We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect veggie option!”
Review of Harbor View Grille - CLOSED

Harbor View Grille
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: WE are a cook from scratch kitchen using local ingredients during every season. We boast a nice selection of vegetarian & gluten free options as well as the Best Fish & Chips in West Michigan..
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
163 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“perfect veggie option!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

In the land of burgers and fried fish, this restaurant had one of the best veggie options I have encountered (especially in West Michigan): fresh corn and black bean cakes. The arrived on a bed of steamed vegetables with a lovely red pepper coulis and cilantro sour cream. Very nice flavor without being too spicy or leaden like many bean-based burger substitutes. My dining partner had a regular burger and was happy. The house salad has more than iceberg lettuce- hurray! Very reasonable prices too, although you may have to wait for a table on a Saturday night.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A2Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    54
    18
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food with a view.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This restaurant was a good place to go for basic soup, sandwiches, and salads. The food was very good and the service was good as well. Of course there was a great view of the lake. This was a more casual dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudia and Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food was good and the view was nice. The service was a bit lacking with a couple errors on our order. I am sure some servers there are better than others, but ours was a bit slow, and not friendly or attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RayRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“very good fish and chips”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had dinner on the patio and really enjoyed it. The fish and chips dinner comes with three large pieces of fish and they made the fries really crispy just like we asked for. I had a vegetarian pasta dish that I can't remember the name of and it was so amazing. Because the portions were so large I ordered the home made bread pudding to go and glad I did I loved it. The main dishes were reasonably priced at $12.00.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CubaqueenOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hostess told us that we would have to wait 1/2 hour or so for a table. Normally that wouldn't be a problem--however, there were five empty tables inside the restaurant and many open on the patio. When we asked the hostess why we couldn't be seated at one of those tables, she said that she didn't want to overburden her waitstaff by filling all of the tables. We ended up leaving and going to a different restaurant in town that didn't mind "over-burdening" their staff by filling all of the tables. If the waitstaff can't handle a semi-full house on a Tuesday night, I can't imagine what must happen on a Friday/Saturday night in this establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatgirl0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor View Grille also viewed

Whitehall, Muskegon County
Whitehall, Muskegon County
 
Whitehall, Muskegon County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing