We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast Food Chicken”
Review of Chicken Shack

Chicken Shack
Ranked #28 of 264 Restaurants in Warren
Restaurant details
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fast Food Chicken”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Sometimes when I go to the assisted living place to visit an old old friend I will pick her up dinner from Chicken Shack because it is on the way to the HOME! She loves loves loves the cole slaw so I usually buy her a large cole slaw and just 2 pieces of chicken.

The restaurant is a fast food chicken place, but it does have ribs and pork chops as well. One of these days I will order pork chops because she loves them, but I think the price for the pork chops is a little much. Went here yesterday and called beforehand and when I got there I drove up to the window and the food was ready. No complaints from my old old friend, so I guess the food is decent. And, I will go back for my friend to eat different food than what the home gives her! The inside is just meh!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
156 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in while in the area. Tried another location and was really good so I thought I would try this location and it was really good. I have only tried the English Cod dinner but it is always good. See the picture I have added.

Helpful?
Thank Wolfmankev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
772 reviews
461 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Really good broasted chicken and potatoes.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a fast food setup with indoor seating. The chicken is broasted and the potatoes are broasted and then fried, just in case you were wondering. I asked when I was finished eating my meal because I was curious as well. I read about this place on Trip Advisor during my search for fried chicken. I ordered two white meat breasts, potatoes, dinner roll and a large drink. The total bill was around $11.00. The breading on the chicken was cooked perfectly and tasted very good. The meat inside was cooked perfectly, juicy and tasted awesome. The potatoes had a somewhat crunchy outside with a softer inside and also tasted yummy. I was in the mood for some tasty fried chicken this day, but instead ate some very yummy broasted chicken. No complaints here. Their menu has a lot more items to offer so I guess I will just have to go back someday and try some more. I spotted what appears to be a catering trailer outside as well. Several people were coming in and picking up large order that they had phoned in earlier.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Must Try!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I rode with my husband in his Semi from Tennessee to Warren Michigan just to eat here it's the best potatoes I've even had...not to mention the chicken ...it's worth the 9 hr ride

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barnett19777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Above average fried chicken”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I'm not sure if they pressure fry or simply deep fry their chicken, but they do a great job of getting the meat hot and juicy without overcooking the breading. That feature alone puts Chicken Shack ahead of several other fried chicken chains in my book.

You should know that the breading is not heavily seasoned (my dining companions added hot sauce). The broasted potatoes were a pleasant change from french fries, and were smothered in butter. The cole slaw was finely minced and sweet, the way I like it.

Bottom line: I'll gladly return when I'm in the mood for fried chicken.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken Shack also viewed

 

Been to Chicken Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing