We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Whitehall B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the White Swan Cottage and enjoyed this quiet retreat. It is great for a family of four. There is many things to see and do in this area, including the little shops and art galleries in Whitehall and Montague. Be sure to stop by the Mud Puddle and create your own piece of ceramic art. It made for wonderful family bonding time. Michigan Adventures is just minutes away and you will be able to spend more time enjoying the park vs. driving to get there. We will certainly plan another vacation at this cottage retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 138 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Kathy and Ron do a spectacular job. Beautiful, thoughtful, tasteful in all things. Our room was small, but very comfortable. We felt welcome and very much at home. Even a cat away from home provided! The amazingly thoughtful details like the wonderful single cup coffee / tea maker in the hall and the delicious brownies provided to the fresh pretzel snack in the room make this B&B stand out as the best of the best. Not to be missed. Gorgeous inn in a gorgeous town. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: Reserve early for best room selection.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaughtyZute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We traveled to Whitehall for the Electric Forest at the Double J Ranch, because one of our son's performances. So happy when Cathy called to let us know a room was available, the cygnet room...very nice with it's nice large bathroom and shower. The homemade cookies came in handy, when we got back at 2:00am. There was an assortment of coffee, tea, water, and soft drinks available 24/7. Great with our weird schedule that weekend! Breakfast was lovely on the screened-in porch, which we enjoyed the day before to work on our computers before heading out to the EF. You can see the lake from there and enjoy the breeze. Cathy and Ron were very helpful with directions, extra coffee to go, and anything else we needed during our stay with them. We had a BLAST at EF, but it was nice to retreat to the peacefulness of the White Swan Inn!
Thank you Cathy & Ron!

Room Tip: the cygnet room has a nice large shower. The air tub looks inviting, but we did not use it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TemPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I were there for one night in June. We had a very relaxing stay, and enjoyed the extras including availablity of tea/coffee, soft drinks, and even some homemade brownies in the evening. The screened in porch was a great setting to relax and read. This well-maintained 19th century house is right in town on a quiet street, walking distance to several restaurants and Peekadill's ice cream shop. Breakfast was excellent as well. This was the last stop on a vacation trip and family reunion and a it was a great conclusion, with a helpful friendly hostess.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtaba285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

White Swan Inn is simply lovely. Captain Ron and Cathy are such gracious hosts ensuring that every detail is set and their guests are happy and comfortable. My husband and I enjoyed a two night stay in the beautiful room with the air jet, 6' slipper claw foot tub (a must if this room is available). The weather was in our favor Saturday night (June 22nd) and we enjoyed a sunset cruise on the White Swan charter 40' cruiser. The evening cruise turned into a perfect "Moon Rise" cruise. Cathy prepared a serving plate full of cheeses, crackers, spreads, fruit and her special delicious "biscuits".
The weekend was just what my husband and I needed; a relaxing and romantic weekend focused on just us.

Room Tip: The room with the air jet, 6' claw foot slipper tub. Spacious room and bathroom with large show...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zgal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I were in town for a wedding, decided not to stay at the chain hotel where the rest of the family was. We thought it would be a nice break to stay at a comfy B&B within walking distance of the water and all the little shops. We are so glad that we picked the White Swan! The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast both days was great. They have a wonderful relaxing porch with rocking chairs. They always have tea or coffee available, and Cathy and Ron were super nice and friendly. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHandTaveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at The White Swan Inn. It is a comfortable, homey and clean-as-a-pin little retreat in a super location. Guests enjoy every 'creature comfort' like a comfy room, lovely side porch, home baked goodies in the afternoon, and of course the scrumptious breakfasts. It's an easy walk to the charming little Main Street, restaurants, bike paths and other lovely places! You will enjoy this Inn immensely!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank five-eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
0.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
251 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
446 reviews
12.4 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
363 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
52 reviews
4.5 mi away
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Whitehall
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 303 S Mears Ave, Whitehall, MI 49461-1323
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehall
Price Range: $109 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning White Swan Inn B&B is your destination for a romantic getaway with relaxing accommodations and full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing