We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to rest your head”

Best Western of Whitmore Lake
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western of Whitmore Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitmore Lake
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place to rest your head”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Selected this as a place to rest but was surprised at the convienent location as well as the friendlyness of the staff and it does have a nice pool

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nda0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryLong, Manager at Best Western of Whitmore Lake, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.

I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western of Whitmore Lake the next time you are in Whitmore Lake. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Terri Gallant
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    48
    41
    19
    28
See reviews for
68
36
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlevoix, Mi.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Room is very nice, super clean and well maintained. Very up to date other than the TV. Small property with only 2 floors and no elevator. Right next to the lake and a restaurant. Nice size fridge in cabinet. Lazyboy was super comfortable and nice work area. Highway traffic is noticeable but not bad. I will stay here again when passing through.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western of Whitmore Lake, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
I would like to thank you for staying with us and appreciate you sharing your review with Trip Advisor. We have been busy this year working on updates. We would like everyone to know that we will have all new microwaves and LG flat screen televisions in all the rooms by July 31st.

We appreciate you patronage and look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is just like many others on the highway. Its not bad, just not great. The rooms have all old furniture and the ones i have been in have a scent of cigarettes. There is a pool and breakfast. This is not a place to spend a whole week, but a nice place to stop if your on a long drive or just coming back from a U of M game.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western of Whitmore Lake, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We would like to thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor about your stay. We are sorry you didn't notice the new furniture that was less that 30 days old that all the rooms have. We also have new granite vanities in all the rooms which look real nice. By July 31st all our rooms will have new microwaves and LG flat screen televisions.

We would like to thank you for your patronage and hope you will stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Based on the reviews I had read, I was expecting the worst. My brother rented some rooms for the family to use when we went to a U of M graduation. We wanted to be away from Ann Arbor. My room was fine: amenities typical. It was certainly spacious. Everything seemed very clean. Adequate towels, pillows, and blankets. Breakfast was the usual cereal, breads, waffle maker, and fruit, plus reconstituted scrambled eggs and biscuits and sausage gravy. The worst part of the whole place was also one of its advantages: it's right off the freeway, so it's extremely convenient, but I did hear car and truck noises all night. Also, the room to room sound proofing was non existent: I could tell exactly when my neighbors on either side of me decided to call it a night. So all in all, I'd recommend it as long as you're not looking for anything really high class. It is what it is. Adequate and clean.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catlover4884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryLong, Public Relations Manager at Best Western of Whitmore Lake, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response, we value our guests opinions. We take pride in our hotel and do everything we can to make your stay enjoyable.

We have been working on updating our rooms the past few months with new furniture. This week we have completed the installation of all new vanities and sinks.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when traveling north and south on my annual migrations in spring and fall. The rooms are very well maintained and comfortable, and I like being able to park right outside my door. Great restaurant right across the parking lot. Hotel also has a heated pool. The people who work at both hotel and restaurant are very helpful and pleasant. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryLong, General Manager at Best Western of Whitmore Lake, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Marylin,
Thank you for taking the time out of your bussy schedule to write such a complimentary review.

I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an insperation to our staff to continue their efforts.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western of Whitmore Lake the next time you are traveling from Florida and back. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Terri Gallant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Was in the area for my husband's followup appoint after surgery at an area hospital. Had not made reservations as we did not know how far south we were going to get that night.

Motel is easy to see, but the odd driveways can be confusing especially at night. Wanted a jacuzzi room, but motel only has 1 room with jacuzzi tub on the 2nd floor. The motel has no elevators, and my hubby can not walk up and down stairs due to multiple sclerosis (but does NOT require a handicapped accessible room). So...no jacuzzi tub for me after driving over 5 hours! So we take a room on the 1st floor. Staff and I had discussed that we had a mobility scooter that my hubby using for long distance travels that we had to bring into the room.

Once at room, discovered that there is a 3"-4" brick step into the room. The only rooms that do not have this are the handicapped accessible rooms, which we did not require and can actually be a bigger problem to my hubby. So hubby had to pull the scooter into the room while I lifted it over the door step.

After settling in, went to prep chunky soup for hubby to eat (has had a cleft palate repaired and can not eat anything solid yet) to discover that room does not have a microwave. Had planned on using coffee cups to heat the food in right in the room. So now, I have to go use the microwave in the lobby plus find a bowl to heat food in.

Gal at the front desk was VERY VERY accommodating. Provided us with a bowl and was as helpful as possible. Would later find out that she had put the room on either side of us "out of service" for the night so that we would not be disturbed by other guests!! :)

Now that food is taken care of and back in room again, head to use the bathroom. There was a thick, tar-like ring around the top of the water level in the toilet. There were scrub marks visible where someone had tried to clean it off.

Other observations: There was a large black stain on the throw on one of the beds so that it was the very first thing seen when starting towards bed. The furniture had lots of wear marks that could use a touch up to make look better and the fresh paint in the room was sloppy around the edges and on the light switches. This just gave the impression that no one really cared about the property. HOWEVER: This IS NOT the impression given to us by the staff!!! Everyone we can into contact with was very apologetic, but also gave the impression that the "boss" didn't really care.

Would we stay here again.....probably if under different circumstances. This was one of the very few times I didn't research better or have a room reserved ahead of time. As for value, we have paid less for better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich2too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryLong, Manager at Best Western of Whitmore Lake, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review regarding our hotel. I would like to give an update and let you know we ordered all new dressers, night stands and head boards for all our rooms at the begining of January and expect the shipment soon. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed here with my family and the rooms were cleaner then expected. the front desk reps were great and friendly. The pool was nice and warm ...though we didn't get time to swim it was nice to see indoor swimming and sauna. The lake is literally across the street, nothing in town in really open late at night...
For in older facility this place isn't bad at all. . . I have stayed at much worse bestwesterns...
I did have a few complaints...
1) The headboard had something sticky and smelly on it
2) The Shower was a little irony/rusty
3) Breakfast was ok.. my biskits were hard and eggs were like rubber,,,but kids enjoyed their cereals and juices,
Compliments...:
1) service was great.. everyone was very friendly,,.
2) access to lame was great

Room Tip: no elevators so you're hoofing it if you don't have a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TigerlillyBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitmore Lake
8.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Brighton
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brighton
12.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Howell
8.8 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Brighton
12.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Wixom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western of Whitmore Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western of Whitmore Lake

Property: Best Western of Whitmore Lake
Address: 9897 Main St, Whitmore Lake, MI 48189-9807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Whitmore Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitmore Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western of Whitmore Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western of Whitmore Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Whitmore Lake
Whitmore Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing