We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a few major weaknesses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Detroit Warren
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Warren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel has an inauspicious first glance. It's supposed to be a somewhat nicer hotel, but it's got an old design with a number of buildings interconnected by walkways and the lobby is a bit smaller. It doesn't look particularly nice. You're in for a surprise, however, when you walk into your room - suddenly you're in a different world. The rooms are very nice - not large, but plenty for a hotel room. The mini-kitchen is great and very useful, and the rooms are nicely furnished.

This hotel is clearly geared toward long-term guests, but short-term travelers will be very pleased as well. The breakfast is well above average. If you're staying with a group, you'll be dismayed if you're all staying in different buildings - the walk from room to room can be rather lengthy, and more than a bit unpleasant if the weather isn't nice. The biggest negative for me, however, was the quality of the bed. The bed itself wasn't bad, but the pillows were possibly the worst I've ever experienced in a hotel. They look enticing until you lay your head on one, and it immediately sinks to become paper-thin. My wife and I both tossed and turned our first night, awaking with neck and upper-back pain. The second night I found out that the pillowcase fit over the smallest sofa pillow. That proved much better. Until they provide different or at least a variety of pillows in the room, don't expect a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a group, make SURE your rooms are close. The walk from room to room is len...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked a room for myself and 2 children for the last weekend of spring break to catch a Tiger's game and a few fun things for the kids to do in Detroit.

Was a little nervous about how good the room could be for $71/night (AAA rate), when other hotels in the area were twice that and hotels in downtown Detroit for WAY more. I'm quite fussy about cleanliness, especially in a hotel. Turns out I had nothing to worry about! This was a great choice.

The room was basically studio apartment, dived into 4 rooms. The living room had a desk, pull-out sofa, chair/ottoman, coffee table and flat-screen TV. The bedroom had a queen sized bed, 2 nightstand dressers, a large dresser and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was standard with a tub/shower. The kitchen had a fridge/freezer (with icemaker), microwave, mini dishwasher, 2-burner stovetop and a sink.

I found the room to be very clean. The bed was very comfortable as was the pull-out sofa my son slept on. We did have to call the front desk for extra sheets, but that was not an issue. The kitchen was well equipped with dishes, utensils, pots and pans and other small appliances. We ate one meal in the room on the first night and everything worked great.

The bathroom was clean as were the linens. The room has it's own 40-gallon water heater, so we did have to make sure to leave hot water for the next person. The shampoo/conditioner supplied worried me at first because it was small, but when I saw that it was Paul Mitchell, I was more than excited! :)

Having 2 nice TV's was a bonus. My kids were able to watch their show in the bedroom while I watched TV in the living room. The channel lineup wasn't great. Not many kids stations, and some of the higher channel weren't working (satellite issues).

If I had to choose something to complain about, it would be the windows and the wifi. The windows were dirty on the outside making it difficult to see. And at night, the wind made a vibrating sound that was slightly irritating. The wifi connection was HORRIBLE. For an additional $4.95/day, you could pay for their better wifi, which irritated me when they clearly advertise "free in-room high speed internet access".

The staff was friendly and helpful when I was originally lost/confused finding the room. This is an exterior cooridor hotel with 3 floors, most of which are entered through a courtyard in the center of the hotel. The complimentary hot breakfast served downstairs was quite good and turned out to have different options on both mornings. Lots of options for hot and cold breakfast.

There were plenty of great options for food and grocery in the area, though you can easily tell this is a business location. Found a Wal-Mart nearby. Ate at a newer Hibachi Buffet. Saw an Olive Garden and a Joe's Crab shack on our way to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracereyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We just spent 3 weeks here and had a very positive experience. Agree with the other comments here, that the exterior needs some work. However the rooms are nice. The staff at the front desk are really friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff do a really great job as well. There is a small, but well maintained fitness room. Bring your own earbuds for the built in TVs on the exercise equipment. Our room had a fireplace, which was great in Michigan winter. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank GraceM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_WARREN_GM, Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Warren, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of the Residence Inn. I wanted to let you know that the hotel is going through a renovation at the moment and by the end of April the rooms and lobby area will be redone. The exterior of the property is getting some work done as well. While the entire exterior will not be paint in 2013, there will be many projects that will enhance the property. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Please let me know if I can assist you with anything.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The staff is very helpful and friendly. The hotel offers free breakfast every morning to include cereal, waffles, eggs, hashbrowns, bagels, fruit, etc. Nice! Also, several nights a week they have a managers social with food. Enough here to have dinner! Have stayed here several times. Great place. Nothing fancy, but clean and good service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVANNA92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very nice hotel with a fantastic pleassant staff. The hotel was a little difficult to navigate but the front desk staff was outstanding as well as the breakfast. They ran out of pillows and blankets.
The rooms were very nice and clean and roomy. Could have used more towels and shampoo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryk2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I needed to stay in Warren, Michigan for my Mom's funeral 9/8/12 thru 9/12/12. Wanted to leave a review of the hotel. The staff here has been super, the room was clean, the breakfast's were good & tastey. We would highly recommend the Residence Inn here in Warren any time. It is the one across from the GM Tech Center.

Room Tip: We have been on the first floor but am sure the other floors are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Chose to stay here based on other positive reviews while researching for a hotel in this area. The rooms are very nice! Better than expected to be honest. The exterior is another story. We used the steps which are located outside to get to our room. The paint was chipping on the steps and there were cigarette butts near each floors steps. The continental breakfast was above and beyond what we expected. Many different choices and something for everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warren hotels
0.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Warren
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Warren
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Warren
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites Detroit Warren Tech Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Warren
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Warren
Comfort Inn Warren
#3 of 19 in Warren
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Detroit Warren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Detroit Warren

Address: 30120 N Civic Center Blvd, Warren, MI 48093-6730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Warren
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Warren
Price Range: $107 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Detroit Warren 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extended-stay experience has been perfected at our Warren Michigan Marriott hotel. In Warren MI during your stay with us, the comforts of home are combined with our passion for making every guest feel welcome. The 132 spacious 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom suites of this hotel in Warren, MI, offer separate living and sleeping areas, and a fully-equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Plenty of room to roam is available in the Residence Inn Warren hotel suites - perfect for entertaining, meeting with colleagues, or relaxing after a long day. Sleep soundly on our new, plush bedding, then wake up daily with our complimentary breakfast in our Gatehouse, featuring a variety of hot and cold items to energize your day. During the week, join us for light fare at our evening social. The Residence Inn hotel near Sterling Heights, MI is an excellent choice for extended business or pleasure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Detroit Warren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Warren
Warren Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing