We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again ...”
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
Ranked #90 of 148 Restaurants in Westland
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never Again ...”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've eaten here several times, most recently during Christmas Shopping at Westland Mall.

The food is Golden Corral food, nothing spectacular but you can eat in a hurry and leave.

I've recently discovered that this restaurant is being charged with failure to comply with Americans With Disabilities Act in Federal Court. How cruel.

The following will better describe the ordeal:

http://www.detroitnews.com/article/20130220/METRO01/302200406/Restaurant-sued-allegedly-throwing-out-kids-rare-skin-disorder?odyssey=tab|topnews|text|FRONTPAGE

A buffet restaurant that wants to pick and choose who deserves to eat will get no further business from me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    11
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Have been here numerous times. They are consistent. Good food at a good price. This place used to be better but they have changed. Not necessilary worse but not improved much. Always busy which is good. Expect a long line on weekends at lunch time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tb1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Mi
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Food OK, Atmosphere horrible”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you can get past the depressing atmosphere (read: clientele), the food is OK.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishAyes8490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I LOVE THIS PLACE”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I love to eat here, if I was not watching my weight i would eat here every day. The steak on the grill is very good, the chicken is some of the best i have had, and the salad bar is outstanding. I love all their soups especially the clam chowder. You cant beat there desert bar, they have bread pudding, pies, cakes, cup cakes. cookies. ice cream and they even have a ligiud chocolate tower that you can dip your strawberries in for chocolate covered strawberries, hmmm so good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, ontario, canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definitely not golden. More of a trough.”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

OK. So, this is a buffet chain. Warning! Red lights should be going off, sirens flashing. Usually you have a cattle herd trying to push shove and fight their way in to the place as the livestock line up to get to the food. I have seen serious attitudes by numerous local residents go ape over getting in and getting a table. The management doesn't help the situation. The food is all buffet style, the place is usually littered with spilled food on the floors and serving areas, the tables are sticky, the wait staff are running around trying to serve a demanding and rude crowd, and obviously don't get paid or tipped enough. If you are looking for a place to go and 'feed' for a couple hours, this is the place for you. Not for me.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevegreen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing