We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall enjoyable stay”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here last Friday and Saturday for my nephew's wedding. Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed having a refrigerator in the room. We had room 204 on the back side of the hotel and it was very quite. I liked that we could not here any televisions or noise from the next rooms. We wanted to go out to dinner on Friday and ask the front desk clerk for a suggestion. She recommended Gary's just down the street and it was a perfect place for me to take my parents to. We also asked how to get to a hair salon and she explained it perfectly for me. We also needed directions to the wedding and she was nice enough to print out directions for us. The breakfast had a nice selection and was very clean. Overall all our stay was enjoyable and we would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side are more private. If you want a refrigerator make sure to ask because not...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurar359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestVaueInn, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having your family here for the weekend. Looking forward to having you stay with us when you may visit the area again. BTW 'moms' hair looked nice, as did the whole family all dressed up. Have a great fall season if we don't see you before then. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 87 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here on our way home from vaction and overall had a nice time.the hotel staff were pleasant and we had a very nice clean room.we slept very good being The beds were so comfortable and we had a good breakfast The next morning on our way out th e front desk lady made us feel so welcome and actually came around the desk and helped us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestVaueInn, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your experience on to our front desk staff, glad they made you feel welcome. If you travel our way again hope to see you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a very old and tired out hotel. We checked in Friday evening through Sunday morning for my brother-in-law's wedding. The girl who checked us in messed up our checkin twice and seemed overwhelmed by four couples all coming in together.

Our room was adequate. Carpet was threadbare in places. Top blankets on beds had stains. My father-in-law's room had a toothpick lying out in the open on the carpet. I checked both double beds to ascertain whether we would even be spending the night here. Found no bugs, thank goodness! I slept poorly the first night but my husband slept well both nights. Very quiet, which was a blessing. Unfortunately I didn't think to take pictures, but even the traveler pictures don't look like the room we had, except for the bathroom.

Ah .. the bathroom .. here's the kicker ..
When my husband walked in to use the bathroom, there was a pubic hair chilling out on the toilet seat. So .. when did they last clean it?? There were a lot of random hairs behind the toilet, like no one had swept behind it in forever. EW. While I wasn't expecting expecting luxurious towels, it would have been nice to have washcloths and towels that were not either a dingy gray or accompanied by little yellow stains. Shower was adequate, OK water pressure, but the floor squeaked and I was afraid my 105 lb frame was going to take a trip through the floor boards. Also, don't expect to apply any makeup in the bathroom, there is only one flickering light by the sink.

On the bright side, the WiFi was decent, not overloaded like a lot of hotels, and there were a lot of channels on the cable TV. There is also a McDonald's right next door, we walked there for lunch.

To sum it up, if this place was up to par with the places around it, they would be charging the same prices as the other hotels. You get what you pay for, however, in this case, we got even less.

Room Tip: We were in room 206. Rooms 205 and 204 were also not very good per family members.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestVaueInn, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your review! Sorry you were displeased with your stay here. I was not aware of any of the issues you were having while you were here so they could have been addressed. I have addressed housekeeping with your concerns & they will be improved for future stays. If you return to the area please check us out in the Spring we will have more updates complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This facility was marvelous. I felt welcome immediately upon entrance. The room was exceptional. It was clean and well. It looked more like a Days Inn then an America’s best Value. I met a very colorful character in the lobby at check out. His name was Karl and he might own the Hotel. He was just so nice and very impressive. This was a very good value!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestVaueInn, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. glad you had the chance to meet Karl, he is definitly colorful! Look forward to your return & thank you for sending your friends our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Was so nicely greeted when arriving early. The easy access to the hotel off the expressway. They allowed us to check in several hours early. Breakfast included was a great added bonus. We loved the the care and consideration given by the hotel staff. Room was clean and area was wonderful. Would stay here again for sure and recommend to all my friends Michigan.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if one is available they will give it!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestVaueInn, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your review! I am pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for telling everyone about us! Look forward to you revisiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The ABV was selected for us by our Company due to it's proximity to the office. The hotel was nice, rooms were clean and well tended. The free Wifi was a bonus. The ABV certainly had a nice homely feel and was very quiet at night. The staff were all very pleasant and the staff always welcomed a conversation. Had a great stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestVaueInn, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Glad you had an oppurtunity to visit us while in our area for business. Our pleasure to visit with our guest, love to hear about their experiences while on their visit. Look forward to your stay again if you are back our way. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a typical Northern Michigan Hotel, lobby and rooms clean, good service, excellent internet speed. The Air Conditioner was a blessing, it was hot out. Easy access to Interstate 31 really nice employees!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestVaueInn, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

I do agree...nothing better than showing up to your reserved room & have it cooled off for you after being in the hot Michigan sun!! Next time your come to town give a shout & we will have the room air or heat waiting for you! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
446 reviews
15.6 mi away
Travelodge Muskegon
Travelodge Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
303 reviews
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
251 reviews
12.2 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
15.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon H...
#2 of 2 in Muskegon Heights
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 3080 Colby Rd, Whitehall, MI 49461-9216 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Price Range: $47 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free coffee in lobby, free deluxe continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Our guest rooms include coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, desk with lamp, table with chairs and alarm clock radio. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is 100 percent smoke free. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located off US-31 BUS on E. Colby Road, and are near attractions such as Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, Michigan's Adventure Theme Park and Duck Lake State Park. Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall is your best choice within the the mouth of the White River on Lake Michigan. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for business, vacation, sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Grand Rapids or Lansing. At Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Whitehall
Super Eight Whitehall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing