We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed...wouldn't stay again.”
Review of Comfort Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Utica
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because it was the hotel chosen by the Bride and Groom. They arranged to have a shuttle take hotel guests to the wedding venue and back (from this hotel only). Not being from the area and knowing that the venue was a good 20-25 minute drive we opted for the shuttle. The room was not anything special at all. I think that the nicest feature was the extra large flat screen. My husband was pleased with the television. The bathroom was a little sad. The sink was really low...it was weird. The shower needs to be torn out and replaced. There were large cracks in the shower and the non-slip textured surface was black...and to get hot water you had to turn the faucet to the cold water side...and visa versa. We were in room 112...on the first floor. I listened to people walking around upstairs all morning. I also, woke up to someone vaccuming at about 8am on a Saturday morning. I did venture down to get some breakfast and that is always a plus. But I wouldn't stay here again...while the staff were friendly, it just isn't a place I would stay especially with my kids.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, otherwise you will listen to people walking around on the floors above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momma22boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 225 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

After my TERRIBLE!!! stay at the hawthorn inn suites in warren, mi for a half a day....Perfect hotel for our needs. We were only staying a night or two but stay a week. We had never been to the area before. Staff was very friendly with recommendations of great places to go and see. Location was great.. Room was spacious with a pretty comfortable big bed. An enormous clean bathroom was nice to have as well. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others as well back home.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegasbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

This was our first time staying in a Comfort Inn and what a pleasant surprise it was! This really is a hidden gem (especially for the price)! It has been renovated and the room was great. We also had a AAA card and received an additional discount so we pretty much got a king size standard room with a jacuzzi for the price of a standard room. The living quarters were large, nice big screen TV, and that tub was worth the stay in itself! It is kind of neat how it is connected to the bathroom and main room. All you have to do is pull the curtain on either side for privacy. We did not get to take advantage of the free breakfast, but they did have a continental breakfast in the morning. The wifi was good and the location is great...close to 2 freeways and not far from the mall and restaurants and downtown Utica.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silver_Cat05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This was a nice comfort inn, almost comparable to a comfort suites. It is clean with a lot of space. The staff was friendly and always around if you have questions or need directions. The fitness area was nice with multiple cardio options and a good tv to use.
The breakfast was typical continental with addition of hot waffles. Coffee is available all day which was a great treat after a long day of traveling. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we appreciate your wonderful comments. The Comfort Inn Utica recenlty completed an extensive remodel of the hotel and the feedback from guests has been fantastic. The hotel's staff prides itself on exceptional customer service and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Utica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The hotel is clean-the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Lots of restaurants and shopping close by.
This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in this price range. I definately would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

We thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Comfort Inn Utica. The hotel recently completed an extensive remodel including the beds and it's great to hear such positive feedback. Our friendly staff appreciates your compliments and we look forward to your next stay when visiting Utica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding. The room was very clean, spacious, had a flat screen tv, and included a mini fridge. The staff was very helpful. At first we were mistakenly put in a smoking room and the front was quickly corrected it and put us in a non-smoking room. There was a good selection of food for breakfast.

The hotel included a shuttle to the wedding. The last shuttle was supposed to pick up at 4:30. We went to catch the shuttle at 4:15 and were told it left about 5 minutes ago and wasn't coming back. This was frustrating and we ended up having to drive to the wedding.

There is not a whole lot of parking in front of the hotel, which means you have to park in the back or on the side. The back and sides were not as well lit as the front and the entrance was not easily accessible.

Overall, the hotel is a good bargain for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tappin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

I stayed at this hotel at the end of Aug 2009 with my Mom and my sister, and we were very pleased with it. I booked it mainly because the previous reviews I read said it was very clean and had a great free breakfast, and it lived up to the reviews. The room was a good size, the beds were very comfortable, and everything in the room, including the linens, the carpet, and the bathroom, was very clean and appeared fairly new. There was a separate little sink area with a mirror (although not great lighting), as well as mirrored closet doors, which were helpful for doing make-up etc. when someone else was in the bathroom. The free breakfast in the morning was exceptional. Great variety to choose from, including coffee, tea, apple, orange and cranberry juice, milk, cereal, fruit, yogurt, bagels, doughnuts, cheese omelettes (very clever), and waffles that you can make yourself. There was really something for everyone, and it really was as good as all the reviews said it was. I also noticed there was a computer in the lobby, which I imagine could be used to check in for flights and print boarding passes, although we did not need these services on this trip, that would be very handy if needed. The only thing I could have asked for was I wish the rooms had a microwave and a fridge, but I knew that when I booked it, so no big deal. Overall I would give this hotel an A+!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
1.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterli...
#4 of 7 in Sterling Heights
104 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Utica

Address: 11401 Hall Rd, Utica, MI 48317-5900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Price Range: $74 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 10 Time Platinum & Gold Award Winning Comfort Inn of Utica offers guests Exceptional Quality and Service. Guests will enjoy Free WiFi throughout the hotel and premium cable television with 122 channels of premium in-room entertainment including 88 High Definition channels plus HBO & Cinemax. All Guest Rooms feature 42' Flat Panel LED TV's, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, and more. 70% Of Guest Rooms offer Microwave & Refrigerator's for your added convenience. 24 Hr Fitness Center and In-Room Whirlpools add to your relaxation. The Comfort Inn Cafe offer's Free Hot Buffet Breakfast featuring a rotating menu of Eggs, Ham, Bacon, Sausage, Hash Browns, Biscuits & Gravy, Yogurt, Fresh Seansonal Fruits, Hot & Cold Cereals and much more including your choice of Warm Freshly Made Waffles. The Lobby Business Center is available 24 hrs a day for our guests. Be sure to take advantage of the hotel's on-site Conference Room and Business Services. Join us every Tuesday for our complimentary guest reception. Located near all Detroit area attractions as well as World Class shopping. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to a wide selection of corporations, hospitals and medical centers, including Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, Henry Ford Macomb Hospital - Clinton Township, St. John Macomb-Oakland Hospital and Mount Clemens Regional Medical Center. The Comfort Inn is conveniently located at Hall Road and Van Dyke near fabulous shopping that includes the Lakeside Mall, Shelby Town Center and the Mall at Partridge Creek. Whether it is shopping, eating out or enjoying Michigan's fine parks and recreations, Comfort Inn of Utica is the place to be. Experience the fashion, dining, and entertainment destinations in Macomb County. The Mall at Partridge Creek is home to over 90 distinctive stores and restaurants; the 130 fabulous stores at Lakeside Mall; or catch some amazing deals at the Great Lakes Crossing Outlet Mall. The nearby Stony Creek Metropark Nature Center provides opportunities for hiking, biking, boating, and ice skating. Mark your calendar and enjoy the local festivals, orchards and cider mills. ​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Utica Hotel Utica
Utica Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing