We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what you get”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in West Branch
Certificate of Excellence
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
378 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We ended up here during a drive from Detroit to Sault Sainte Marie and saw few other choices. We paid $94, plus tax, and that was a special Sunday rate. It's a basic hotel with interior corridors, but no elevator. To get to our room we had to go in a back door (using our room card), and go up a long flight of stairs and a shorter second flight. Tiring with heavy bags. Unlike the last Quality Inn we had stayed at, no breakfat was included. We ate at the Lumberjack restaurant in the building. There is also a fast food place almost next door. The fact that the Lumberjack's gift shop is better than that of a Cracker Barrel (mentioned in an earier reiew) would not bring me back. There are some outlet shops almost next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
39
37
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kentucky USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is one great hotel. The rooms are comfortable. The beds are devine and the rooms are really nicely decorated. The hotel connects to the Lumberjack restaurant which is really good. Also there is a great gift shop on the premises. Adjacent to the hotel is the Tanger Outlet. This is a great location to sleep at, eat at and shop at. Hurrah for perfection at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronandlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Nice , clean, good location but don't get inside room. The in side rooms surround the pool and rec. area and the noise will keep you awake way past mid night. We stayed here on a Sat. night. The unsupervised rug rats ran up and down the halls well past mid night. Every time a door is closed it will rattle your teeth. No amount of complaining stopped it. At check out we received half off our room.
Breakfast is not free.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dairyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is an exceptionally nice Quality Inn. The up north decor is really well done. My room was spacious and very clean. The hotel is next to a number of outlet stores and there are a few restaurants. The hotel restaurant had an excellent menu for dinner and breakfast was fast and good.

My room overlooked an indoor pool area. It was empty for most of my stay, but I could see how that are would get loud on occasion. So keep this in mind if you are planning to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brauntosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Lovely! Rustic, clean, has a wonderful restaurant adjoined featuring Michigan Beers.
No breakfast with the price of the room.....A beautiful pool area with balconies and room overlooking the pool. We had a large family event and had about 10 rooms. We were able to gather in the pool area and have a meet and greet and there was plenty of room so that we didn't impose on anyone else.

Room Tip: 2nd floor balcony rooms and 1st floor to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathybliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

The hotel has wonderful decorations relating to the logging area. We loved wondering around looking at them. We had a room right on the pool area, which turned out to be more of a bar/game room area. We refused to swim with a bunch of guys sitting around drinking. They shut it down at 11 pm, which they then turn the party into their rooms which is even louder. The walls are so thin, we could hear every move, sound or bodily noise made. There is always some conference going on and this weekend there was a jeep party. Doors slammed all night long and people partied in the hallways. The next night the people in the next room had birthday party for a bunch of kids. They screamed for over 5 hours straight, well into after midnight. At the same time, the jeep people started their party in the room on the other side. We had to turn the TV up so loud just to drown out all the noise! We came to relax and barely got any sleep. My husband and I were so irritable from all the constant noise we couldn't wait to leave. The hotel needs to update sound controls on all the rooms. The hotel is wonderful if you love noise, or can remove your hearing aids. The hotel has wonderful qualities, but I am rating it low because of the noise. Do not come here for quiet. We will not be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The room was large but the bathroom was very small. The air conditioner was positioned (as in many hotels) under the curtains and blew the fresh air directly up into them. This caused the air conditioner to constantly kick on and off while the room remained stuffy until I tied the curtains in a manner to prevent this. There was no breakfast included in the price of the room and don't understand why they charged an extra $40 for two extra people. The room already had 4 sets of towels and two double beds. The price of this hotel was higher than others in the area, as it was, and we only stayed there because the others were already booked for the night. I can see why this one filled up last.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art-n-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Branch
22.4 mi away
Standish Motel
Standish Motel
#2 of 2 in Standish
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 West Branch
Super 8 West Branch
#1 of 3 in West Branch
412 reviews
22.6 mi away
No photo provided
In Town Inn
#1 of 2 in Standish
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 2980 Cook Rd, West Branch, MI 48661-9338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > West Branch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in West Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel West Branch
Quality Inn West Branch
West Branch Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing