We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Great Stay!!!!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed over the weekend and was very happy. My family has owned hotels my whole life so trust me, Im very critical. Everything was great, especially the staff. Purchased a gift certificate for a friends wedding and will return myself. Guaranteed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestVaueInn, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a great stay. We should have our renovatins done in Spring 2012, please come back & check us out! Thank you for your continued business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 87 of 87 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

GOOD: The staff was generally friendly and welcoming. They are in process of remodeling the dated areas. The breakfast was quite good. The maid service was generally good. They had a nice 27-inch flat tube TV.

BAD: There was a sour garbage-like smell in the room the first couple days of my stay. There was a heavy smoky smell on the upper floors. The only washer was broken for a few days. The bathroom light is way too dim--cannot see to put on makeup. The bathroom also needs another towel bar by the sink. The worst thing was that the wi-fi signal was very poor in my room. It was very frustrating not to be able to get a constant connection.
I will probably not stay there again, unless I know that some of those things have been fixed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank checkmate1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy W, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We use these comments from our guests to make improvements to our hotel. All of the issues that you have mentioned have been discussed and addressed by our staff. As you mentioned, we are in the process of remodeling the hotel and this should be complete very soon. Please come back and see the improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel has new owners and you can tell they are working on improvements. The staff members were nice and helpful . The building was a little run down but clean. The price was the best in the area. Would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b_q_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy W, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

We really appreciate you generous comments and are pleased that you were happy with your stay. Our renovations should be completed soon so please come see us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Despite the reviews, I reserved a room because it wsnt a "Super8" anymore it was "America Best Value Inn" & it was close to Michigan Adventure. Well I arrived at the location the 1st thing I noticed was the big SUPER8 sign & the 1st floor or the baseman was DIRTY,dusty, a lot of items piled up on top of eachother like if the place was abandoned. The entrence its in the back of the building when you drive in, its dark & wooded. It desnt have the look of a "Hotel" it was more of a "Motel". I ask the receptionist if I could see the room. the room was so small there was only like at least 2feet between the 2 beds, 2feet to get to the dresser, on top of the dresser was the coffee maker. It had the look of a cheap motel, it smell & it didnt have an elavator so if you have an person in a wheel chair you are outta luck! The room was $120 the night so I refused to stay becuase it wasnt worth the $$. Receptionist told me I had to tell the manager I wasnt staying so I did, the manager asked "so what you think", I replied by stating it was 2much for the quality. He finished by saying " ok,so you are outta here!!" like if he was throwing us out of his "Hotel" very RUDE. I drove farther dwn & stay at a hotel suite for $139. Pay a little more & stay at a REAL Hotel where you know your vehicle is going to be there the nxt morning & not worry bout any bugs on the bed!! Do NOT stay here if you looking for a nice, clean spot 2lay dwn & worth the money....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prieta415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy W, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

We are very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay. We are in the middle of remodeling the hotel and your money was refunded due to your dissatisfaction. We would like you to know that we do have handicapped rooms available and ramps for anyone in a wheelchair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
446 reviews
15.6 mi away
Travelodge Muskegon
Travelodge Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
301 reviews
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
251 reviews
12.2 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
15.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon H...
#2 of 2 in Muskegon Heights
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 3080 Colby Rd, Whitehall, MI 49461-9216 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Price Range: $47 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free coffee in lobby, free deluxe continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Our guest rooms include coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, desk with lamp, table with chairs and alarm clock radio. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is 100 percent smoke free. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located off US-31 BUS on E. Colby Road, and are near attractions such as Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, Michigan's Adventure Theme Park and Duck Lake State Park. Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall is your best choice within the the mouth of the White River on Lake Michigan. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for business, vacation, sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Grand Rapids or Lansing. At Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Whitehall
Super Eight Whitehall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing