We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$100+ for a $40 room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“$100+ for a $40 room”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Ok. I understand that some rooms may be nice, but ours was already remodeled. Run down-
Fridge unplugged and in walkway of the room. Nowhere for it to plug in and not be in the way. Amenities, there are none. It's close to mcd's and a shell, as well as 31. 6 miles from michigans adventure. Location was the only decent thing. Beds were hard and pillows were the worst. It was absolutely worth $40 not the $130 price tag. Go elsewhere. Location is the only thing this place has going for it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NukedNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for the review. However I am not sure you got the right ABVI for review. As we do have newly updated room with new pillows. We are not located by Shell & we are only 6 miles from Michigan Adventures with pricing starting at $89.99 not as high as $130.00.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    5
    11
    36
See reviews for
45
11
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I waqs just looking for a room after a day at Michigan Adventure. We were all tired walked in and Harold was so uplifting he greeted us with a smile. Made checkin easy and painless. Asked if we needed directionrestaurant recommendations or a wakeup call. He just made us feel appreciated and welcome. This made us all feel better. We all Slept great and were surprised with had nice the rooms were. We are coming back in August!

Room Tip: We had a room in the corner by the Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Knowing how exhausted a day at Michigan Adventures can be we are happy you could get a good nights rest. Thank you for your positvie review, look forward to seeing you again in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The town was full not a room left when I stopped at this hotel. They had just had a late check out. The desk clerk clean the room for me so I could stay. They did a very good job the room was pretty nice the bed was comfortable and I slept like a rock. The people go out of their way for you and the price was really reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the hill are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! I am happy we had just what you were looking for during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I slept great. I am picky and need a good bed to sleep in and they had the perfect one for me.
Harold took me to check them out before we stayed. The first bed was just right(un like goldie locks) The Hotel is reasonably priced and the people are unbelievably accomodating. Very family friendly.

Room Tip: second floor room near the back if one I like
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darryl z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestVaueInn, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! Glad we had a bed that was just the right fit, looking forward to future stays. Thanks for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is clean the bed are new and the location perfect.

I had stayed at this exit before but not here. Tried this hotel because my stay at the Ramada was terrible. This place is so much better than its competitors. The staff is very nice especially Harold. He made sure I had the Best room and the quietest. He carried my luggage up for me While I carried my sleeping son to the room. In the morning I saw deer on the hill out back a Doe and two Fawns! It was amazing. I am a customer for life

Room Tip: Rooms towards the north west are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestVaueInn, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am happy you had a wonderful stay! Look forward to having you stay when you & your family visit the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel is just right for my needs. Reasonably priced and very comfortable I would recommend it to anyone. Staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable. I'm going to send my daughter here next month keep up good work.

Room Tip: Back side very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestVaueInn, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for your response. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to seeing your daughter next month. Hopefully she will be in time to enjoy our new bedding due to arrive middle of June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestaburg, mi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Now the girl working there was FANTASTIC, but the entire hotel was not as great. It wasn't terrible, but I would probably look elsewhere, depending on the price. The room was obviously recently updated (new carpet and such) but it was very small and the breakfast was, well.....smaller. There were only two small tables to eat at.....and a very small counter with minimal selection. Don't get me wrong, it was fine for what it was.....but will probably look for a hotel with a little more room. Let me just say one last time, that if we do, in fact, go back.....it will be because of the girl working there....she was so helpful and friendly. She was there when we came in for the night and then back again that Sunday morning! It's people like that who make you want to choose a place you may not have chosen again. Overall, even though it sounds negative, it was not a bad experience. I just noticed the price had gone up quite a bit as well when I went to find a place to stay at again soon. That's too bad....there are hotels as good for a lot less.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestVaueInn, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you recieved excellent service from our front desk clerk. We have opened expanded breakfast seating thank you for your input. Hope to see you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#4 of 5 in Whitehall
2.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.8 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
12.2 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
17.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall
Address: 3080 Colby Rd, Whitehall, MI 49461-9216 (Formerly Super 8 Whitehall)
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free coffee in lobby, free deluxe continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Our guest rooms include coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, desk with lamp, table with chairs and alarm clock radio. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is 100 percent smoke free. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located off US-31 BUS on E. Colby Road, and are near attractions such as Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, Michigan's Adventure Theme Park and Duck Lake State Park. Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall is your best choice within the the mouth of the White River on Lake Michigan. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for business, vacation, sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Grand Rapids or Lansing. At Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Whitehall
Super Eight Whitehall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing