We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck!”
Review of Buzz'sLakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I thought this place was a total dump. And, a way over-priced dump. Our room was damp and smelled of mildew. I honestly don't know how people can like this place. I would never stay there again. My brother also stayed at this place and his room was bad, too, so it wasn't just our room.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cornfedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideinnresort, Owner at Buzz'sLakeside Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
Thank you for your review. A lot has changed in the three years from your stay in 2007 to your review in 2010. Wish we would have been made aware of your issues durning your stay. We always do our best to accommodate our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
38
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2009

I have been coming to Lakeside Inn for many years, and have stayed in most of the available rentals. What really makes it special are the wonderful people who operate the resort. The furnished apartments and cottages are homey and well-appointed. The lodge and motel units are spartan but sufficient- all units have a superb view of beautiful White Lake. I highly recommend the resort as a peaceful, friendly destination.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEJE2009
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My husband and I were married at Lakeside Inn on August 15 and it was absolutely perfect! Our ceremony was held on their beautiful front lawn.

The room we stayed in was quaint, comfortable, and very clean. The resort staff was friendly, helpfull and kind. They made sure everything ran smoothly for our big day.

The food at our reception was great. All of our guests had wonderful things to say about their meal.

I would highly reccomend Lakeside Inn to anyone planning a wedding.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEJE2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

My family stayed at the end of August primarily to go to the amusement park nearby. Our seach for hotels in the area were mixed on availability and reviews. Their website seemed inviting so we booked three nights with an option for a fourth. Check the website for specials and utilize them. Full price may leave you remorseful. Through my childrens eyes everything was perfect. The pool, tennis, shuffleboard, was heavily used by them and the resort supplied the equipment needed. The dock was cool, restruant was awesome, and the view was pleasant. A toy filled area was great for the waiting children.

We stayed in M-8 (motel 8) facing the courts. The room stunk. It was musty. We opened the windows and aired it out and it seemed better. The next morning we noticed that there were several cracks in the shower floor which had sunk down and some of the sections shifted about as I showered. Later after breakfast my wife mentioned it to the front desk. We came back in the afternoon with a note that they wanted to move us. Checking the bathroom we discovered that they had already demoed the shower. We could see clear down to the soaked crawlspace and the source of the odor. Its a good thing I didn't fall through that morning. They gave us choices of open rooms and a sincere note of apology from the owners with a gift card for use in the restruant. We moved and the next room was just fine. Why didn't the cleaning staff report this???

Overall it was a cool place in a great area with lots of history. The staff was nice and helpfull. The complimentary breakfast was good for us and the evening dining was awesome for children and adults. Get reservations because it was packed every night. The place was clean and neat, but shows some wear. I would go back if utilizing the specials. I would rate it above average except for the shower issue and smell that was perhaps and isolated incident.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMItraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

When we booked most places in the area were full. This was the last room available at the Lakeside - in the Lodge , and the rate was $150/night due to 'peak season'. The other rooms/cottages may be better but our experience was not pleasant. The room smelled when we entered despite the windows being left open and the ceiling fan being on.
The room was old - wood paneling, no phone, no remote for the TV. the bathroom was tiny and the shower was so old and worn looking we did not want to use it. The only toiletry provided was bar soap - no shampoo, lotion, etc. The room had no tissues provided either.

The location, right on White Lake is very pretty, but the beach area on the property is not very nice, next door and walking down by the private homes it is kept very nice. The breakfast was fine- typical continental fare: bagels, breads, muffins, sweet rolls, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, milk, coffee, juice....

The cost was much too high for what is provided and how it looks - the kids did enjoy the pool and shuffle board. And we enjoyed Michigan Adventure Amusement park very much and would definatley go back there- but choose different lodging.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nabb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

The grounds were nice with a cute little dock where the kids can fish with their parents. The grassy area by the lake was nice and gave a good area for our three year old to run around and for us to sit in one of the many chairs or louges. There was a tennis court and shuffleboard and basketball hoop for entertainment. Next time I will be sure to bring my tennis racket so we can have a game. The outdoor pool looked nice enough although we didn't get a chance to have a dip. The room was quite small, nothing great but it seemed clean.

Make sure to check out the website and know their packages before you go. When you try to check in they WILL NOT MENTION THEIR SPECIAL PACKAGES. When we went to to front counter and asked their rates they quoted us $130 per night. I then asked if they had any packages and the young girl at the front counter had to go get another older lady to speak to us. This lady went over their rates again telling us about the $130 + per night rooms. I once again asked if they had any package deals, because i had read about them on their website.- she gave me a funny look. She then finally said the package would let us have the same room for $99 the first night and $79 each night thereafter and we would also get a $25 gas card each night of our stay. She then neglected to tell us about their continental breakfast that was included.

Other than the check in the experience was nice. The breakfast was good (toast, fresh fruit, coffee, juice, danishes, hard boiled eggs etc..)and the room was a good deal at the reduced rates. I will stay again if the room is $99 per night but it would not be worth it for $130.

  • Liked — Nice lakeside view, and friendly motel guests and staff
  • Disliked — The ckeck-in- not disclosing packages even after asked
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gaylesemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We took a road trip 2 weeks ago up the west coast of Michigan to "get away from it all" and happened to find Lakeside Inn on our way to a lighthouse museum. It was like stepping back in time! We got a room in the lodge that faced the water - not luxurious but clean and comfortable. We ate in the dining room and dinner was delicious - My husband and I shared lake perch and prime rib. We sat in a lounge after dinner, had a few martinis and watched the boats on the lake. So relaxing we decided to stay another night. We are going to bring our kids here later in the summer because they have a pool and there is an amusment park close by. Overall nice stay!

  • Liked — A unique resort that brings you back to earlier times - great restaurant!
  • Disliked — It's a long drive - about 4 hours from our home - but worth the trip.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank libbynsuesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
4.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
17.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#4 of 5 in Whitehall
2.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buzz'sLakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buzz'sLakeside Inn

Property: Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Address: 5700 Scenic Dr, Whitehall, MI 49461-9645 (Formerly Lakeside Inn Resort)
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buzz'sLakeside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open under new ownership with many new amenities including a 22 seat bar, patio, and updated docks for guests. Serving lunch and dinner 7 day a week thru October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Buzz'sLakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Whitehall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing