We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sitting on the dock of the bay (err: river) .”

Portofino on the River
Ranked #5 of 75 Restaurants in Wyandotte
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sitting on the dock of the bay (err: river) .”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Terrfic food .. large selection .. and very attentive service (and do sit outside as that just makes it all that much better) ..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    54
    32
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Served by an Olympic Hopeful!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My food wasn't the greatest, I had to send it back, but the waitress handled the chef's mistake like a pro! Try to get seated in Val's section. She should teach classes on how to be a waitress. She is an absolute professional and an Olympic hopeful. She is exactly what we need representing America at the games. Get in there and give a good tip to Val so she can continue to train.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fleebee77l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barryton, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a great place! During the summer the patio is the best place to get together with friends and enjoy good food and wine.

Helpful?
Thank sldavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Coming back for more”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It was in the middle of winter but the space was warm and inviting with a fire by the bar and an excellent staff from the minute you step into the restaurant til the time you leave. I was seated by the window for an excellent view of the frozen lakefront. The snow drifts on the lake was a beautiful sight. We had a large group of 24 and the staff was very attentive for such a large group.

For appetizer, I had the calamari and a glass of reisling. Both was an excellent starter choice.

For dinner, I had the filet mignon with a glass of merlot. The beef was aged and cooked to perfection. It melted in my mouth. The merlot I had was pleasantly smooth. I cannot wait to return to MI to enjoy Portofino in the summer time. Overall, the service, food, wine list, view and atmosphere at Portofino was an excellent experience. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A bit on the pricey side”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Awesome atmosphere at Portofino's where you can watch boats and ships going up and down the Detroit River. Food is always very good and they usually have a good selection of craft beers on tap.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank grasmuss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino on the River also viewed

 

Been to Portofino on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing