We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly Hosts, Cozy and Romantic Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Whitehall B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast. Our room, the Cygnet Suite had an air jet massage tub that was wonderfully relaxing. Our hostess was delightful and knowledgable about the area. We dined at the Old Channel Inn which had great food and drinks. Then we had a scrumptious breakfast in the morning. It was our first bed & breakfast experience and we loved it. They also provided cookies and coffee or tea upstairs near the room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyjerseygirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 139 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2010

My two girlfriends and I wanted a little overnight getaway by Lake Michigan. We chose White Swan because the king bed room had the ability to have twin beds and the rooms all have private bathrooms. Cathy & Ron were very welcoming and friendly upon our arrival. They gave a brief tour and were willing to assist with meal ideas. There were delicious, fresh cookies and a wonderful machine that makes individual coffee, tea and hot chocolate available! Breakfast was delicious and filling. We plan to return! Thank you so much for the opportunity to rate this B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danahawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

My wife and I had never been to a B&B before and decided to go for our 3rd wedding anniversary. We are very glad we chose the White Swan Inn. It is beautiful, charming and we were so cozy in our room (so much so we overslept each day). The room is equipped with everything you want to relax indoors and the town is charming and right next to the beautiful waters of Lake Michigan.
Cathy was extremely warm and hospitable and her superb breakfasts lived up to their reputation.
Thanks for the wonderful stay. =)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petros007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We were in the area for an organized bicycling event and found this B&B to be perfectly located. The bicycling trail is just a very short walk from the front door. There is a view of the lake and there are a couple of nice restaurants within a few minutes walk. A small theater is just across the street. There is also a lovely state park/beach just a few miles away. Cathy is a great resource, not only for everything in and about town, but for things to do along whatever route you happen to be travelling next, and she is as welcoming and friendly as you'll find. The place is quiet, restful, very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfasts healthful and tasty. We did not have a chance to try the boat tour, but will do so next time!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We just completed our 5th stay at Cathy and Ron's White Swan Inn. This inn is a perfect location to enjoy the Montague to Hart (bicycle/foot/roller blade) Trail; Michigan's first linear state park. The inn is a very clean and comfortable historic style building. And you cannot top Cathy's excellent breakfasts especially if served on the screened porch. Be sure to check out Captain Ron's power boat charter options for White Lake (which is viewed from the inn) and/or Lake Michigan aboard the 40 foot Swan Three. On summer weekends, enjoy the Howmet Summer Theater directly across the street from the inn. AND there is an excellent ice cream parlor one block from the Inn. Perfect for any summer evening. We are looking forward to our 6th stay at the White Swan Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Beautiful Victorian home in a quiet neighborhood, two blocks to shops and restaurants. The innkeepers, Cathy and Ron, are gracious and pleasant, and really make you feel welcome. Each of the four rooms is beautifully furnished and decorated, and the breakfasts are elegant and tasty, made with fresh, healthful ingredients. And the two resident cats, Cricket and Max, are delightful!

Staying at the White Swan Inn made my annual 4-day trip to the area better than ever, and I hope to go back on a regular basis!

--Kathy, Chelsea, MI

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

The White Swan is a beautiful and authentic victorian home. I've stayed on numerous occasions and Cathy out does herself every time with her delicious breakfasts. The rooms are inviting and there is even free wifi.

The White Lake area is great place to get away from the city and spend some time outdoors. During the winter I took advantage of fabulous cross country ski trails. In the spring I enjoyed the bicycle trail and lovely scenery. The Lake Michigan beaches are clean and not very crowded, and the community is fun and artsy. Each time I visit, there is something interesting playing at the theatre which is right across the street.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SipiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
0.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
253 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
452 reviews
12.4 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
364 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 303 S Mears Ave, Whitehall, MI 49461-1323
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehall
Price Range: $109 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning White Swan Inn B&B is your destination for a romantic getaway with relaxing accommodations and full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing