We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Nothing Wrong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodhaven
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Nothing Wrong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed one night for business. Got upgraded to the third floor whirlpool room which is nice and appreciated, didn't use it though. Spacious eating room with very nice attendant for breakfast, typical HIE continental breakfast. Nothing wrong, rooms were clean, looked older, but had a lot of charm in lobby. One complaint was that the heater wasn't run on a temperature thermostat, so I had to get up twice to turn heater off/turn heater back on. Its cold up there in February. Very nice stay though, would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear LastMango,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests. Almost every weekend we find our guests to be children; with that in mind we do bring out our party policy, which enforces quiet time. The state of Michigan is a non-smoking state and we do try to ensure that all guests behave in an appropriate and considerate manner while staying with us. The front desk is always available to handle these types of complaints when they are informed.

Again, I regret your stay with us wasn't perfect. I would love to welcome you back to our hotel to give us another chance to prove we care. Should you need any further assistance or to make reservations, you may contact me directly at 734-362-0933.

Vicki Willard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
11
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
307 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The lobby and rooms were nice; however the hotel is very noisy. Our room faced the interstate so there was traffic noise; the heater made odd noises; we could hear people talking in the room next to us (it was our friends so I know they weren't particularly loud); and then there were kids running in the hallway off and on all evening. And the worst was the mother yelling at the kids. We should have know that noise was going to be an issue when they made us sign a form when we got there about all the things we couldn't do in the hotel -- include have more than 5 people in a room.

Breakfast was good; a nice spacious breakfast area and they kept everything well stocked.

When my hubby went down for breakfast, 3 people were standing inside the hotel by the elevator smoking. There was also smoke smell in the staircase the night before.

This hotel has some really good things but also so not so good things; therefore, I'm rating it as an average.

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't face the interstate and isn't close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LastMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear LastMango,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here while visiting family in the area. The room was comfortable and very clean and the breakfast was very nice. What really stood out for us though was the excellent service, especially from Vicki, the manager. Vicki was very gracious and it was clear that she wanted us to enjoy every aspect of our stay. Over the years we've stayed at several hotels in the area but in the future we'll always return to this Holiday Inn Express because of the excellent service

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgman
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had difficulty finding this HI. Be sure to have very specific directions. The room was fine, clean, bathroom also clean, staff friendly and helpful. We have no particular negatives, but nothing really stood out either. We found their fitness center quite small and under-equipped.

Room Tip: Watch for a low, out of the way sign to direct you to the hotel. It's a little difficult to find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This HIE is standard, not much more. The location is a bit awkward as it is down a road and hard to see, so if you are looking to walk from it you won't be able to. The rooms are clean, but the bathroom could be updated and the fitness center is very small (three-four machines). I'd stay here again despite the small critiques.

Stay away from the bar/restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rp0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We called and made a reservation for a suite on the first floor because I have trouble getting around.The lady from reservations said they could hook me up. When I got there they said they dont have any more suits on the first floor.I said I specificlly wanted the first floor.I would take any room that has two beds,because we had our 17 year old daughter with us.She once again said she didnt have a room on the first floor.So I told my husband then we are leaving.I looked at the girl and said if you cant but us on the bottom floor,than we are leaving.Can you please tell me why you make a reservation when they cant help you!so finally she said she could put us in a room with a king size bed and bring in a roll-a-way.I said that would work.Why didnt she say that before I threatened to leave.The people there just arent as nice as they use to be.I really dont think we will be going back there.I also left my phone charger there and they said they could find it.I know it was there,there for we feel we can not trust that place any more.Its really went down hill since our last stay.We also got woke up at 3 in the morning from the people upstairs parting.I had to call about that and she told me I was the 3rd person to complain about them.Do what?then why arent you up there doing something about it? Just very disappointed in this visit.I guess its time to find a new place to stay.

Room Tip: dont bother making a reservation,because they dont care!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
198 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This room was big and seemed to be very clean. There were plenty of tables and chairs. We loved the furniture and décor. The bed was very comfortable. Check in was fast, and the staff was friendly and professional. We would stay here again. Love the cinnamon rolls and coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTravelerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhaven
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodhaven Inn
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 2 in Flat Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#3 of 8 in Southgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven

Property: Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven
Address: 21500 West Road, Woodhaven, MI 48183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Woodhaven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our professional courteous staff will help you have a perfect nights stay. Let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel start your arrival with an express check in (for our guaranteed reservation) to get you on your way to one of our 77 comfortable rooms filled with such amenities as high speed internet, two phone lines, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, TV, and Nintendo games at a minimal cost. Our spacious suites have all of the same as listed above in addition to more room. For those of you who may be looking for a little more pampering, we offer 15 whirlpool suites with all the same amenities as our suites but with a touch of soothing relaxation! Our two person whirlpool is ready for all your tense muscles.Still looking for a bit more? Our two room Presidential Suite offers all the same amenities as above including more space. ADA rooms available with standards as well. Our delicious breakfast bar located in our Great room, which is just that, with a 32in. TV, fireplace, seating for forty and beautiful natural light from our oversized windows to cover the entire back wall. Breakfast is offered from 6:30am until 9:30 am. Don't worry, we keep the coffee going all day with a light snack for you late sleepers. Please don't forget to visit our business center equipped with internet access and a printer on our HP system. Stop by our game room or our fitness center equipped with with two Precor treadmills, one Precor bike and a Maxicam universal gym set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven Hotel Woodhaven
Holiday Inn Woodhaven
Woodhaven Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing