We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it so much we came back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Reviewed September 7, 2009

After our enjoyable stay over Labor Day 2008, we decided to stay here again and we were not disappointed. The smoking room was nice and comfortable, the breakfast good with more than the normal selections, and the whole experience for a three-night stay was enjoyable. We did encounter a couple of problems that we mentioned on check out so they could be corrected prior to another guest using the room. A lamp was inoperative and the refrigerator was quite loud...much louder than the typical unit. The louvers on the heater were also somewhat broken. Despite this, it was a good stay. One thing worth noting is that there is no ice machine. The attendant in the breakfast area will gladly provide you with a baggie of crushed ice, but don't plan on filling a cooler. Of course, there is an ice maker in the room refrigerator. Also, the location is very close to an expressway. I would recommend asking for a room away from the traffic noise. Since it was a holiday weekend, this was not a problem but could have been on a normal work day.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarAndWide_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 102 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2009

As we approached the hotel the outside appearance is pleasent, this is where it ends.
The front desks agents were engaged in their own conversation and needed to be interupted to receive assistance. As we are standing with 5 bags in tow, we got a "checking in" What do you think ? No directions to the elevator, no explanation of services or food service times.
This apparent lack of interest is found with other employees, even those having coffee in the lobby on a Saturday morning while guests are looking for seats.
The hallways have carpet stains, wallpaper tears and if you are looking for an activity weeding at poolside would be possible.
If you enjoy a workout room at 78-82 degrees this is the place, bring your own towel. In two days only one towel was on the shelf. 50% of the equipement worked.
The room was clean, but needed minor repairs such as sink drain did not work The breakfast buffet had a good selection and was kept replenished. There are other choices the Marriott Courtyard or Hyatt Place nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmberWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a last minute trip to Detroit due to a death in her family. Given a very short turn around time, we selected the Staybridge Suites in Utica. We're very glad we did; we didn't need any additional stress and we didn't get any.

One of the minor flaws in the process of doing research on a site like this one is that, while you learn the fundamentals of the location or service, you may not get the more intimate details of things like the attitude of the staff and little extras that the subject of the reviews provide. That is kind of what we experienced with the Staybridge Suites in Utica, MI. The overall descriptions were very favorable, but what we found when we arrived was so much better!

The Staybridge Suites offers… well, suites, which include little kitchenettes, TV’s in every room (if you have multiple rooms), a safe and other amenities, but what you may not necessarily hear about is that they also have a DVD player (complete with a complimentary bag of microwave popcorn), a 24 hour multiple-variety coffee bar in the lobby (in addition to the coffee maker in the room, which comes with great Wolfgang Puck grounds), blow dryers and ironing supplies, a free laundry room (soap available at the small on-premise shop), a utilitarian but perfectly adequate weight/workout room, a pretty nice variety of breakfast foods each morning (and complimentary dinners a couple of times a week) and a wonderfully attentive staff. The parking is free and convenient and the area around the pool/Jacuzzi is perfect for lounging day or evening. And all of the areas mentioned above are very clean!

It seemed like at every turn we found something else the facility provided. And in most cases the convenience was free; this place isn’t big on nickel and diming the guests. For instance, the computer room comes complete with printers which can be used for free and the Internet access throughout the hotel, whether Wi-Fi or hard lined.. is also free.

Moments before sitting down to write this review; our voice mail received a call from the GM of the property asking us how our six night say was. I am convinced that he is asking, not for some corporate-mandated requirement, but because he genuinely cares. We’ll call him back, but it will be a short conversation; we’ll just tell him to read this review.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Cap'n_Crunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

I'm from the area and just stayed at the Staybridge Suites to get away for a night. The place is very nice and clean! The front desk was very friendly and only took me a few seconds to get checked into the room. The best part is having a large fridge, stove, microwave and dishwasher right in your room. They also give you your pots, pans, dishwear and all that. The pool they just opened today I believe. Looks very nice and theres a bbq right next to it. Wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend just to "Get Away" from our respective roomates. We had a Queen bed "Studio" style and we decided that we should have gotten the actual 1 bedroom for $20 more a night just because I am a night owl and he's an early riser and it would have been nice to not be waking each other up.

Had a "deluxe" continental breakfast - regular continental breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon, & sausage. They also had a make your own waffle maker. They had a huge selection of wolfgang puck coffees.

The staff was wonderful. Our only complaint was that our toilet didn't want to flush well even with no toilet paper in it, but that was really the only complaint!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vnc1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Excellent! This is a very nice location. Convenient to 53 and most of Utica, MI. This is a very nice hotel. Most of the big box retailers and restaurants are right up the street. Not the place to stay if you need to get downtown but well suited if the North Burbs are where you need to be.

The rooms are large and very well outfitted. The pool is outside thus not able to be used 50% of the year in Michigan but it has a nice set up. There is a grill outside as well.

The fitness room is small for a Staybridge, but serviceable. The great room has a nice two story atrium and a good size business center.

The staff was great. Thanks for the second bag of popcorn!

A great choice as always

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2007

Overall good hotel, just a little tough to find, would stay here again. Nice heated pool and spa, DIY breakfast is included. Nice commen area with couches and plasma TV, business center with PCs and a 24 hr mini store. Studio room was clean but a little tight for 2. For more than 2 you may want a 2 BR. Ask for a room away from the highway.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Recceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica

Address: 46155 Utica Park Blvd, Utica, MI 48315-5919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Price Range: $107 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Staybridge Suites hotel is located in Utica, a suburb in Northern Macomb County about thirty minutes from downtown Detroit.We offer a choice of three spacious suite accommodations, excellent for extended stays: studio, one bedroom and two bedroom/two bath suites. All suites feature fully appointed kitchens, including microwaves, coffee makers, dishwashers and full-size refrigerators with ice makers.We offer a deluxe complimentary breakfast buffet featuring Wolfgang Puck Coffees, freshly-made golden malted waffles, hot oatmeal or choose our 'On the Go' breakfast, a Continental breakfast bagged to go as early as 5:30 AM. We also offer a complimentary Sundowner Reception that includes a meal and beverages Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings from 5:30 to 7:30 PM. The hotel offers an outdoor pool, whirlpool and barbecue pavilion seasonally. Our on-site convenience store, complimentary laundry facilities, business center and fitness center are all open 24-hours a day.Our suites have separate living and work areas complete with free high-speed Internet access, two-line speakerphones with data ports, direct dial telephone numbers and personalized voice mail. We also offer free local calls, video cassette players and in-room movie rental. An ATM machine is also available.We invite you to come 'Make It Your Place!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica Hotel Utica
Staybridge Suites Utica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing