We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Utica(Utica)(Great Value!)
$85
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$123
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica(Utica)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Staybridge.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$101
TownePlace Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
37
42
8
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
42
8
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdave and bustersnice hotelstayed one nightstaff was friendlynice stayomeletbed was comfortableelevatorhallwayhighwayfuneralcouch
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 101 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for three days / two nights of work and catching up with old friends. The breakfast was plentiful Holiday Inn Express fare; the rooms, aisles and meeting rooms were clean. Staff was friendly and casual. The location is fantastic!! Close to popular restaurants and easy access to Macomb County along M-59. Downs: small work-out room, elevator.

Room Tip: Nice view from 4th floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

The staff and I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete this wonderful review. We are constantly striving to ensure that each and every guest feels at home while they are staying with us. I will also look into the issue with the elevator right away. Thank you and have a great holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed with my family. Nice room, very clean. Comfortable beds. Quiet room. You can walk to Dave and Busters and there are a lot of restaurants and shopping very close by. Pool facilities were clean, clean towels avaiable. Pool was a little chilly, but kids didn't mind. Breakfast was very good. Plenty of choices, including hot items, but not very well stocked. I would definitely stay here again. A little pricey though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliekenben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review. We really do appreciate it and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

The room was big. A refrig & microwave in each room was great. Breakfast was ok. Not much to choose from. Wish they had a waffle maker.
It took all day for our room to be cleaned. I didn't complain because it really didn't matter to me.
There are restaurants within walking distance. Dave & Buster's is there too for the kids.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I am so sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We do offer a hot breakfast each morning which includes biscuits and sausage gravy, eggs, bacon and warm cinnamon rolls. We are working right now to add a pancake maker to mix as well. We are always open to suggestions to improve our breakfast bar. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice, clean hotel but don't stay unless you are a heavy sleeper. We stayed 10/27/12 and got no sleep as you can hear everything in the rooms beside and above you. Couldn't have the heat on in the room as the heater was also so loud. Not worth the money when you can't sleep.

Stayed: October 2012
2  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention, as it is only through receiving comments such as yours that I am able to constantly monitor the service and standards offered to the guests at our hotel.

It was, however, frustrating to hear of the issues you experienced regarding noise disturbance from neighboring guests, for which I would like to offer my sincerest apologies. Please be assured that we do try to ensure that all guests behave in an appropriate and considerate manner while staying with us. The front desk is always available to handle these types of complaints when they are informed of them. I have also informed out maintenance department about the issue with your heater so that this problem will be resolved immediately.

It is disappointing that you did not experience a perfect stay with us during your last visit. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future when I am confident we can re-establish your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel was clean,staff treated us great , room was very clean, pool was very good , workout area was great . The breakfast that was included was great , each morning was great to get up and eat nice warm breakfast , different variety every morning eggs sausage what ever you wanted it was there , juice milk coffee fruit no complaints on this part. would stay there again

Room Tip: the room we had was on the 4th floor which is what we like not so close to elevator
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Domenic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

The staff and I would like to thank you for submitting this wonderful review. We are so glad that you were able to partake in our breakfast each morning. We continuously try to improve it to ensure that our guests are delighted with our breakfast selections. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews