We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite”

Trini & Carmens Waterford
Ranked #48 of 155 Restaurants in Waterford
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Have gone here for decades, and never had a bad meal. The place to go for real Mexican cooking.

Helpful?
Thank KenJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    8
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Trini and Carmens has always been my favorite Mexican restaurant. Fortunately it is just around the corner so I don't have to travel far to get there. Staff is pleasant and food is great.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VALLINO46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
“Worst service EVER!”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We had a party of 9 for a birthday lunch and should have known things would go bad when they gave us a newbie waitress. Either she doesn't know how to write, or the cooks don't know how to read because only a few of the orders came out right. One of my coworkers was charged for the cheese that they put on top of her lunch without her actually asking for it in the first place. Another was told that her meal wasn't supposed to contain cheese, when the person sitting next to her had the same exact dish with cheese in it! The birthday person had to get her lunch to go because it hadn't come out an HOUR later! Supposedly the owner himself was making her lunch...how long does it actually take to make a beef & bean nacho?!? He then had the gall to justify the bad service by accusing someone in our party of disrespecting the waitress, but wouldn't say who or how that occurred. He acted like he was doing a huge favor by comping the birthday person's lunch, but then made up that "hardship" by not giving us the County Employee discount that they advertise. You couldn't pay me to go back to that dump again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HLMas0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but a good Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We first went to Trini and Carmen's last summer, and we generally go every couple of months or so. It is your standard kind of Mexican food, but it tastes really good and the portions are huge. I like the homemade chips and salsa too.
The atmosphere/decor is not my favorite. It's kind of dark and is decorated with what reminds me of run-of-the-mill tourist souveniers from Mexico. There are two sides of the dining room, and one side has windows and is brighter, but the other side seems a little nicer to me.
The service can be really attentive, friendly and fast or it can be kind of average and slow, depending on who you get.
But mostly, we end up getting a carry out. We've never had a problem with getting our order wrong or getting poor quality food.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeroicPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, mich
Level Contributor
114 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK- still here decnt food”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Went on a saturday at lunch ( I was working nearby and tired of fast food). Menus was standard menu, ordered beef enchiladas. Nothing special but OK. Service was not that the fastest, honestly I think there are better places around.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avalonandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trini & Carmens Waterford also viewed

 

Been to Trini & Carmens Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing