We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
165
3
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
3
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel northern michigan boutique hotel coffee machine the entire staff beautiful lake turn down service stayed longer hotel bar common areas light breakfast top notch in every way bottled water bay harbor hotel staff entire weekend celebrate our anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 170 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2017

This hotel is a real gem, great staff, great location, great facilities and a great view. Hotel is immaculately presented, staff are courteous, worth paying for a high floor lake view room to take in the breathtaking view of Walloon Lake. Sunset was amazing when we were there, one of the best we've seen. Small beach area with plenty of comfortable loungers and seating. Worth eating at Barrel Back next door, food was fantastic and good choice available. Made good use of fitness and billiard rooms but didn't get to try out the spa this time. Would highly recommend this hotel as it is well placed for exploring the local area with local small cities of Charlevoix and Petoskey both worth a visit.

Room tip: Top floor (3rd) with Lake view is well worth the extra money!
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beeskneesbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWalloon1, General Manager at Hotel Walloon, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Thank you for sharing such nice comments about your stay at Hotel Walloon. I would agree, the view from our patio or one of our lakeside rooms when the sun goes down is simply beautiful. I'm so glad you were able to experience all that Hotel Walloon has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Northern Michigan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017

Hotel is top notch, welcoming, friendly, helpful, clean, great location. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family traveling in northern Michigan. It is on the high end of scale for room prices.

Room tip: You pay for a view just like any other hotel, water side or street side.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank usa499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWalloon1, General Manager at Hotel Walloon, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Thank you for sharing such nice feedback from your recent stay at Hotel Walloon. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Northern Michigan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017

We spent one night here and had an amazing visit. The attention to detail is what makes this place special. Umbrellas are available for use by guests, they provide a gluten free option in the morning as one of the scones available. When we went to use the hot tub, front desk staff put out towels and bottled water. We received a call a few days ahead of our stay and an offer to make dinner reservations for wherever we wished to eat in the area.
People staying at the hotel were very friendly as we interacted with others in the bar area in the early evening .
A family gathering feel to the place . We will be returning. Be sure to use the stairs one time and see all the amazing mirror collection on the walls!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandPLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWalloon1, General Manager at Hotel Walloon, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2017

I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at Hotel Walloon and all of our amenities. The mirrored hallway is one of the many highlights at the hotel, thank you for mentioning it on your survey. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Northern Michigan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

Our room was large, bright and airy. It was so comfortable it felt like home. Matt the bartender was very entertaining and knowledgeable!! We are motorcycle enthusiasts, the staff made us feel very welcome.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWalloon1, General Manager at Hotel Walloon, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Thank you for sharing such nice thoughts about your stay at Hotel Walloon. I will let Matt know you enjoyed his personalized service. Safe travels while riding on your bikes. We look forward to having you back in Northern Michigan soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017

This Hotel was constructed to fit into the history of Walloon Lake and the many stories of the Ernest Hemmingway Family era there. We were impressed with the detail and quality of entire Hotel. You couldn't ask for a more gracious and helpful staff. All during the day "Frankie" the multiservice coffee machine was available with all sorts of goodies to go with it. Chocolates and nuts for snacking were always available. I loved the covered porches with huge white rocking chairs! It is near many outdoor activities which the staff provides info on. We hope to return for a longer visit next time. One more thing...this hotel has Alexis!

Room tip: . The cottage view allows one to view activities down in the streets, Lake view is amazing!.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 327mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWalloon1, General Manager at Hotel Walloon, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of our property. I'm so glad you enjoyed our staff as well as some of our amenities. We look forward to your return to Hotel Walloon and Northern Michigan. A rocking chair will be waiting for you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews