We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MarBella Corfu Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just returned from a ten night stay in the Marbella Beach Hotel in Corfu with my husband and two daughters (aged 11 and 8). We stayed in a family suite, which was perfect and had a great view out to sea. Plenty of room and very comfortable. The food was delicious and we all loved the puddings!
Staff were helpful and courteous.
We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triberobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Triberobinson,

What a joyful review to read!
All in all you had a good time with us and that is an accomplishment to the hotel staff and management.
We thank you for your input and look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,788 - 1,794 of 2,484 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just returned from this hotel after spending 10 days there. A very good hotel, with the only negative being the wasps. We asked about these and this is to do with time of year and certain trees around the hotel that are a magnet for them. A bit annoying especially around the pool and at evening dinner. After dark though they disappear which could explain why everyone comes to the restaurant at the same time. Hotel is large but easy to find your way around. All very clean. Rooms large, clean and modern with a great bed. Pools a little cool but welcome in the heat. Walk down hill to own private beach and stunning views. The clear sea was actually warmer than the pools and was great to swim so close to the beach and see the fish. It was like being in an aquarium. A little disappointing that the pedalo and canoes were only free to All Inc guests as there was no mention of this anywhere. However they are cheap to hire! Book a great boat trip to the Blue Lagoon there as it is a full day and several stops for great swimming, includes a coach transfer. Also trip to Corfu town on the local bus very cheap. Seen a lot of comments re the food. We enjoyed all the food within the main restaurant. I have been to other hotels with more choice of main course, but not the quality of this. Good quality food and if you cant find something out of the 10 different main dishes then you have ample salad choices and great desserts to fill you up!! Yes it is busy at peak time (8ish) but at worst only had to wait a few minutes and that was due to being in a large group which the staff still handled well and were helpful. Smaller party numbers should have 2-3 mins wait at peak times. Tables turnover quickly and the management and staff are all very helpful whilst rushing around to make sure all is OK. As with all similar places and comments seen before for other similar hotels, dont go expecting table service as in a top London restaurant, dont expect one to one service as you are in a busy hotel where several hundred guests all come for food at the same time However, all service we had was polite (does help if you are polite to them in the first place!) and staff keen to make sure you are OK whilst keeping the place ticking over and accommodating everyone in a small timescale.
The 'main man' in the restaurant works very hard and is keen to make sure you are happy. He is the Kurt Russell lookalike! Tell him if you are happy as they only seem to get comments from the small number that arent and are pleased to hear good comments. While we were there , there was a power cut right at the busy time for over an hour which impacted on the restaurant, but again the manager was so keen to make sure things carried on and didnt have an impact on guests. Give this man a medal for his hard work under big pressure and occasional moaning guests!
Generally staff are all polite although we noticed arguing between staff in pool bar and also a dragon of a receptionist telling us off for having our suitcases open in reception when we were moving stuff from suitcase to suitcase pre transfer home. Not a good leaving memory!
Not much around hotel apart from a really helpful general shop at bottom of hill and good tavernas either side who provide cheap, good quality and large portion food! Glad we done Half Board as even with soft drinks and water came nowhere near to AI costs.
Sunbeds always available at peak times.
Would return for sure. Thanks to the hotel for a good time!

Room Tip: Sea View a must and higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Mark W,
Thank you for posting your review right after returning from your stay with us in Marbella Beach Hotel.
We do appreciate your comments altogether and will certainly share it with our staff in all levels.
We sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Definately not for the disabled too many steps to get around food and drinks are very expensive.hotel itself it very clean, rooms are lovely reception staff are very friendly and helpful if coming to this hotel a car is essential.but if you are not the adventurous type and are not disabled and all inclusive this holiday is fantastic one to take

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariesupercook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear mariesupercook,

Thank you for your swift review.
Although a little general we can say that your contentment was not vanished by the points mentioned what make us grateful.
Of course it concerns us the fact that you did not considered Marbella Beach Hotel a good value for money, but we must say that we are very reasonable, if you compare to similar levels elsewhere.
We do offer different options which one can choose.
Hopefully you will give us the chance of another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was very clean tidy and well looked after. The food was varied well presented and replenished frequently. Facilities were good although the number of beds on the beach was a little lacking (had to do a morning run with the towels). The reception staff were very friendly and always on hand to answer any questions. The local area is lacking in places to walk to probably because of the all inclusive facility at the hotel. We went all in and the service for drinks in the evening could be a little slow so get up to the bar for a quicker service. The beach bar was by far the friendliest and drinks were plentiful (soft and alcoholic).
The reason I believe this hotel doesn't deserve a 5 star rating is because of the following :- firstly on arrival there were 2 bottles of water in the fridge, these never got replaced, instead you had to ask at lunch or dinner for a bottle to take away. All meal times you are shown to a free table where a waiter/waitress would come and take your drinks order, room number etc, this is where the service was severely lacking, if you are lucky to get Magda or Ivan (trainee) the service will be superb as it should be, however stavros and the older gentlemen were nothing short of miserable and ignorant. If you are unlucky to get one of the young girls serve you expect them to be more interested in the young male waiters then you and your family.
English people make up a very small proportion of the guests staying in this hotel and several others felt the same when it came to the service, our expectations in the uk are set higher. You can eat once in the Italian restaurant but if you want to eat at the fish restaurant you have to pay extra for this.

All this said it was a very relaxing holiday in a superb setting, the gardens, beach and general areas were well cared for and very clean. Towels were changed as required and beach towels readily available.

If the hotel was rated at 4 stars I would have been impressed with everything however when booking 5 stars you expect the little things to be right as well.

Room Tip: We paid for an upgrade to a sea view balcony room but found this also included the rooms on the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Malcolm D,
Thank you for visiting Marbella Beach Hotel and taking the time to review it here.
We really apologize for you having experienced some fault on our services and therefore missing the five star approach we really mean to provide.
Although we trust all our staff on doing their best, we will look careful at it and make sure their performance is of excellence.
Regarding the water provided in the fridge upon arrival, it is a welcome offer free of charge and if guests wish to have a mini-bar it should be requested at reception, so the replacement takes place as due.
Only as additional information UK is our second market reaching a 25% on year, so by no means a small proportion.
Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review whilst staying at the hotel. My sister and I arrived on 27 August for a 9 day stay and had booked a twin bed garden room. On arrival we were offered a double room as there had been a mix up with the rooms. We were shown 5 alternative twin rooms all of which became worse with each one we saw. None of the rooms were at all suitable and had terrible views. We explained that we had paid a lot of money for a garden view and not a view of either a wall or wasteland! The pictures on the website did not accurately demonstrate the views that we were offered. When i mentioned this to the reception manager on the day, she became very aggressive and was rude. We were offered a sea view room for extra money and agreed. However when we went to upgrade 5 minutes later the room was no longer available. Eventually after 4 hours we settled on one of the rooms which had a view of the pool and the sea. We wasted 4 hours before we were offered this room! At no point were we offered any refreshments or apologies for the mix up. Not a great first impression. We are now on our 7th day. To summarise the hotel

GOOD POINTS - nice quiet pool close to our room on the quiet side of the hotel. Beautiful views

NEGATIVE POINTS - hotel is too big and has far too many steps which is not clearly mentioned in the brochure. We took half board as we don't drink and don't eat too much so for us all inclusive was a waste of money.
However the additional drinks and lunch were horrendous prices and a complete rip off! I have never encountered this level of rip off in any of the many 5 star hotels I have been fortunate to stay in. Also the hotel claims that it offers 90 percent coverage of wifi. This is completely untrue. I tried almost continuously to get wifi in different locations within the hotel and it was extremely sporadic. In fact this is the longest the wifi has worked and it is 1.36 am If as I, you run your own business or need to have regular email communication with your work then this is not the hotel for you. I would never have chosen a hotel with terrible wifi connection

Restaurant food was average and quite boring. Restaurant was always packed. Nightly entertainment was mediocre

To summarise. The hotel is very big and commercial. It is not near to Corfu town (approx 45 mins by bus) - we did not realise this at the time of booking. It is probably more suitable for families with all of its facilities but didn't really suit us and would certainly not suit the elderly or disabled due to the colossal amount of steps leading to and from the beach. Certainly not a 5 star hotel in our view

Most of the staff were friendly and worked very hard and long hours. We don't want to put people off coming to the hotel as no doubt they need the business but we just wanted to put across our experiences particularly regarding the wifi which made me very angry as this was misrepresented and I need regular wifi connection for my business. Obviously the hotel are aware of the poor wifi connection as wifi is offered free of charge which I am sure would not have been the case had the connection been as they describe

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear bradford,

Thank you for choosing Marbella Beach Hotel for your stay in Corfu.
We appreciate your feedback while in the hotel, so we can solve any point of discontentment and give the best options possible.
We apologize if took so long to get your room but it was due to the fact the we had to show you all possible options, not to mention that on our website the samples of garden view rooms are accordingly to the view provided (terrace, mountain or patio) and room category.
The hotel location is something we cannot change and as said before admit that situated on a hill it is not appropriate for people with moving difficulties. Preferences should be always stated on time of reservation.
Drinks available on all inclusive covers most of the range and are clear specified, for any branded drink the charge goes accordingly.
Wi-fi covers 90% of the entire hotel area. In some points it is not reachable due to the position of the hotel, what does not mean that is can fall on speed since the quantity of users with smart phones are huge in some periods. We give the option of using one of our offices for those who are facing connection troubles and are already in our plan for 2014 to improve it starting from the line provider to the capacity allowed and will bring it to 100% coverage in rooms again free of charge.
Hope you have taken the beautiful view with you and that the remaining of your stay have been agreeable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Marbella Beach Hotel 19th - 26th August, we could not fault the hotel for cleanliness or location and the food was very good. The rooms themselves were fantastic and the beds were so comfortable. The Italian restaurant was fantastic - we had to book though which seemed a bit odd as both nights the restaurant was fairly empty.
The biggest thing that let the hotel down was the staff and the service. It was terrible!!!
The pool bar was an absolute nightmare. They only had 2 members to serve the bar and drinks for the pool restaurant. They were slow, did not serve in order and often stood gossiping amongst themselves rather than trying to hurry up and get everyone served.
Children also got overlooked for adults even if they had sat there quietly waiting their turn.
The pool bar restaurant also left room for improvement. Each time we visited we had to ask for things (butter particularly) 3 times.
The buffet restaurant wasn't much better - they didn't seem to cater for groups of 6 very well.
One morning at breakfast, when we asked not to be seated in a hot area of the restaurant which didn't seem to have airconditioning on - the hostess advised us that we would need to get up earlier!?!?! Then on more than one occassion proceeded to sit 6 of us on a table of 4 and just put extra chairs there.
If we then asked to have 2 tables pushed together - the captain of that area muttered under his breath.
Breakfast was busy (as you would expect), however you were often seated at tables that had not been set and you had to ask for cutlery and cups/coffee - on one morning after i had already asked a number of times i shouted on the waiter who actually rolled his eyes at me.
Unfortunately the standard of service left a lot to be desired for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your review with an inviting title!
It is awarding to us to fulfill our guests’ expectations in all levels and above all on the quality of services provided. For that reason it is crucial to us to face any fail on this aspect immediately.
Although you have enjoyed the hotel it seems that the disappointment on the service took over all the good impression and we regret to read it only now.
The reservation on the Italian and Sea Food restaurant are request for the right programming and since the seats are limited one cannot risk it.
Hope you will return on a near future so we can rectify whatever fault.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here from May 6th 2103 and everything about this hotel and grounds are fabulous. We stayed in a suite in one of the annexes and it took our breath away. It was huge, newly decorated, beautiful contemporary design, with a huge bed which was very comfortable. There were 2 balconies with beautiful unobstructed views of the sea, 2 bathrooms! I with bath with shower over and a separate toilet, one with a huge wet room shower and another separate toilet, with state of the art Grohe fittings. There was a comfortable separate lounge with fresh fruit and a Nespresso machine. I jokingly said to my husband on the first night (we arrived about midnight) that it was a shame that there was only one huge wardrobe, the next morning we found the other one!
Where we were on the complex was very quiet which we wanted. It was only a short walk to the main part of the hotel and we could build up our appetite for the fantastic breakfast. There was a huge variety, lovely and fresh. Sitting outside looking over the sea was beautiful. The fresh fruit, Greek yoghurt and walnuts was lovely and the staff would make poached eggs/omelettes etc on request, in addition to all the usual breakfast fare.
The waiting staff in the restaurant were excellent. One of the female "greeters" as you enter the restuarant was a little officious and over the top but I'm sure others may not mind this. There were some short waits to be seated in the evening but not a problem, I am sure as the season went on there would be more staff.
Sometimes in the evening when we would have a drink before dinner there was a wait to be served but again we were happy to relax and wait. The outside area is lovely, with beautiful comfortable chairs and again the spectacular views.
At lunch we ate at the restaurant by the pool, the food was varied, fresh and appetising. It was waiter service and so good we went back every day.
The evening meals were a buffet selection, again this was huge, hot and with a high standard generally.
We went full board which was well worth the slightly higher price.
My husband used the gym which was good and I did an outside yoga class every morning which was really enjoyable, the teacher was great and the class was of a really high standard. It helped work off the breakfast!
In fact the place was so lovely we only left it one day to go to Corfu Town. Again that is well worth the trip on the bus, we walked along the sea front and ate at a beautuiful restaurant teetering on the edge of the promentary, it was amazing, unfortunately I can't remember the name but will look back at photos and review!
All this with local flights from Bristol for £1200 altogether. We couldn't believe the value. In fact, we met a travel writer out there who said this was the best value 5 star hotel he had seen and would be recommending it for honeymoons, as it was half the price you would get anywhere else.
We will be returning, hopefully to the same suite and have recommended it to all our friends. After this review I'm just afraid it will be full. We'll go for 2 weeks probably so we can see more of the beautiful island, we wanted to relax and it was certainly conducive to that.
The transfer from the airport is only about 30 minutes.
I hadn't been to Greece for about 15 years and the accommodation has certainly improved as to how I remembered it. This gives you the best of Greece but also with luxury.
The hotel is set in a very quiet area and there is a beautiful beach down some steps at the edge of the hotel grounds, there is a small cafe down there where you can have light snacks and drinks. We can't wait to go back. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeautifulTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear BeautifulTorquay,

Thank you for visiting Marbella Beach Hotel and for describing in detail your experience with us as well as recommending it to all your friends.
We are glad you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and will certainly be looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Ioannis Peristeron
10.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
11.5 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
1.8 mi away
Karina Hotel
Karina Hotel
#12 of 17 in Benitses
78 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBella Corfu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBella Corfu Hotel

Address: Agios Ioannis Peristeron, Agios Ioannis Peristeron 490 84, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Ioannis Peristeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
Price Range: $189 - $688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — MarBella Corfu Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort complex consists of two main buildings and cluster buildings of Mediterranean architecture, all overlooking the graceful Corfiot costline and the colourful sub-tropical property gardens. Marbella Corfu reveals luxurious and spacious accommodation, combined with elegantly decorated restaurants, terraces, lounges and bars offering unique views of the Ionian Sea.The lush greenery along with a brand new cascade sea-water swimming pool invites you to indulge in comfort and style.Various water sports facilities await you at the beach. An idyllic area with olive trees and straw umbrellas is located next to the beach, providing the perfect scenery for sport and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your MarBella Corfu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Beach Hotel Agios Ioannis
Marbella Hotel Benitses
Hotel Marbella Corfu
Marbella Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing