We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“England's Prince Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“England's Prince Charming”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

As we drove up during the evening onto a winding road - at the top we encountered a Castle and all the amenities a Princess would want. From torches that lit the front area to my bed being turned down and a request to fill my bath! Dining was delicious and the wines and the recommendations for wine were on target. The landscaping was pristine as was the staff. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    310
    202
    101
    56
See reviews for
178
573
28
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I arrived late as part of an int'l business retreat and our local partners need to get all the credit here. To keep it short, the hotel and grounds are amazing leaving us Americans in awe of what it must have taken to own this property outright. Of course this comes at a price.

The hotel has typical narrow hallways but many interesting and cavernous rooms. Opposite the tiny registration desk is a classic sitting room with a massive fireplace and 25' ceiling displaying ornate woodwork and a snooker room in the balcony. My room was large with seating area, fireplace and a small door out onto the balcony overlooking the grounds. The large manicured ground are an amazing sight to wake to.

Every room was well appointed and functional. Under close inspection you can see some wear in the nooks and crannies to support modernization or resulting from over a century of use.

Overall, this location was wonderful but not an experience for those looking for a cheap or quick turnaround.

Room Tip: Ask for access to the balcony overlooking the grounds opposite the entry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamSIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I have stayed several times over the years, it is a lovely hotel. This time, we had requested a nice room which they kindly gave us, also as it was my Wife's special birthday, they even kindly sent a delicious cake to the room. We had checked in 5pm in the afternoon. Next morning we are told we have to vacate the room by noon, bit strict, as we had not even had the room for that long, but if we wanted it longer a strange charge of "£10 per hour" would apply. I questioned this policy as we only needed an extra hour or so and was told the room was needed, strange as most of the hotel was checking out that day from a huge wedding the night before! Upon principle we said they can have the room back. Next the breakfast arrived, delivered by two nice lads, "fresh" orange juice wasn't fresh, we sat on the terrace as it was a gorgeous morning, yet the lads couldn't get the second breakfast tray through the door and left it inside the room for us to take up piecemeal, instead of them doing it. That was when we noticed the "swarm", the wasps were everywhere. Nobody's fault that, until we discovered there was a wasp's nest and they were "waiting" to have it deal with. We went to the downstairs terrace a bit later to read the papers, but, the wasps kept attacking. We ordered a light lunch but because of the wasps, we could not eat outside. We requested a table inside but were told as it was just past 2pm, we couldn't eat in the Orangerie because tea was being served at 3pm! I told the restaurant female manager that the whole art of the hotel and catering industry is to "accommodate" guest's requirements. which she chose to question why and wasn't really interested in what I had to say. She also said that there are wasps inside the restaurant which was of course madness. I am very disappointed with the general attitude of this hotel as it is a beautiful place and some of the staff are lovely, yet, I detect some strong management problems which do permeate into certain members of staff who prefer to follow hotel "policy" rather than please the guests!
We will return but prior to will list out our own requirements in advance, odd I know, but why should they win, we do like the place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I went yesterday with my husband for afternoon tea to celebrate our first wedding anniversary (we didn't stay at the hotel). We had phoned ahead so they knew it was a special occasion. We hadn't been before and were initially very impressed by the building - it really is stunning, as is the location.
We were seated in the Orangery right by the door so had waiters and customers constantly passing our table - no mention was made of our anniversary and they clearly had no record of it. The service was very poor - they forgot to bring my husband's tea, then every time we asked for anything else, they also forgot and we'd have to ask again. We got the impression that they were too busy and couldn't cope, and that the staff were just too inexperienced to deliver the kind of service we expected. We felt like we were an inconvenience.
Really not the experience were were hoping for - it was very disappointing.
We went for a walk around the extensive grounds afterwards and were surprised to find rubbish along the paths - the gardens really are quite neglected and it is such a shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenleyClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My review is based on a recent visit for lunch in the Orangery and a tour of the gardens. I did not stay in the hotel. The building itself has real Wow! factor. It is worth going just for the location. The drive up is superb. As a horticulturalist I was a little disappointed with the walk from the car park to the main door as the planting alongside the footpaths, which are most people's first impression of the place was very disappointing. However, when you go through the hotel to the gardens on the other side they certainly give a much better impression. Lots of topiary and the layout of former times, a lovely sunken garden with pond and interesting plant material. There is a walk way around the perimeter of the 65 acres which overlooks the river Thames at a very interesting point in the river. Worth it to sit there for a while and watch the boats from on high. The lunch in the Orangery was good. Choice of menu - set 2 or 3 course menu or a la carte. Modern cooking but the portions were very reasonable. Our table was glass with no cloth, and therefore see-through, so ladies remember that if you are wearing a short skirt! Service was attentive without being intrusive. It lacked atmosphere I think due to it being an Orangery and the layout is therefore long and thin and "echoed". It was certainly better when it was more full. I think it would be an excellent place for a special afternoon tea followed by a walk in the gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapunzelle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We attended the most beautiful wedding ever at Danesfield House, was very special and cannot be faulted. Aside from the wedding we were very disappointed with the hotel. We arrived on Friday and attended a group lunch of about 10, we all ate sandwiches and from the order each sandwich was not as described in the menu, missing a filling or something similar. We did complain and the chef disagreed with us saying he made to the description, but still made the new order and amazingly enough we received the order as per the menu description with a lot fuller sandwiches.
We ordered tea and biscuits for 3 people in our room and received half a pot of tea and 2 biscuits.
I ordered a family room as my daughter is 3 and explained this when booking. Our room was above the disco and was so loud that we all found it very difficult to get to sleep especially my daughter who was bridesmaid the next day. There wasn't another room to move to so we had to get to sleep as best we could.

The following morning when getting ready for the wedding when It can to getting ready there was no hot water whatsover for me to have a bath in (no shower in the room) I was offered another place for a shower but by the time this was offered to me I only have 40 mins to get ready for the wedding so had to deal with a cold bath.

The building and grounds of this hotel is stunning and the room decor was great and very comfortable. This is hotel isn't at all cheap and I expect a lot better standard for a hotel of this rating and price. Service needs to be maintained and improved at all times no matter how highly rated accommodation is and I feel that the staff at Danesfield are somewhat complacent and the service definately needs to be improved.

Would recommend for a wedding though as it is breathtaking, and they use outside planners hence why everything ran so smoothly and the standard of service was high.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent our anniversary at Danesfield and had no criticism of our time there.... except it lacked any real wow when compared to say Cliveden and others of the same ilk. The building is stunning and the welcome from reception was professional. We were upgraded to a 4 poster suite at the side of the terrace overlooking the Thames and the room was extremely comfortable, although the terrace being shared could have provided problems if we had let it.

The terrace is shared by about six rooms but there are only three tables and about six chairs. When we arrived a table and two chairs were directly outside our room and we had a drink on them before unpacking. The next thing we heard, through our open door onto the terrace, was one of our neighbours removing the table and chairs, without asking to be outside their room....too small an issue to get hot under the collar about but why not provide enough tables for all concerned?

We went a walk through the grounds and there were some beautiful trees and hedges but the gardens certainly needed some tender loving care and one of the wooden tables and chairs were literally rotting with damp and others metal ones were rusting. One got the impression of decaying splendour rather than chic.

On our return we had a drink in the bar and the service was excellent though a little languid, and this was the impression created throughout our stay. We were not concerned by this as we were in no hurry at all but if one were working to deadlines, it may have been a little frustrating.

In the evening we went to the Adam Simmonds restaurant which focused entirely on tasting menus.... fine if one were only there for an evening but no use for those staying much longer. The food and service were fine and beyond complaint, although again were not sensational or worthy of great enthusiasm and the wines chosen for each course were a bit disappointing being an average Chenin Blanc, and an average Austrian that I had never heard of and I can't remember the others, which rather speaks for itself.

We had a comfortable nights sleep (although there were a lot of mosquitos to contend with) and the reception and porterage on leaving was friendly and helpful. The cost of all of the above was considerable, when compared to similar level establishment and whilst having no gripes at all on the overall experience, I was left a little underwhelmed and had nothing to enthuse about. As such we will probably not return and prefer somewhere where the hotel and the dining experience give one more obvious pleasure and there is a bit more obvious pride in the environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StAlbansWilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
5.9 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
9.6 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Property: Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is an award-winning, luxury 4-star country house hotel located between the fashionable boutique shopping towns of Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in beautiful, rural Buckinghamshire. Privately owned, we represent a quintessentially British establishment overlooking acres of manicured gardens and the River Thames. Located near the M25, M4 and M40 motorways, just 45 minutes from the centre of London and 35 minutes from fashionable West London we are the ultimate Buckinghamshire Hotel to escape to. Each of the 86 rooms offers unique charm and character with the most enchanting traditional British interiors exquisitely combined with classical design. Our awards include: One Michelin Star awarded in Michelin Guide Great Britain and Ireland 2011AA, 4 Red Rosettes for Culinary Excellence, 12th Top UK Restaurant 2012 awarded by Good Food Guide 2012, Most Relaxing Spa UK 2011 awarded by Natural Health Magazine Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing