We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but there were problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice, but there were problems”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The overall hotel was nice and convenient to get into and out of (which is important at this busy corner). I do question however the need for a $25 per night deposit on 'incidentals'.If I was to do any damage to the room, it would certainly be more than $25 worth. There was no minibar in the room and the area to buy food is right by the desk, so certainly a customer could be charged at that time.
The phone system was really screwed up, I couldn't place a call to a residence just across the expressway from my room, no matter which way I tried, I ended up having to use my cell phone and placing a long distance call. I could however call another number across town from the room, explain that to me.
I was in one of the 'remodeled rooms, and although the bathroom was nice, I could only get either hot or cold water from the shower, no mixing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michtraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    125
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
186
93
28
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This location is renovating their bathrooms but are doing it in a professional manner. They have changed their breakfast offerings but have also raised their room rates and the trade off is not worth it. The Hyatt is still a nice location and the staff is usually very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room down the hallway away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToeKneeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great place to stay. Clean spacious rooms. Continental breakfast is excellent. Best ever. We were here for A shopping trip so hotel is centrslly licated. Had room with king size bed and seating area.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drew571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar F, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our Hyatt Place!
Our staff does work very hard to ensure that you have a wonderful stay with us. They are what really set us apart. One of the stand out features of our room is the plug panel. It makes it easy to connect your devices like a DVD player or laptop to the TV in the room. We hope you had a great time with your family and once again, thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you next time you visit the metro Detroit area.
-Pilar Ferry
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was there for business and the stay was great. I was working long hours 12 hours a day seven days a week and it was nice to back to the hotel and take a shower and it the bed there. The air was fine and the bed was great. I am going to fine who made the mattress and but one of the same type.

Room Tip: Room 419 was great and no noise for 66 days
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rommy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar F, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our Hyatt Place!
Our staff does work very hard to ensure that you have a wonderful stay with us. They are what really set us apart. again thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you next time you visit the metro Detroit area.
-Pilar Ferry
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had already booked a Hyatt Place in Alpharetta, GA and it looked so nice, we decided to do the same in Utica. Needed a hotel close to m mother-in-laws senior residence. This was perfect. We already knew the hotel would be great with clean rooms, all amenities, breakfast, nice decor, and the location was perfect. We had already decided to take her to dinner at a Carrabba's as we had coupons, and a gift card. That was within 1 mile so everything worked out just great. Hyatt Place is going to be my hotel choice when possible.

Room Tip: Make reservations early as they seem to fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandytampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

After s Michigan Game had to take the van back and it was a late hour, the check in Kiosk is a think of the past.It seems management wants more interaction with Guest, very secure, and very inviting! Getting into the parking lot as my nuvi couldn't understand why I wouldn't jump a curve!!!

Room Tip: Take in the serenity!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edog152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar F, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our Hyatt Place!
Our staff does work very hard to ensure that you have a wonderful stay with us. They are what really set us apart. One of the stand out features of our room is the plug panel. It makes it easy to connect your devices like a DVD player or laptop to the TV in the room. We hope you had a great time with your family and once again, thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you next time you visit the metro Detroit area.
-Pilar Ferry
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The other reviewers were not kidding...the staff here is NICE. Everyone we encountered had a smile for us. Our room on the 5th floor was clean. The only complaint that I have (and trust me its no big deal) is that when you turn on the light in the bathroom the fan automatically goes on. Not a good thing when others are sleeping and you need to do business in the middle of the night. But everything else was perfection. The pool was clean, there were plenty of chairs, plenty of towels. The breakfast was outstanding. Fresh fruit, fresh juice, fresh breakfast sandwiches, cereal, bagels, yogurt. Everything was tasty. My daughter bought a cookie late and they even warmed it up for her. We just stayed at a very expensive hotel in Chicago and I would say the service was much better here at the Hyatt and literally hundreds less. A bonus is the location...close to all shopping which is what brought us there in the first place. We'll definitely be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica

Property: Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
Address: 45400 Park Avenue, Utica, MI 48315-5918
Location: United States > Michigan > Utica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Utica Hotel Utica
Hyatt Utica
Utica Hyatt Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing