We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea at Danesfield”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We arrived a few minutes early and were shown straight through to the bright and airy Orangery by very friendly staff for our tea. First job was to choose which tea, from the dozen or so available, we each wanted. The service was quick and efficient. The Danesfield Afternoon Tea consisted of selection of finger sandwiches, selection of scones, strawberry jam, Cornish clotted cream and home made pastries. As a diabetic I was offered sugar free jam, a bowl of fresh strawberries, blueberries and blackcurrants with a panacotta instead of the pastries, all of which were very tasty. My daughter was asked about any dietary requirements when booking but the menu also had details of diabetic and gluten free options. Altogether a very enjoyable time was had by all....

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear smdear

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Danesfield House Afternoon Tea. We are delighted to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your afternoon with us.

Afternoon Tea is always very popular here and it's so lovely to hear you had a thoroughly wonderful afternoon and that we catered to all your dietary requirements. This will be passed on to the Food & Beverage Team.

Please come and see us again soon and thank you once again for your review.

Kindest Regards

Georgia Lacey
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Second stay at this hotel, was invited back for free night due to poor stay on first stay.
Hotel and staff very nice also good food with great choice but the Spa is not good at all, on first visit booked 90min aromatherapy massage only to have an unqualified therapist so when we were invited back was promised a really good AROMATHERAPY massage. Again was given a masseur that wasn't trained for that treatment. Very poor and unprofessional .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Caroline M

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on trip advisor, and also for your lovely letter received this morning complimenting all of the other elements of your stay. Unfortunately due to illness we were unable to fulfil your aromatherapy treatment, so my apologies that this unforeseen circumstance impacted on an otherwise excellent stay. I know our spa director has been in touch also to offer her apologies once again and I look forward to welcoming you back Danesfield soon.

Very best wishes,

Anthony

Anthony Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My best mate and I were long overdue a trip away and found this on secret escapes. The room was clean and had everything we needed, fresh milk for drinks a bonus. Bathroom well equipped with lovely smelliest. All staff very friendly and pleasant, our bags were taken to the room while we lunched in Marlow. Dinner was lovely in the Orangery and service was efficient if a little quick. Breakfast had lots of choices and it was nice to sit overlooking the beautiful gardens down to the river at the same time.
The spa was okay, facilities in changing rooms fine but poolside a bit underwhelming and sauna etc quite small. That said my rose facial was amazing and Martha was very pleasant.
All in all a great stay, couple of minor things would have made it a 5 - bedside tables very sharp on corners and we had to move them away from the bed after my friend caught her arm, shower head very low (am 6ft and a bit so had to duck!) and the plug was nowhere near the kettle or to reach a hair dryer in order to see the mirror. Minor things and certainly did not stop us leaving relaxed and happy.
I would go again but only if there was another good deal as we saved over £250

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank abbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear abbiew,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your treatment with Martha. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Liz Wilson
Spa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great potential, some staff were brilliant some not! Waiting staff were very efficient but one in particular was so efficient he seemed to forget to be friendly.
Food was excellent.

Room was tired, bathroom dated and damp, shower dodgy!

Spa treatments were nice, very pleasant therapist and overall she did a great job, but felt she was slightly under trained.

But the biggest problem was at checkout, the receptionist was very nice but overall the experience very disorganised there was some discrepancies with bill which were delt with but service charges put on bill which if not questioned would have been paid without noticing. If I want to leave a tip I want to be the one to decide, thankyou.

Generally we enjoyed our stay, but right from the booking date there were issues, including being phoned and emailed from both spa and hotel reception about treatments etc including a call to check if one of us had cancelled a treatment, which was absolutely not the case, so haven't got a clue what that was all about.

Think perhaps the hotel and spa are a bit detached from one another. Also there was nowhere to sit around the pool not enough beds by far.

At this time if we book another spa break it probably wouldn't be at Dansfield.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmarchspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear bmarchspa

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on tripadvisor and my sincere apologies that your stay was not as organized as it should have been. In terms of poolside we do try to maximize all available space for loungers, and in the warmer months we do have more lounger space on the south facing terrace.

Taking all of your points on board I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and I will be in touch.

Very best wishes,


Anthony

Anthony Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My partner booked a weekend at Danesfield House as a birthday surprise for me. With no idea what to expect that first view of the gothic building with sparkling lights in the trees was stunning. The fantastic gothic style continued inside with plastered ceilings, wooden panelling and a grand staircase. our large bedroom had a very comfy bed and a cosy bathroom. From the huge windows was a beautiful view of the gardens with the river beyond. Soon after we arrived a delicious chocolate birthday cake was delivered to our room. A surprise to both of us and such a thoughtful touch.

Dinner in the oak room was excellent, the halibut and then the passion fruit soufflé were highlights. Service was attentive but not intrusive.

Breakfast in bed was sheer indulgence. We ordered the full works which arrived on time and hot. Our room was so quiet we were surprised to find the hotel buzzing when we came down.

It was great to come back from a day in Oxford and relax in the spa.

I felt thoroughly spoilt and would happily spend every birthday there.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank brooketwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear brooketwin,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to Danesfield House Hotel & Spa.We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Birthday surprise and indeed the whole weekend.

Your comments regarding the Halibut & Passion Fruit Souffle will be passed on to Billy Reid, Executive Head Chef & team, who will be very pleased.

Our aim is to ensure that all our guests that visit Danesfield relax and enjoy their time with us and look forward to returning. Thank you so much for letting us know that we ticked all the boxes for you and we look forward to welcoming you both again.

Kindest Regards

Georgia Lacey
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

First impressions are of a lovely grand country hotel however its a bit shabby really. Worn, frayed carpet, torn curtains, damp on the walls, light fittings hanging by their wires. I really felt sorry for it as this place has the potential to be really lovely if someone just spent some money on it, but it would take a lot.

Despite all this we did have a lovely stay. The service was real good, especially from Peter who drove us to our restaurant and picked us up, a real charming guy who quite clearly enjoys what he does. We found the bed really comfortable but I didn't sleep so well the first night as the feather pillow didn't really have much filling left in it but thankfully I always travel with my own so fished it out of the car for the second night. There was a good selection of TV channels to choose from, breakfast was perfectly ample and the bar well stocked. The bathroom was freezing cold though so I wouldn't want to stay in the middle of winter.

We had wanted to book some treatments in the spa on Sunday morning but unfortunately it was fully booked which was a shame. It didn't look especially busy when we popped in there for a nosey so I guess they just didn't have enough staff on.

We certainly wouldn't call this a luxury hotel but we enjoyed our stay all the same.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbabearski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Bubbabearski

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, and it’s disappointing that I have been unable to reach you through trip advisor to respond personally.

We are at present refurbishing 16 rooms that return to us in the summer, but in the meantime we are also working through other areas of the hotel as part of our ongoing program. The Spa does get very busy over the weekends so we always encourage guests to book in advance.

Thank you for taking the time to mention Peter, it is wonderful to have had Peter on the team at the hotel since it opened in 1991 and I was particularly pleased that you rated our service 5 out of 5.

Thanks again for your thoughts and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Danesfield in the future

Very best wishes,


Anthony

Anthony Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked for a couple of nights as a late Birthday celebration for my boyfriend's birthday. Really impressed with the warm welcome we received, especially as we arrived an 1 hour earlier than scheduled. A most beautiful room with great views overlooking the gardens and River Thames and when we were kindly shown our room there was a lovely surprise delicious chocolate cake for my boyfriend. On top of that a pretty birthday card soon arrived signed by all the staff, truly amazing, as we had not organised this. I might have mentioned the fact that we were having a late birthday celebration when booking! We would like to say a special thank you to the staff and management for organising this very special surprise, it was excellent!

We were amazed how welcome we felt throughout our stay by all the staff. We booked The Oak Room too and were very impressed by all the delicious fresh food, staff and service overall. We very much enjoyed the excellent breakfasts in the Orangery with delightful views over the grounds.

The spa was definitely worth a visit, most relaxing area, we visited the sauna, steam room, swimming pool and jacuzzi and it was most delightful.

Even when it was time to leave our car was collected and delivered outside the door, fabulous service!

We will definitely be back to visit again - we so enjoyed our relaxing, wonderful stay, most splendid hotel and friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend visiting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Henry538

Thank you for choosing Danesfield House to celebrate your Boyfriends Birthday, it sounds like you had an amazing time. I am glad you enjoyed the Birthday Cake we left for you, I am extremely jealous as they look delightfully tasty.

Your thanks will be seen by all our team here at the hotel and Spa, I am glad to see that we have added to the ever growing list of Danesfield House enthusiasts. I do hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards

Matthew Drinkwater
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
5.9 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
17.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
722 reviews
3.5 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#5 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range: $333 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is located between Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in Buckinghamshire, just 30 minutes away from central London. Surrounded by 65 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland with the River Thames and Chiltern Hills as a backdrop this romantic country house is home to 79 individually and beautifully presented bedrooms and suites, some with traditional luxury and others in a more contemporary style offering extra space over two floors. The Restaurant at Danesfield House is known for using seasonal local produce with menus changing regularly to reflect this and in warmer months The Terrace is ideal for alfresco dining especially enjoying a quintessentially British afternoon tea overlooking the gardens. Spa Illuminata at Danesfield House is an award-winning spa, specialising in overall wellbeing and relaxation. Featuring a 20-metre azure blue swimming pool, eight treatment rooms, studio and fully equipped gym, the spa offers residential experiences, day spa, treatments and health club membership. Visit Danesfield House Hotel and Spa, relax and experience ultimate British hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing