We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Whitehall B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Beautiful restored home has lovely architecture, plenty of charm and wonderful and friendly service. The breakfast will not leave you wanting! Delicious homemade food is beautifully presented and served by Kathy. They definitely aim to please and they made our stay a wonderful memory to cherish, so thankful they open their home for us all to enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJStaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our stay at the White Swan was very enjoyable. Our room was comfortable and quite spacious, with a king bed and two comfortable chairs. The inn keepers were very warm and friendly and prepared an excellent breakfast each morning. The scenic drives through the Fall colors were beautiful. This was truly a great place to relax and enjoy the surroundings.

Room Tip: The Covell room was very comfortable. Just be aware that the "fireplace" is electric.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy R, Owner at White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

We have chosen to utilize "electric" or all-season fireplaces in our guest rooms as a safety precaution. While different from a natural flame, there is still a realistic look and creates a romantic ambiance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The house has a lot of charm, the bedrooms are spacious and the bed and armchairs very comfy. Cathy was exceptionally gracious and updated us to the Cygnet room, which has a HUGE bathroom with 2 sinks, a spacious tiled shower room and a romantic looking bathtub with a jacuzzi.
Breakfast was gourmet home cooked with fresh fruit, homemade muffins, and baked veggie omelet or nut crusted French toasts. I very much enjoyed the lightly baked grapefruit with brown sugar on top.
Max the house cat is very friendly and we enjoyed playing with him.
Maria and Jared

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the White Swan in mid-November and it was the perfect cozy relaxing getaway. The house has a lot of charm, the bedrooms and bathrooms are clean (our bedroom was very spacious as well), and breakfast was very good. The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars is that there isn't a lot to do in Whitehall (Christmas walk was going on when we were there...but there are only about 3 shops). It's close to the water but since we were there during a snow storm we didn't really take advantage of that. But if you're looking for a weekend of low activity and taking a deep breath this is the place :) Oh yea, and the "always open" coffee and tea machine and homemade goodies in the hall upstairs by the bedrooms was also a nice treat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Covell Room...lots of room even with a king bed, and the chairs by the window were...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22mooseMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was an easy drive to this quiet town after the last day of ArtPrize in Grand Rapids. We received a warm welcome to a nice, clean accommodation. Our hosts provided good suggestions for walks and restaurants and advice for the most scenic route to our next destination.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were lucky that a room was available when our plans changed and took us to this area. Cathy was exceptionally gracious, her advice for dinner faultless, and the room was spacious clean an comfortable. Breakfast was perfect. The neighborhood is beautiful and quiet and the nearby sights are lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank californian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing stay for two nights this summer with Ron and Kathy. The room was quaint and clean. Breakfast was great on both mornings. Kathy was so helpful in giving us information on places to eat and go. We will definitely call again if in the area. Sue and Pat L

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
0.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
251 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
446 reviews
12.4 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
363 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
52 reviews
4.5 mi away
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Whitehall
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 303 S Mears Ave, Whitehall, MI 49461-1323
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehall
Price Range: $109 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning White Swan Inn B&B is your destination for a romantic getaway with relaxing accommodations and full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing