We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for shoppers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
London, ON
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great for shoppers!”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Beautiful hotel that has been recently renovated. We had a room with 2 doubles and a living area with a sectional couch, 42 inch flat screen TV.

Would be great with little kids because they can sleep on one side of the room, parents could stay up.

Also a great place if shopping with friends - Lakeside Mall and all the big stores close by. You can walk to nearby restaurants and pubs for a dinner and a drink.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3zigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    132
    34
    15
    10
See reviews for
197
95
30
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

The hotel was lovely, inside and out. The room and flat screen tv were huge. There was a large pullout couch, too. However, the weekend we stayed there, the hotel was overly crowded due to some events in the area, and the elevators were a nightmare. Also, we were extremely disappointed that there was no hot tub, though there was a pool. On a brighter note, the lobby was beautiful with lots of room to lounge about, and the 24 hour cafe had some delicious cookies.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingchicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, MI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

When I step foot into the Hyatt I was amazed! I used the check-in kiosk. It was very user friendly. A staff even came to check to see if I was having any problems.

The hotel/rooms looks just like the photos. The room was very spacious. I stayed in a guestroom w/ king bed. The bed was comfy and yes, the pillows are soft and fluffy. The hotel is very clean. It looks almost new still.

The bathroom was a little snug. Enough space for you to get in and close the door. Instead of paper cups, they has 2 glass cup and a metal pail for ice.

The pre-made food was expensive. However, there are plenty of restaurants in the area.

The flat screen TV was nice, but the HD connection was not too good.

I loved the contemporary decor in the rooms/ hotel. It made me feel comfortable...and like I was in a upscale hotel (almost) =] At the end of the stay, I didn't want to leave. I wished I had made arrangements to stay another night. The staff were most wonderful. Very polite, and they greeted me whenever they saw me. I also used the kiosk to check out, and a staff member even came by to check on me again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j145x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2009

This is one of those hotels you "Gasp" at when you get your surprise when you book on Priceline, but I have to tell you, I was dead wrong. It's basic, not a ton of services, but they go overboard to make you feel at home. First of all the rooms are big, with a living room with a 42 inch flat screen TV and a nice little desk for working. There is a huge couch in that room and it's a great place to relax for a while instead of just another bed. very small closet, the only downer from this whole place. Bathroom is small too, though you don't have to close the door to sit down (BEEN THERE!) They have complimentary breakfast, though it is very basic and 24 food service. You have to go downstairs and order from their limited menu, and the person behind the desk, the kings/queens of multi-taskers, go over and cook whatever you order. I was truly stunned at such a bargain hotel having such a great room. It's probably a 3-star hotel. One more thing: it was spotless.

  • Liked — The rooms were a good size for the price
  • Disliked — location was bit out of the way
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carlobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

I am currently at this hotel, sitting on the comfy couch, using their free wireless internet, and watching their 42 inch plasma TV. We are here for a physical therapy inservice and the other couple said "This might be the nicest hotel we've ever stayed at." and they are well traveled-been to many different countries and places. This hotel is AMAZING. The staff is friendly and VERY helpful. The rooms are tastefully decorated and clean. The beds are great. This morning I asked if we can buy their pillows. And I'm serious. I want their pillows. There is a small fridge, coffee machine/coffee in the room. For breakfast this morning they had a variety of Starbucks coffee, teas, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, English muffins and toppings like butter, PB, jellies....it was FREE! You can also order a hot breakfast for an additional charge. We didn't check out the pool but they do have a workout room. I cannot rave enough about this hotel and their service. The price is sooo reasonable for the quality you receive. STAY HERE IF IN THIS AREA!
PS-The gentleman at the front desk said this hotel is only 1 year old (as of Jan 09).

  • Liked — The 42 inch TV!
  • Disliked — Nothing! Nothing! No complaints!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JennGOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

My family and I stayed at this hotel with a voucher we had from cashing in points from our checking account. The transaction went smoothly and the staff was friendly. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were nice, but the beds were not very comfortable. The tv was beautiful, but there was constant interference, like static. We did not order any movies because they were $10 a piece, but they had a very good collection to choose from. The complimentary breakfast was basic. I would of preferred some hot items, but everything was presented nicely. The pool was your average pool and the 2 times we went there there were no towels, but within minutes they were replenished. They had a water cooler machine that was empty the whole time we were there. No big deal, but why have one for guest if your not going to change the jug. They back door to the hotel by the pool could be opened and the room key access to the pool did not work so anyone could of come in. They did not have a jacuzzi which was a bummer. That is the one thing I look for in a hotel, but since the Hyatt in Dearborn that has a jacuzzi was booked, we settled for this one. All in all this was a basic hotel. I would have been a little disappointed if I had a paid for the night because there was nothing special, but as I did not I will say this is your average, clean hotel and if that is what your looking for then I would recommend this to you.

  • Liked — cleanliness and front desk staff
  • Disliked — no jacuzzi
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Nice hotel and excellent value. Hotel looked and felt new. The rooms were clean and spacious - a family of four could fit comfortably. Breakfast and internet access are already part of the room rate so you don't have to pay more. Hotel is conveniently located and accessible. It is near shopping complexes and dining outlets which is a great plus.

We enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt Place Utica and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Room size, free breakfast and internet, location
  • Disliked — Bathroom and clothes closet a bit small
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mar_j_c_phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica

Property: Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
Address: 45400 Park Avenue, Utica, MI 48315-5918
Location: United States > Michigan > Utica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Utica Hotel Utica
Hyatt Utica
Utica Hyatt Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing