We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for relax and Coron wrecks diving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chindonan Dive Resort
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We came to Chindonan resort mostly for diving. We stayed there more than a week and dived every day. And it was really great. Resort is very close to the most of the Coron wrecks so it’s easy to be there very soon approx. within 20 minutes. So it’s not so much wasting time of the boat transfers. Diving was organized very well and dive guides have good knowledge of the wrecks so it was easy to swim around or to make penetration. There was always spare air tank at 5 meters for case of emergency (hopefully not needed) but it shows that the crew was professional. Nitrox 32% was available which is great especially for these wreck dives. Diving on surrounding reefs was also available including night dive at house reef – we made them too and the night dive was really great! Except diving, resort itself is really nice bungalows are spacious well-made and kept. They are quite separated from each other so it’s easy to get some privacy. Food was great and generally all stuff was nice and friendly. We’ve really enjoyed stay here and can recommend staying here – either for relax either for diving.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsmatCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 128 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

It was a real relief, that there were no mosquito's in the spacious and luxery rooms. You could drink the water from all taps, as they had there own mountain spring.
From the beach you could walk into the sea to the coral and snorkel, but there is so many colourfull coral in the area with all coral fish, turtles and even sting rays. After all activities it was a good place to stay with the helpfull Danish management and al kinds of friendly Philippine staff, who served you from early morning till after dinnertime, with good and fresh food in a great variety and home made bread. Three full days in a natural quiety. We loved it.
Cees and Theo, Weert, Holland.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceesentheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife, my little daughter and I stayed at Chindonan Island Resort for 4 nights over the New Year ś Eve and had very nice stay. The property is owned by Danish men Per and Per and Kenneth and these guys give the atmosphere to this place. Accommodation in deluxe cottages is nothing very special but the nature around is just funtastic. We did snorkelling every day as there is a 600 m long coral reef just infront of the resort and star fish, sea horses and many fish is matter of course. The price of the room includes breakfast and dinner and the food is very good and filling. Danish owners always did their best to fulfil all our wishes - THANK YOU Per and Per and Kenneth :). The only really negative thing I can say is that there is no proper beach belonging to the resort. I would recommend Chindonan resort to stay for all travellers who like privacy, nature and isolation from other tourists, it is definitely perfect place for divers. If you like nightlife, luxury and need airconditioning and hot water, do not go.

Room Tip: Book deluxe cottage, Nipa Hut is very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petr_Stich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a really nice time at Chindonan. The hosts were very friendly and chatty, and created a relaxed, sociable atmosphere. All transfers were included. Free rowing boat hire and snorkeling/diving equipment for rental at reasonable price. Bar/restaurant located on beautiful clear water with lots of marine life - easy fish-spotting. Quality snorkeling/diving on stunning reef. Can row over to tiny island for little snorkeling excursion. Half board with lunch/drinks at reasonable prices. Good evening meals. Breakfast a little basic for the price bracket. Would be nice to have more tropical fruit. Consider bringing snacks with you (and suncream/insect repellent) as shops not apparent. Free transport to/from airport a real plus point.
Overall a great place to enjoy a few tranquil days. Fantastic natural setting.

Room Tip: Recommend deluxe cottage as budget rooms look very basic for the money and do not have bathrooms. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was traveling with friends and most of them were first-timers to the Philippines. Many wanted to dive and be at a nice beach location for their holiday and we opted for Palawan - a bonus is that I'd never been so this was a great way to experience it for the first time. Upon doing all the research, Coron seemed the best choice, particularly for those of us who wanted to dive the World War II wrecks. I emailed a bunch of places in/around Coron and Chindonan was by far, the quickest and most helpful, with the quotes/amenities/etc.

The Dutch owners - Per and Per - are very friendly and accommodating. One of them greeted us at the port and escorted us to the resort on the bangka (local boat). It's a 40 minute ride out to Chindonan, but well worth it for the scenic view! Upon arrival at the resort, the helpful staff took all our bags up to the rooms and we were given a rundown of the place. It's a small, peaceful resort that is currently running on generators - so no power between 7-12 and 2-5. I thought this would be an issue, but it was no bother at all when you're snoozing by the beach, snorkeling, or diving. Some of the best diving in the country (shipwrecks) are minutes away and my friends who dove were always one of the first groups there vs. those who stayed in Coron town. In addition to diving, they also offer day tours to other islands.

The resort also sits on a set of mangroves (houses tons of fishies and seahorses) in it's own house reef. GREAT experience to slip on some flippers and a mask and immediately go for a snorkel after breakfast. I can understand why those looking for a white beach may be disappointed but the resort clearly advertises itself as a dive spot and you can hit the white beaches on a day trip. I don't dive and I still enjoyed every second of my stay. The rooms are spacious, clean. No A/C but the fan and sliding doors were enough to keep the room cool at night. Bathroom also good and water is provided by local spring. No need for bottled water since the water is THAT clean.

The added bonus to this place is the owners and their staff. They could never do enough for you and were always happy to help me and my group whenever we needed something.

I can't wait to bring my family there. Kudos to Chindonan! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vettievette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

As the slow outrigger boat approached the pier of the resort, after a one hour journey from Coron City, the first thing I said was: "where the h... is the beach"? The website displays a beautiful small beach with apparently white sand that is nowhere to be seen. At low tide, a little rocky brown beach emerges, but it does not resemble the website's picture even by far. Although the resort itself is nicely done, it has no allure other than the beautiful views.

I try to be as objective as possible in my reviews, in order to assist fellow travellers. There is no point at all to embark on a one-hour outrigger trip to this location if there is not even a beautiful beach to relax and swim. The floor of the ocean is not smooth and there are jellyfish and sea urchins, so careful if swimming.

On the positive side, the owners are very friendly, albeit surly. The Philippino staff is extremely nice and corteous, and the food included in the package (breakfast and dinner) is very good. The bungalows are nicely done and the views from the balconies are nice. However, as another reviewer pointed out, there is no much privacy as you share one structure with another bungalow, and for the price you pay you should have privacy.

The negatives are as follows: 1. the price- I am happy to pay a high price if I get real value for it. The standard rates are 3,800 pesos per person per night. This means that for a couple you pay 7,600 pesos, which is almost 200 USD. In the Philippines, this is a high price. The price does include the transportation from the airport by van and outrigger, which is a plus, but it requires a 2-night stay, which is a minus. 2.- There is nothing to do in the resort for 2 days,as there is no beach and there is no other place to go. The only thing to do is take a boat to go see some of the other islands (island-hopping), which is what most people arriving to Busuanga do. However, the one-day trip at the resort is priced at 5,000 pesos, which is almost twice the price of the same trip from Coron City. To make it worse, the price does not include food or drinks, so you need to buy a sandwhich for 200 pesos (5 USD), which is a ripoff. If you want to do some snorkeling you need to rent the mask and fins. The mask alone is 150 pesos (4 USD). Honestly, when you pay 5,000 (125 USD) for a day trip, the least they could do was to include the food and gear.

Thus, overall, there is little value for the price. My recommendation for travellers arriving to Busuanga would be to stay in Coron City, where you can sleep for 500 pesos and take day-trips from there at a fraction of the price. I hope this helps. I have seen some of the glorious reviews written by one-time contributors below and I cannot help but being suspicious...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Chindonan for 3 nights, and had a fantastic time. The Danish owners (Kenneth, Per & Co.) and the Philippino staff were amazing hosts, and the accommodations were beyond anything we could have imagined. Beautiful and well-designed cottages, perched on a the hill-side, overlooking the water facing Sangat Island. Hammocks all over the place, for reading books and enjoying a lazy afternoon with a freshly picked coconut. Doesn't get better than that!

The diving (and snorkelling): Awesome! Chindonan Island Resort & Divecenter collaborates with Sankat Island Dive Resort (which is 10 mins away by boat), and ALL of the sites you could possibly want to dive are right at your doorstep - Akutsishima, Morazan, Kogyo Maru, Irako, Okikawa, Sangat & Lusong Gunboats, to name a few. We were the first ones on the wrecks every morning, and at the end of the first dive, the boats from Coron were just arriving (~45 mins boat ride) - at which point we'd move onto the next wreck, which we'd have to ourselves... The snorkelling right off the resort is great, since they have their own unspoiled reef right off the jetty, where you can see tons of fish, including sea horses.

At Chindonan, you have the option to have your lunch back at the resort, gathering energy and excitement for your afternoon dive. This also gave me the option to join my wife for lunch, since she doesn't dive... at least not until she came to Chindonan. The amazing Jojo from Sangkat - a highly entertaining German, who has been living and diving in Palawan for longer that anyone cares to remember - took her on a Discover Scuba dive on the Sangat Gunboat wreck, and she absolutely loved it (thanks, Jojo & Chindonan crew).

Chindonan staff takes care of all your logistics (to and from the Busuanga airport), breakfast and dinner is included (it's all really good), and a banca (boat) is always waiting to take you where ever you want to go in the area, with great snorkelling equipment available. Make sure to go with Nick, a local staff member, who will show you the true meaning of freediving!

Best dive spot I've ever been to - both due to dive sites, as well as the accessability. Will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank viragodyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chindonan Island
12.4 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
224 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
379 reviews
18.3 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Busuanga Bay Lodge
Busuanga Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Concepcion
302 reviews
120.6 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
143.3 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chindonan Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chindonan Dive Resort

Address: | Coron Bay, Palawan Island 5315, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Culion > Chindonan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chindonan Island
Price Range: $111 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chindonan Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chindonan Island Resort & Divecenter is placed in center of this paradise, own marine protected house-reef in front of the resort, and Chindonan Divecenter has a unique location toward diving at the Famous WWII Wrecks of Coron Bay. Restaurant & Bar on columns in the water and hammocks under palm trees – indulge for true leisure! Hillside DeLuxe Cottages, located at different levels in the scenic area facing Coron Bay. Rooms with large double-bed or two single and space for extra bed, bathroom and walk-in closet. Budget Huts made in native materials, with same beautiful view as the Cottages. All rooms are equipped with electric fans and the Resort has its own drinkable natural spring-water from all taps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chindonan Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing