look forward to welcoming you again in a next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week for one week.The Marbella hotel is the best hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. We never go any less than 5 star anywhere. The lovely clean well designed bedrooms were the best. However, what lets this hotel down is the food. Every meal, every day was cold, bland and boring. Would we go back to this hotel, NO, because a huge part of your holiday is to be waited on and enjoy someone else to do the cooking. As said before the food lets this hotel down from being the best.

Room Tip: superior sea view was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Ron C ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We offer 6 different restaurants options round the hotel and would be grateful if you had contacted our Maitre D'hotel on the issue.
In other aspects, we sincerely hope you have taken good memories with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just back from a brilliant week in Corfu and missing the fabulous views and weather already! Our Marbella Beach experience was right out of the top drawer. All we wanted for this particular holiday was to be able to relax in warm early summer sunshine in a picturesque setting with good food and service thrown in for good measure! That's a hard ask for many hotels to deliver on, but the Marbella did it in spades. Other reviewers have rightly praised the food range and quality, the room sizes, aspects and cleanliness and the hotel's stunning setting and we can only add our confirmation of all these to their adulations. There are very few minus points and most of these are related to the hotel's particular location, so buyer beware if you are looking for an active break. In our opinion many TA reviews have a tendency to focus on the negatives of any location, which do help potential visitors steer clear of the disaster zones, but we'd prefer to give you some tips about how to improve a stay at the Marbella Beach:

1. Negotiate the best upgrade you can with your deal, be that a superior sea views room or full board dining etc.
2. On arrival (if you haven't pre-paid) ask for the All Inclusive upgrade price from reception and then work out your best drinks cost option, which will obviously depend on your imbibing tendencies!
3. Consider hiring a car if you want to get the Marbella experience as well as see more of the island.
4. Do try one of the boat trips that depart from the pontoons down on the beach.
5. Book a breakfast slot in the Italian restaurant to experience a calmer start to the day!
6. And most of all...if in doubt, just ask...we found the entire team at the hotel very helpful and friendly.

All of which brings us to take this opportunity of thanking everyone at the Marbella Beach for making our stay so memorable. Rarely have we ever experienced such consistently high levels of excellent service delivered with genuine smiles across every location in a hotel, especially one so large as this one. It's so good that it's hard to single out any particular staff, but that said, we were extremely impressed with the all the main lounge bar staff who were only surpassed by Spyros (our star of the week...management please note!!!) and the team at the beach bar. We can't be more effusive about our stay and would highly recommend the hotel to potential guests reading this review.

Room Tip: Superior Sea View Room or Junior Suite. Try to get one on the higher floors in the main building fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Gra50,

Thank you very much for your review.
Your feedback and tips to others are of great help.
All the team will be happy to welcome you again in Marbella Corfu Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just returned from a 7 night stay with my hubby and my friend and her husband. The hotel has excellent facilities the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We booked double rooms with a sea view which I highly recommend. We stayed on All Inclusive basis. The standard and service is excellent, food was fabulous, The Hotel and gardens are very well kept. The only thing to mention is that the hotel is remote has lots of steps which would not be suitable for people with walking difficulties it was fine for us. Just a pity that the Hotel is on a main road with no where to walk off the calories after dinner. We like to browse and walk in the evenings but there is no where to walk to. The road is busy with no pavement, also the noise of the traffic could be quite disturbing at times. It was easy to take a bus into Corfu Town for the cost of €1.70 fare each way the bus times were frequent and convenient. I would say at times that the bar staff struggled with the amount of people also the waiters and waitresses could have done with more help. It got very busy towards the end of our holiday with the influx of holiday makers for the school may half term break. However the staff were lovely and very friendly they work hard. Spa does not have pool it's more ltreatment rooms with a Sauna and Steam (unfortunately the steam was broken on our stay as they were waiting for a part. Nevertheless it did not spoil our time there. Would return at a later date for sure. Overall experience was exceptional and comes highly recommended .

Room Tip: Select a room on a higher level .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladymux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear ladymux,

Thank you for your review.
We apologize for any the incovenience and thank you for making the best of your time here with us.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is our first holiday in Corfu although we've been to Greece before.

Positives:
-buffet food was one of the better food we've had for this type of holiday. Although some the food is similar/same, it had sufficient variation to make it interesting enough each night. The restaurant is situated in middle of the sloping hillside and outside seating offers wonderful view the sea.
-x2 dinner at ala cart restaurant is also included. It's a nice change from buffet and the food here is better quality then the buffet. It is also calmer here and it is nice for a romantic dinner
-Most of the staff are courteous and helpful, especially in the restaurant area. Waiting standard in the buffet restaurant was on par with good restaurant in uk (though we did go off season so it wasn't too busy)
-The hotel is toddler friendly with kids swimming area and lots of baby chair. My daughter loved the water slides and small pool.
-Room was a decent size. We had a superior family room which was actually 2 rooms joined together. This gave us 2 bathrooms and plenty of space in the room. Raindrop type shower had good pressure and the hot water always running. The air con was quiet and worked well too.

Now the negatives:
-The view out of our room was terrible despite paying extra for sea view & superior room. It was partial view, over looking concrete walk way, balcony in shadow most of the afternoon and right side the balcony was the front of our neighbor's balcony (i.e.they had full view of our room!)
-Our room was right next to the lift and airy stairway and we had all the noise that came with that. Satellite tv hardly had any English channel, none child friendly. The Wi-Fi in our room and the beach was poor and we often had difficulty getting reception
-The hotel's beach is separated from the hotel by a busy main road. This meant no real tranquility on the beach. The beach is mixture of singles on one side and sandy artificial plat formed beach. Unfortunately this means little ones can't play with sand by the waves. It also has no shallow water and the sea itself offers little snorkeling opportunity. There were a lot of dead seaweed leaves by the beachside, especially if you walk away from the hotel part.
-As the hotel got busier, the usual fight for sun loungers started. Despite not operating no reservation policy, the pool side was all full of towels on loungers by 9:30am. We also saw ques for breakfast buffet. With lots of kids running around, it was beginning to wonder away from relaxing luxurious holiday.
-Reception wasn't the best. We had to present to reception several times to ask for late checkout only to be told come back later with no guarantee of late check out.
-Hotel is on a slope with lots of stairs. This didn't trouble us but not the best for anyone with walking difficulty.
-If you are not on AI, drinks are expensive. We tried G&T at 8.50eur but it was disgusting (not even lime!). Average wine costs 25-30EUR and a bottle of water at 3.30EUR is very expensive.

Tips:
-There are shops 1 min across from the beach which sells child water, juice, beer, spirits, mixers etc. There are also couple of tavarnas if you wanted lunch. You'd save quite a bit of money by not going AI (about 300 pounds for us in a week).
-Taxi from airport should be less then 30EUR one way. Don't bother with transfer buses from commercial company unless you can get it for much cheaper.
-Avoid the N block. It's far away from the main building, next to main road and near kids pool. Rooms in mason building our near the pool seemed to have the best view.
-Despite the negatives, it's a good place for family with toddlers as long as you are not expecting uk standard 5 star treatment. We came here on cheap deal but would have been disappointed if we paid the full high season prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RisingZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear RisingZen,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.
All relevant pros and cons mentioned show the way forward to improvement.
We are glad you have had some enjoyable experiences with us and look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Ioannis Peristeron
10.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
11.5 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
1.8 mi away
Karina Hotel
Karina Hotel
#11 of 17 in Benitses
78 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBella Corfu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBella Corfu Hotel

Address: Agios Ioannis Peristeron, Agios Ioannis Peristeron 490 84, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Ioannis Peristeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
Price Range: $197 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — MarBella Corfu Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort complex consists of two main buildings and cluster buildings of Mediterranean architecture, all overlooking the graceful Corfiot costline and the colourful sub-tropical property gardens. Marbella Corfu reveals luxurious and spacious accommodation, combined with elegantly decorated restaurants, terraces, lounges and bars offering unique views of the Ionian Sea.The lush greenery along with a brand new cascade sea-water swimming pool invites you to indulge in comfort and style.Various water sports facilities await you at the beach. An idyllic area with olive trees and straw umbrellas is located next to the beach, providing the perfect scenery for sport and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your MarBella Corfu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Beach Hotel Agios Ioannis
Marbella Hotel Benitses
Hotel Marbella Corfu
Marbella Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing