We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Respectable price but interesting facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Woodhaven Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodhaven
Reviewed March 16, 2012

To get to this hotel from the main road is a challange but the staff was very friendly throughout the facility. We were in town for a rescheduled wedding and needed a facility that was pet friendly since our dog sitter wasn't available for the rescheduled date. The additional $20 for our dog was acceptable (considerting pet prices from other establishments) and i know they place all travelers with pets in this room or rooms in this area. The room did NOT smell of any pets but ole Murphy sure was picking them up until he settled down. This ia a failry large complex and 'yes' it was updated but as they say- you get what you pay for. Didn't appreciate the room safe charge on my tab but wasn't going to argue about it. The room was a good size. The best entity - the one free breakfast and the second one for $2.99. It truly was a good amount of food for the price. Even with the updates - the facility still looks dated. I'd stop back again if I ever am in this area over nite.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wll1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWoodhaven, General Manager at Best Western Woodhaven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel here on Tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your great comments. We strive to provide our guests with SUPERIOR guest service and safe, CLEAN accommodations. Again, we appreciate your review and hope to see you back soon.

Thank you,
David Balch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 178 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

This place doesn't have a ton of curb appeal but it was a great place for us when we came to Michigan for a two night stay. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were fairly clean and updated. To address issues from other reviews, the safe fee was $1.00 and our Internet connection was great (there were several points to connect to wirelessly). The pool was clean and well chlorinated. There was also a Sauna which we did not notice until the day after we used the pool. Anyway, this hotel was perfect for our needs and budget-friendly. Oh! I also highly recommend their breakfast. It is very reasonably priced, the service was speedy and the food was as good as any diner I've ever been to! Their breakfast was much better than those places you go where they put out a pot of coffee and some donuts for a "free breakfast".

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveMyPup10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWoodhaven, General Manager at Best Western Woodhaven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel here on Tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your great comments. We strive to provide our guests with SUPERIOR customer service and safe, CLEAN accommodations. Again, we appreciate your review and hope to see you back soon.

Thank you,
David Balch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed in Best Western Woodhaven Inn because we wanted to go to the MGM Grand casino on New Year's Eve. MGM Grand's rates are quite expensive so we searched for an alternative and Best Western Woodhaven Inn was a good one we found. It is about 15 miles from downtown Detroit. The room is a nice size with a queen bed, LCD TV, small and clean bathroom. Our only complaint is the spotty wi-fi internet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeetbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWoodhaven, General Manager at Best Western Woodhaven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Hello itchyfeetbaby! We are happy to hear you found an alternative to the downtown hotels. We strive to offer our guests a clean, comfortable guest room at a reasonable price. We just finished renovating our guestrooms and are happy you enjoyed the upgrades like the new HD LCD TVs. I hope you won big at Detroit's MGM Grand Casino. Hope to see you when you return to the area.

Sincerely,
David Balch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We picked this hotel as a quick overnighter enroute to our vacation destination in Ohio. We were coming from a wedding reception in Windsor and wanted to get a jump on the bridge traffic so picked this one as it was close and right off I75. The rooms was clean and spacious enough and check in was easy. Karaoke was going on that night in the bar which was a bit of a laugh. The hotel is also right on the route to the big box stores in Woodhaven so we got all our shopping done first thing in the morning. We also enjoy Bob Evans' breakfasts and it is very near to one as well.

Only downside...and this is minor, but annoying just the same...when we got the bill, there was a charge put on as the room had a safe in it. Ethically, they should have this included when they quote the room charge as it goes on all of them. We didn't use the safe, just noticed it on the way out and then, on the bill. It was a small charge, but again, it is the principle. We would stay here again though when enroute to Ohio.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeV57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWoodhaven, General Manager at Best Western Woodhaven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Hello MikeV57!

Thank you for staying with us here at the BEST WESTERN Woodhaven Inn. We appreciate your great comments about your recent hotel stay. We are conveniently located right off I-75. There are many large box stores available within just a couple miles from our hotel. I hope the wedding reception went well.

I am sorry there was confusion about the safe warranty charge on your bill. This is like an insurance policy on valuables put into the safe. We would be happy to correct your account since you did not use it.

We welcome you back to our hotel when you are in the area again and hope to see you soon.

David Balch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Our room door was broken when arrived and they could not give us a comparable room; staff was very nice and working hard, but there were not enough people working and the hotel was completed booked. We selected that hotel because of the type of room they offered. Guests seemed to be enjoying themselves (not horrible, but it was pretty noisy when we were trying to get to sleep). While the hotel was not dirty, it was definitely tired. If we need to stay in the area again we would stay at the Holiday Inn right next to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhioRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWoodhaven, General Manager at Best Western Woodhaven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Hello OhioRosie! Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our hotel. The Best Western Woodhaven Inn is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Our hotel received a renovation recently which included the lobby, guest rooms, and much more. We would like the opportunity to welcome you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from Best Western International hotels in the future. Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated.

Sincerely,
David Balch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

When my family moved to the Detroit area in 1970, we stayed at this hotel. So, its kind of a sentimental favorite. I've stayed here several times in the last couple of years and have found the experience a little uneven. The cheapest single rooms are large but the carpeting and furniture are worn out. The slightly more expensive single rooms are beautifully decorated. All rooms have comfortable beds and I have seen no insects. (I always look.) This hotel is popular with fishing groups so if you stay here during one of their meets, you can expect some rowdiness, a full parking lot, and a sign that says, "Clean fish here," near one of the back doors. Since this place is so much cheaper than the Holiday Inn Express next door, I put in my earplugs and put up with it! I do wish a breakfast was provided. You can buy breakfast in the bar/restaurant but it is a pretty dingy space during daylight hours.

Room Tip: This is a good choice of hotel if you have kids because this hotel has a huge pool with a huge deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLady511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWoodhaven, General Manager at Best Western Woodhaven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Hello TravelLady511! We appreciate you sharing your experience here on tripadvisor. I am happy you think of us when coming to the Woodhaven, MI area. I wanted to let you know the
"cheapest single rooms" have been totally renovated in February 2011. This renovation included new carpeting, new wall vinyl, new bedding, and much more. We have had positive feedback from this change. Our king and double queen rooms also received the new bedding package.

You are absolutely correct about fishing groups here at the Best Western Woodhaven Inn. We host many large fishing tournaments throughout the year especially in early spring and summer. It does get pretty busy since we are so close to Lake Erie.

Also, we are beginning a special BREAKFAST FOR TWO package so that you can have your breakfast included in your room rate.

Again, thank you for submitting your comments. We here at the BEST WESTERN Woodhaven Inn hope to see you soon.

David Balch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The place cost less than a lot of the nearby hotels. The place is well kept and has a pool and exercise room. The breakfast special is not great but there are enough restaurants in the area.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWoodhaven, General Manager at Best Western Woodhaven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Hello nmc51! Thank you for sharing your experience with the BEST WESTERN Woodhaven Inn. We try to priovide our guests with a great value while providing superior guest service. We hope to see you again very soon.

David Balch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhaven
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flat Rock
4.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Woodhaven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Woodhaven Inn

Address: 21700 West Rd, Woodhaven, MI 48183-3242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Woodhaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodhaven
Price Range: $100 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Woodhaven Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Woodhaven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woodhaven
Woodhaven Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing