We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager was rude, toilet leaked, bathroom mildew and housekeeping doesn't clean well.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Warren
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Warren
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hawthorn Suites problem 1) spoke to manager Heather who was extremely rude as other post have mentioned and needs customer service training or they need new management 2) as other post mentioned our toilet backed up over the weekend and yes they do not have maintenance over the weekend...3) Housekeeping does as little as possible to clean...as little as possible 4) Food was not that good and they don't even make sure its enough for all guest, once its out its out.....horrible i would never ever ever stay at this place again. Oh I forgot to mention big ole rats hung out near the pool area, are you kidding me, not mice, rats...do yourself a favor and don't stay at this hotel. All management is going to do is provide a very vague response to say were working on these issues as they've done in other post I've read. WORST HOTEL EVER. Hawthrone corporate should be ashamed of themselves they didn't even follow back up with us, corporate not the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Kharisman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 462 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
48093HAWTHORN, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Warren, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Checked in around 6:00 pm, and was greeted with a friendly smile. Check in went smooth, and the room was really nice. Some other reviews complained of noise, but i didn't experience any of that.also liked that i didn't have to check outuntil noon, instead of 10 or 11 like some other hotels. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
48093HAWTHORN, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Warren, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff is always ready and wiling to provide great service to all of our guests starting at check in to check out. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Amazing how people can look at the same thing and see different things. I read reviews about the Manager being rude, my experience was that she was extremely pleasant a very helpful!! Also read about trash on the property, I didn’t even see a cigarette butt on the grounds. The other review that had me concerned was that the property was outdated, well that one is true the property is slightly dated but not like tacky 60”s – 70’s dated more like 80 – 90’s dated that being said the room I had has been well maintained and is clean. I travel ~ 200 days a year and see a lot of hotels the cable package here is above average, most hotels have opted for a trimmed down package of ~ 10-12 channels here has a good variety channels. All in all I think the place is a great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
48093HAWTHORN, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Warren, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

The entire staff at the Hawthorn Suites of Warren extends the utmost gratitude for the wonderful review. It is a team effort to keep the entire property in good shape and it is very gratifying to have that recognized by our guests. There are definitely future plans for property renovations where we look forward to providing a better Hawthorn Suites. We hope to serve you again for your future trips to the Warren area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
48093HAWTHORN, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Warren, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Sunshine R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
48093HAWTHORN, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Warren, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were set for a two night stay. Friends were down the hall and we had Tigers tickets for Labor Day weekend.

Problem number one was upon arrival about 7pm, the rate didnt match the printed confirmation. However, that got sorted out after some fuss. Then the real fun started. We booked a king suite. The room was quite nice. Except the toilet backed up. And they don't have maintenance after 4pm. Or a plumber on call. The front desk offered to allow me to use a plunger. He actually delivered it! Didnt work anyway. We changed rooms.

Room number 2 was just as nice as room number 1. Except for the incessantly barking dog next door. It's owners left for the night. We insisted on another room. We were given a king deluxe suite, at no extra charge (not like we asked!) It wasnt as well appointed as the first two but was larger and with a fireplace, except it was August...once again the toilet didnt work.

Somewhere we discovered their septic tank wasn't working properly. Ugh and eew!

Finally on the 4th try we got a serviceable room. It was now 11:30. In the morning we discovered all sorts of hair on the walls of the bathroom.

I'm done with the Wyndham family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
48093HAWTHORN, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Warren, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very sorry to hear of the numerous issues you experienced and that your situation escalated to the point that it did. This is definitely not the quality nor service you would expect from any Wyndham property. The staff has been retrained on proper procedures for any future issues such as yours. The property definitely has emergency maintenance if the situation calls for it; as in your case. I once again apologize on behalf of the entire staff and hope you can reconsider your feelings about the Wyndham family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warren hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Warren
Comfort Inn Warren
#3 of 18 in Warren
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites Detroit Warren Tech Center
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warren MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Warren
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit/Warren
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Detroit Warren
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Warren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Warren

Address: 30180 N Civic Center Blvd, Warren, MI 48093-6730 (Formerly Homewood Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Warren
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Warren
Price Range: $92 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Warren 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Warren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Detroit Warren Hotel Warren
Hawthorn Suites Warren
Warren Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing