We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday carvery”

The Old Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Croft
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This charming country inn is a listed building and is said to be the oldest pub in Lincolnshire. The Inn is surrounded by rolling Lincolnshire countryside and overlooks Lymn brook. It’s certainly a pretty spot to enjoy a drink (there is always at least two Batemans beers on draught, along with a good selection of wines, gins etc) or a pub meal either inside or on warmer days there is plenty of garden space. The pub is dog friendly Adjacent to the pub is The Sunset Brook Caravan Park
Reviewed May 5, 2019

We visited the pub for Sunday carvery, What beautiful food, the meat was plentiful and beautifully cooked, all the vegetables were fresh and were cooked to perfection. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal well worth the money, in fact we though it was the best carvery we had eaten in any pub. I would highly recommend a visit. We have been on two separate weeks and it was equally as good on both occasions. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julieannburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans1874, Owner at The Old Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear Julie

We are delighted you have enjoyed the Old Chequer's Sunday carvery on a couple of occasions and then for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

Your comments are very much appreciated - a great boost for the team.

We hope to see you for your third visit before too long.

Best wishes
Jaclyn Bateman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 172 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

We were staying in a holiday cottage nearby to Old Chequers Inn and went in for a meal on the Saturday night. Food was absolutely excellent, my partner had steak which came on the hot rock and he loved it - said it was one of the best steaks he’d had. Was so good, we went back another three times over our weeks holiday! Friendly, welcoming staff, good prices, amazing choice of food and such good value! Would not hesitate to recommend.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank TanyaB2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

Decided to give this place a try as it is somewhere we used to visit frequently five or more years ago. We were pleasantly surprised as the place looked lovely having been decorated The gentleman who served us was very pleasant and the food was excellent. We both chose the home made beef pie which we both really enjoyed. It is dog friendly and there were two dogs in there who were very well behaved and everyone was happy and friendly. Would definitely go back again to try something else.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

Just been refurbished looks great service was really good meal was beautiful tasty hot and plenty of it

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank chrissyh2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans1874, Owner at The Old Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Thank you very much for choosing the Old Chequers for the Birthday meal and then for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor your comments are very much appreciated.

I am delighted you enjoyed your meal and like the refurbishment.

Hope to see you again before too long

Best wishes
Jaclyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019

Although when we booked a table for six there was no one else booked in we were put on a table for four in a corner of the bar luckily for us one of our party couldn't make it or it would have been a real squash - 3 of us ordered the steak & I ordered lamb with extra battered onion rings which were lovely but along with the chips was cold by the time the lamb had cooked on the rock it was advertised as being served with mint & redcurrant jelly which I had to ask for and came in a bowl with no spoon to serve it with - the staff seemed under pressure & customer service wasn't good after the whole experience we left the pub covered in fat splatters and our clothes smelling like a kebab shop

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahredmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Chequers Inn also viewed

Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
 
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
 

Been to The Old Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing