We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old charm, beautiful location”
Review of Buzz'sLakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old charm, beautiful location”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband and I were attending a wedding near Silver Lake. Instead of staying at the Comfort Inn like many out-of-town guests were, we opted to select accommodations that made us feel like were really 'on vacation'. After reading the reviews online, I had a better idea of what to expect when were arrived. I understood this was a 70+ year old family resort that still has the charm of years past. The floors squeaked....the doors were thin, the decor what dated (but charming). The beds were SUPER comfortable --- based on what a previous reviewer stated ---- the mattresses are new as of last year. Unfortunately, the restaurant wasn't yet opened. I was looking forward to eating there for dinner but it isn't scheduled to be open until mid June. We ate breakfast in that dining room (awesome, relaxing view of White Lake) where they had a free breakfast. The breakfast we simple but just enough. It included things like hard boiled eggs, strawberries, yogurt, fruit, bagels, danish, cereal, milk, OJ, and coffee. The staff was very helpful and nice. It was nice just to sit in a lawn chair in their yard and watch the fishing boats on Sunday morning. So relaxing! There was a nice play area for kids --- more than enough to keep them busy for hours. We didn't use the pool, but saw some young kids enjoying themselves and the pool appeared to be heated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
38
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I brought my 1 year old back in the early 2000's with my wife and he's been there every summer since. We've taken a picture of him in the same location every year. For a family this is an amazing place to create wonderful memories. Very quiet, great cell service just in case you want it, rooms are very old but charming. The folks that work there are wonderful and the restaurant is excellent. Read some reviews from people that were negative, clearly they are used to a Four Seasons and don't get old schol Michigan. A late nigth walk on the grounds also a must do. 2 minute drive to Lake Michigan, White Lake is wide and gorgeous. Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank compcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Lakeside Inn Resort has been a favorite of our family for 3 generations. My husband first visited when he was one - He is now 50! He has great memories of fishing, sailing and swimming in White Lake and nearby Lake Michigan. We enjoy the pool, the tennis and shuffle board courts and activities for the kids. The restaurant is great! I recommend a blueberry mojito before dinner! The service has always been great -- even when my 5 year old son got sick in the middle of the night and I needed to change the sheets, the night desk clerk was so helpful. My father-in-law loves the golf course that is right across the street. There is something for everyone in a relaxing and fun environment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisaanne66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2010

A lovely old style resort on White Lake. Very enjoyable - food is wonderful - best around!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cropgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This is a very nice place to stay but pretty pricey. We payed $155/night ($140 for the room + $15 for an extra adult) and the room was pretty small but decent. We had 3 adults and a 22mth old. I loved the fact we had a little porch to sit on at night. The grounds are beautiful with tennis courts, basketball, shuffle board, and chairs to sit in and look at the lake. The pool is awesome. Just like bath water. We found a beach around the corner that was on Lake MI that we went too also. The staff was very nice and the continental breakfast in the morning was small but nice. We stayed here to go to MI Adventures. It was a short drive to the park but not many choices for food in Whitehall. We had to go to exit 109A to find a starbucks and other food.
If the prices were lower I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

This place was wonderful. They have beautiful new bedspreads along with a cute little wicker basket of shampoo, conditioner, lotion, body soap, and face wash. The bathrooms were very clean along with how clean the rooms were. We stayed in Motel 22. I recomend to stay in Motels 22-25 or Ranch House because they are bigger rooms with a very detailed view of the lake. The restaurant was delicious and the staff was very pleasing. I am excited to head back next year! They did get new beds this year and are very comfortable unlike the beds they had last year. Lakeside Inn is slowly upgrading and I am glad they are taking their time because the Resort is old and antique but the history is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DixieCowgirl0742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We have been going to Lakeside for many years and it is one of the few remaining family oriented resorts left. The view of white lake is awesome and with the dock for fishing and access to Lake Michigan, who could ask for more. There is plenty to do in the area, with golf, the Michigan adventure amusement park, beaches and place to go.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markder20772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
4.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
17.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#4 of 5 in Whitehall
2.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buzz'sLakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buzz'sLakeside Inn

Property: Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Address: 5700 Scenic Dr, Whitehall, MI 49461-9645 (Formerly Lakeside Inn Resort)
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buzz'sLakeside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open under new ownership with many new amenities including a 22 seat bar, patio, and updated docks for guests. Serving lunch and dinner 7 day a week thru October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Buzz'sLakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Whitehall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing