We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Luke's Baptism Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Whitehall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Certificate of Excellence
Da UP of Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Luke's Baptism Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

One of the finest Comfort Inns we've stayed at! Large, clean rooms. Flat screen TV's w/large variety of channels. Beautiful pool and hot tub area. Fitness room w/modern equipment. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful! Scrammbled eggs, sausage links, waffles, bagels, muffins, fruit, etc. Very attentive and friendly lady tending to the cleaning the tables and replenishing the breakfast items. The motel is located right off an exit ramp, and only a quarter mile from the on ramp.
Free wi-fi was also easily accessed, and excellent signal throughout motel complex.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206, and hallway noise was noticable, but not unusual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Whitehall, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Good Afternoon Johnsdi-
Im sooo glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! Thank you for your review and feedback. Feedback is how we get better to improve so that you enjoy your stay even more next time! Come see us again!

Susan Jenkins, General Manager
Comfort Inn - Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    125
    49
    27
    9
See reviews for
199
64
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DETROIT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. I am a bit picky about hotels but I was perfectly fine staying here. My son enjoyed the pool. The hot tub was more of a warm bath..but was still nice. 5-10 min drive to mich adv. About 15-20 to downtown muskegon. Breakfast was the usual plus eggs and sausage which was nice :-). Overall great stay:-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamaof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

A typical Comfort Inn – nothing special. A bigger property than is usually the case, so it felt crowded. It’s near an amusement park, so it appears to get lots of large, noisy families. If that’s your thing, you are in luck. The rooms were a good size but the doorways offered poor sound insulation, so you can hear all the hallway activity (see noisy families comment). The pool and hot tub were in a spacious room with big windows, which was welcome (they can be in dank, dreary places). The same can’t be said for the breakfast room, which was too small for the size of the hotel, dimly lit with food choices to match. I’d skip the free breakfast and drive a short distance away to Gary’s Restaurant as they do a great, cheap breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
244 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Whitehall during a brief visit to the Manistee Forest. We had booked a first floor room which had a decent-sized bathroom. The highlight of the room, however, was the large hot tub which we took advantage of. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. A buffet breakfast was included in the stay, but the dining area was crowded every morning making it difficult at times to find a place to sit. The property included a pool located just off the lobby.

This Comfort Inn was easy to find, just east off US-31 taking the Whitehall-Montague exit. In turn this meant easy access to not just the Manistee National Forest but other areas of interest to the north and south.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImmerWandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

going by reviews on tripadvisor we settled on this comfort inn, over the one located in muskegon, for our overnight stay after Michigan's Adventure. Room was nice, linens were clean, bed was comfy. Carpet in room & hallways could have used a good steam cleaning. Bathrooms were clean & nice, fairly large. Pool area was nice & clean too. Breakfast bar was very good, waffle maker, donuts, muffins, scrambled eggs & sausage! coffee & juice. very well stocked & managed.
all in all a good stay!

Room Tip: we faced the woods on the 3rd floor. quiet & nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisdiaz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My two daughters and I were greeted by a girl who was not happy to see us, clearly. The hotel is only 3 stories, so it is MUCH faster to simply take the stairs. Our room was as basic as it gets. We booked a room with two queen beds. Giant spider on the ceiling, but that happens in any place. Their was nothing special about the room. They don't have central air, they have an air conditioning unit built into the wall, under the window, which overlooks the parking lot. The air conditioner kept us awake every time it turned on, and didn't reach the second bed very well. This is a terrible way to control the climate in a hotel room. None of us slept. The bathrooms were relatively clean, that is not to say anything in the hotel room was sanitary. They have a tiny pool area, and I mean tiny. They have towels on a shelf, but only set out a few towels at a time and they are tiny; you can't wrap your body to dry off or keep warm. My girls like to swim, so it gave them a chance to swim and go in the hot tub before bed. The breakfast, which is free, was very nice, I have to say. They have an amazing set-up for home made Belgium waffles, one batter for regular, one batter made with cinnamon and two waffle irons and they are deeelicious, no kidding. The free breakfast also had scrambled eggs and sausage, various cereal offerings, bagles, muffins, toaster, etc. Coffee, juice, tea were offered. There is no express check-out offering, so you have to check out at the tiny front desk area which can't be called a lobby, it is more like a tiny foyer (where you can gawk at the swimmers in the pool because it is RIGHT THERE, again, no kidding. Oh, and this is funny, the work-out facility consists of one stationery bike, one NordicTrack and one treadmill, and it is in a room the size of a closet with a mirror; they are jammed in there. Hilarious. A gentleman asked the manager for a $60 rate for the night, she offered him a room at $99, he said he could go to the Ramada for a lot less and told her, in the winter, when he comes frequently, when it is dead there, he said, he expects a better rate or he'll go "across the street" (Ramada) and the manager said, "And it will be YOUR LOSS, kind Sir!" He said, "No, it will be yours because you won't have any business, come winter." Bad attitude from the manager, I thought.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie48359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked this hotel online. In the fine print on the page that printed out after I booked it (non refundable due to booking it after 4:00 pm on the day of the reservation), it said "Small Room." I did not recall this being indicated when I was considering my reservation online although I probably wouldn't have imagined this small. I assumed it was smaller than typical. I KNEW it must be smaller than typical when the check in clerk asked if I was told at the time of booking how small this room was. She said if I had called, I would have been "warned." As the room booking was non-refundable at this point, we didn't feel we had much choice. The main sleeping area didn't have much space at all, but wasn't awful. The bathroom, though, was like a poorly designed public restroom stall. To close the door, you have to enter and either stand on the toilet or in the bathtub or squeeze between the tub and toilet. To use the sink, you had to lean from in front of the toilet or kneel on the toilet. Really. The bed was okay. The a/c was very loud at points during its cycling (something metal rattled). Breakfast was decent. At $150 for the night, this was definitely one of the poorest values I've ever had for a hotel room.

Room Tip: Unless there are no other choices at this hotel or another in the area, or you like small spaces, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#3 of 5 in Whitehall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
12.1 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.1 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
18.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
18.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Whitehall

Property: Comfort Inn Whitehall
Address: 2822 Durham Rd, Whitehall, MI 49461-9155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Whitehall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn hotel in Whitehall, Michigan is near Michigan's Adventure theme and water park. The Comfort Inn(R) hotel is less than five miles from Michigan's Adventure theme and water park, and is conveniently located near several area attractions. Local points of interest and businesses like Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, the Muskegon County Airport, Baker College of Muskegon and Alcoa Howmet are minutes from this Whitehall, MI hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will delight in the array of recreational opportunities afforded in the surrounding area, thanks to nearby Lake Michigan that provides a picturesque backdrop for activities like boating, fishing and swimming. Many golf courses ranging from beginner courses to championship links can be found close to the hotel. There are many retailers and restaurants in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Whitehall Hotel Whitehall
Whitehall Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing