We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent.”

Shangri-la Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 108 Restaurants in West Bloomfield
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistent.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

A great place for hong gong style dumdum in carts. If not available, they will order it from the kitchen. The wait staff has always stopped to check, same with the owners. Have been going here for years and have been consistently busy with Asian Americans customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bldeveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    28
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dim sum!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great place for dim sum. I haven't tried any of the other cuisine. Service was great.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Particularly good at lunch”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Shangri La is a good, not overwhelming Chinese restaurant. But they have dim sum every day at lunch. We used to go all the way to Windsor, Canada for good dim sum. . .now just go around the corner to Shangri La.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anitaowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield Township, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Decent food...when your order is correct”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I have dined in at this restaurant once and ordered carry-out several times. Our dine-in experience was good. The food is decent; nothing spectacular, but good. In the last several months, we've been experiencing difficulty receiving our correct orders. Usually the problems relate to the soups. We order one size and receive another or we order 2 and receive 1. It's very frustrating and we may not order from there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inconogindian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Several years ago, we visited the Middlebelt location had found it mediocre. We were persuaded to visit the Detroit location for a pre-concert dinner by work colleagues and found it quite good. For sushi, stick to a Japanese resto, but the Chinese fare was great. We enjoyed the eggpalnt with shrimppaste, garlic pea shoots, and almond chicken. The Hot & Sour soup was sharp and outstanding. The service people ran to keep up with the crowd--there were no empty tables at 6:00pm on Saturday (unusual for Detroit.) Diverse crowd, including many Asian students. We will go again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangri-la Chinese Restaurant also viewed

West Bloomfield, MI
Farmington Hills, MI
 
West Bloomfield, MI
Orchard Lake, MI
 

Been to Shangri-la Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing