We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honestly the worst food I have ever had!”
Review of Michillinda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Michillinda Lodge
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My parents recommend Michillinda for our anniversary dinner a couple years ago. My wife and I still talk about our dinner as the worst restaurant experience we ever had. The empty dining room on a busy summer weekend should have been a warning. The view of Lake Michigan from the dining room was wonderful, but there were flies everywhere. Our salads had a considerable amount of brown leaves in them. Our entrees were nearly in edible. We didn't eat much, but my wife was several months pregnant at the time and we worried for several days about food poisoning. Neither of us did get sick, but this was lucky. The servers were very young and inexperienced. We saw a tent set up for a wedding and we were greatful we only lost one anniversary instead of our wedding. Today whenever we have a problem in a restaurant we say "at least it's not as bad as Michillinda.

Stayed: July 2011
2  Thank Bghjfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michillinda-GM, General Manager at Michillinda Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments. The 2011 season was actually our busiest and most raved about summer in regards to our dining room and food selection with many nights without an open seat. At the end of the year we do take what our customers have said and work to improve in those areas. We are coming into this season with a new dining room design and a new menu as part of our complete renovation for the Lodge. This season also brings new management who have staff on hand to help in training our servers in the dining room. We are very sorry to hear about your dining experience with us and would welcome you to return this season so we can show you all our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Michillinda Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 60 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

After booking a week at the Michilinda Lodge and then reading all the reviews I was prepared to be disappointed. To my surprise it was nicer than anticipated! We stayed the last week in August in the lodge in room #8. The staff was very nice. Housekeeping was super! Also the restaurant waitstaff were very nice to my kids. The included breakfast both buffet and off menu were good. (Items never changed so I just wished for a bit more variety.) My kids liked the pancakes and the french toast was yummy. The location was great for Michigan Adventures, lighthouse, Pentwater, Duck Lake, fishing at the Pier. The ammenities:putt putt golf, shuffle board and pool were a bit run down. But the sunsets on Lake Michigan were AMAZING! The little beach was nice (lots of steps!) We went during a very slow week (most kids back in school) so I am sure it is different during peak season. Nice place to Un-plug the family (no phones, no internet, no tv) We enjoyed a lot of "face-time" instead of screen time. Friends keep asking me if we would go back to Michilinda...I haven't decided. At check out extra fees on bill (county tax, etc) added up. Loved the location~but a bit pricey. We might rent a cottage in the area instead. Glad we tried Michilinda to get familiar with the area.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are nicer than the outside cabins. Great breezes from Lake Michigan.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MichiganTravelChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This hotel is nothing like it is shown in the pictures on their website. Everything looks like it is from two centuries ago. By this I am not referring to style , which is supposed to be rustic and it would be fine if this was the case, but I am talking about a the very shaggy accommodations that desperately need some upkeep!!! The houses/cabins look like they could fall apart any moment, and smell inside is hard to cope with.. Tap water also has this smell of rusted metal.. not something you would want to brush your teeth with! Their private beach is extremely small, there is barely space to fit in 10 people.. also it is not very clean. The pool is dirty, small and the lounge furniture that is by it - most of it is broken.. Then was the mini golf area that is proudly posted as one of their attraction/activities sites - when we saw it, we thought it was a joke..
The only thing that helped us to be a little bit more positive about this place was the view of the lake. It was truly the best thing there. So if you are still going there make sure you book a room that is on the second floor with a view onto the lake (first floor is very low - will not see nothing but bushes).
Staff was somewhat helpful.
Average age of visitors - over 55.
I would not recommend this place to anyone.
The price that they ask for it is insane!! one night came out to 210 with taxes and a service charge of 17.50, which as we were explained, was to cover room maintenance. It didn't not make any sense, as we only stayed there one night - obviously there was no maintenance involved until we left....

Room Tip: Surf side structure, top floor
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadiya1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have a family reunion here and booked about 10 rooms, everything was perfect. I had never been to this area before and would highly recommend this place for couples with or with out children. We LOVED it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaplesRestaurants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

$175 / night no matter the room...some rooms are much better than others - inquire before reserving.. some rooms do come with a/c. So get detailed info when reserving.

If you are expecting Hilton quality rooms you will be disappointed.. Yes, the beds are uncomfortable but most rooms are within 100 feet of the Lake!!! The bathrooms leave a lot to be desired but do you really want to spend your vacation there?

Some carriers, namely Verizon, get good cell phone coverage..others (AT&T) do not

You are paying for the relaxed atmosphere, amenities on the grounds and nearby attractions. If you expect to be spoiled and pampered you are at the wrong place.

The on-site host family is incredible and will go out of their way to assist in any way possible! (the front desk staff does seem indifferent)

The food is solid and worth eating half your meals at. Breakfast buffet is ok but ask for a menu instead as breakfast is included. Most regulars seem to eat offsite for a few lunch and dinner meals.

The resort has an onsite heated pool, playground, tennis courts, basketball, putt-putt course, shuffleboard (again - all not in the greatest shape) but charming. The beach usually is 10-30 wide depending on the lake levels. Summer activities include - bingo, campfire, talent show.

The maintenance staff is constantly doing improvements and the resort has looked better year after year lately IMO

Their website is outdated and doesn't go into nearly enough detail so hopefully this might help give a better picture.

There is a reason why so many families keep coming back year after year - Location, but also the relaxed atmosphere cannot be stressed enough!!!! Everyone seems to be rushing around and Michillinda is a welcome break from the grind.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same price no matter the view, size, and amenities
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddaman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

I recently got married at Michillinda Lodge and I must say that my wedding was perfect. Great food, great service, beautiful ceremony and reception site. I would recommend Michillinda for any brides considering having their wedding there. However, the majority of my guests stayed at the Lodge and were very unhappy with their experiences. The staff was rude and unknowledgeable. Restaurant service was poor. Rooms outside of the Lodge were dirty and stuffy. No air conditioning, irons or blowdryers in any room. Grounds are not well kept. The pool was filthy. No cell phone reception.

It seems to me that it is an issue with the management being unequipped and the staff not being trained well. Hopefully they can get it together before it is too late because Michillinda truly used to be a hidden gem on beautiful Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaLovesMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The pictures do not accurately dipict what you get. Rustic, dirty, terrible service and not worth the money is what the tag line should read. While the place could be very nice the staff is inexperienced, we wondered if anyone even worked here? The beds are terrible, the grounds are unkept, the annex and out buildings smell of mildew not to mention are dirty and in serious need of a scrub down. The dining facilities have good food but it took almost a half hour to get a waiter, then they did not bring the salads, and the food took almost an hour to be served from the time we ordered. They are totoally unorganized from a dining standpoint which is too bad since the food is good but not worth the issues. They charge extra for kids, not worth the $30.00 a day, and they advertise that breakfast is included in the price, then why do they charge a service charge? The pool needs some work and a good cleaning. The one upside is that the beach is pretty nice but difficult to get to especially if you are taking anything down there. Save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GInaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
11.1 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
446 reviews
5.1 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
362 reviews
16.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
52 reviews
24.9 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michillinda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michillinda Lodge

Address: 5207 Scenic Dr, Whitehall, MI 49461-9462
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Whitehall
Price Range: $97 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michillinda Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Michillinda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michillinda Hotel Whitehall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing