We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to go!”
Review of Inn at Union Pier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Union Pier
Ranked #2 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was fantastic!! The staff was friendly and cheerful. Everything was spotless. The rooms we looked at that were vacant were all beautiful. All had many windows & had nice views. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginidick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your stay at The Inn. We're always friendly here because we love having people stay with us and treat them just like family. We hope you will come see us again in the summer or fall.

Regards,

Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Union Pier
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 233 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Amazing service, breakfast, location and staff. Fantastic weekend getaway. Friendly staff, great rooms. Recommend for ANYONE. Location is 30 min or less from several wineries or breweries, even a whiskey distillery. For the night owls the casino is about 15 min away as we'll.

Room Tip: Even though there was no pool or fitness, I still gave them excellent ratings because this place was...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you Kendra and Brad for your kind words and taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. You will have to come in the summer when you can swim in Lake Michigan and watch the most beautiful sunsets in Union Pier. I did not know someone was celebrating a birthday. Happy Birthday and maybe come back for your anniversary or the other ones birthday. Hope to see you again at The Inn.

Regards,

Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Everything about the inn was wonderful. The food, rooms, the people, the area, the hot tub, everything! They recently remodeled the rooms and they are all very nice. They offer unlimited coffee and tea all day. Breakfast is amazing. The beach is very close even though is was frozen is was beautiful. The inn keepers are very knowledgeable on the area. They know what is good and what is not so good! We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spacy1kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

I'm so glad your weekend was romantic and memorable. It must have been the room and fireplace plus the breakfasts. Hope you will come visit us in the summer when you can walk along the beach and catch a beautiful sunset. In the summer you won't have to run from the hot tub to the Great House in the freezing cold. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I went for valentines day and it was the most hospitable place i can say we've EVER stayed ! My wife and I travel at least twice a year and as far as hospitality goes, it was second only to our trip to Fiji! From the moment we entered, Karen made us truly feel like we were guests in her home and she was going to make sure we were comfortable. And the best part was just wandering in to the kitchen seeing Karen ( Bill on the second day) just cooking breakfast. The food was GREAT the rooms were nice and simple with the COOLEST fireplaces.And i can't stress enough how great Karen Bill and Marylyn were. I've never really felt the urge to by something for a host/hostess at a hotel, But Karen was so awesome that we brought her back a piece of carrot cake from a restaurant because we heard she likes it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidchristianbuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatUnionPier, Owner at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

David, thank you for your kind words. We are all so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at our Inn. We look forward to your return trip maybe when Lake Michigan looks more like the waters near
Fiji and less like a giant ice cube. It was our pleasure to serve you and your wife and enjoyed getting to know you. Till your next visit - enjoy your journeys.

Regards,
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Since my husband and I are still in grad school, we decided to do weekend honeymoons. This past weekend, we stayed at the Inn at Union Pier and it was simply amazing. The staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful. The owners are so nice and strive to make sure each visitors stay is perfect. The breakfasts are amazing. The room we stayed in, the Chardonnay, was so welcoming and cozy and newly renovated! They even wrote us a card and left a dish of cookies and a bottle of champagne in our room to congratulate us. Also, the home made cookies are awesome, and the wine and popcorn in the afternoon is great especially to sit down by the fire and just relax or play board games. The city itself has many hidden gems and Lake Michigan is stunning in the winter. The Round Barn Winery offers an amazing selection of different wines, spirits and beers and there are some amazing local restaurants within close proximity to the Inn. Overall, it was a wonderfully romantic getaway that we home to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissyG88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

We are so happy that you chose the Inn for your honeymoon getaway. Since we're so close we hope we'll be seeing you more often. The beach is so close, we provide chairs to take down to the beach, and the sunsets are gorgeous. We have bikes for your use in the warmer weather, you can enjoy the hot tub and not worry about making a mad dash when you get out because of the cold air, and the best breakfast you'll ever have. Looking forward to your next stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor about the Inn.

Regards,

Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I had a couple days of time to getaway from Chicago, and chose the Inn at Union Pier because I've always loved that area of Michigan. Bill and his staff were warm and friendly and helpful at every turn. An overall great experience. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I'm glad you were able to get some R&R and just take time for yourself. More people need to take some time just for themselves so they can feel rejuvenated. This definitely is the place for doing that and maybe next time the both of you can come if you can find someone to watch the little one. Hopefully next week we will see some warmer weather and people can make it down to see the lake. Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

From start to finish this was the most pleasurable B&B experience we have had. (We have been visiting B&B's for 17 years). Even before we arrived, Bill had called to confirm our stay so well as ask for our dinner plans so he could make reservation for us at Timothy's. I knew right away I was in for a terrific experience.

We arrived on Super Bowl weekend and was greeted with a winter storm that had my little Prius stuck all of 200 feet from the Inn's front door. Thanks to Bill and his shovel, we were able to get moving again and get checked in.

The property is beautiful and charming with three separate buildings connected with a "boardwalk" style walkway. It was like looking at a winter wonderland. Picturesque in every way. The interior was warm, spacious, and inviting. A mix of old country and ski lodge. After a quick tour by Bill we found a fireplace in practically every room, which was well appreciated that cold weekend. Popcorn and wine served every evening affords the guests a chance to chat and cozy up around the great room and it's fireplace.

Our stay was in the Captains Quarters, a large room with a fire place and whirlpool tub. The room was large enough for a set of reading chairs and coffee table, large king size bed, and a coffee station complete with sink and fridge. Windows on three sides of the room allow guests to see all around the yard and rest of the Inn, and allow a lot of light so you don't feel confined in the room.

The breakfast was de-lish and had a nice variety each morning. Fresh cookies are out everyday as well as tea and coffee.

As nice as the rooms were, as fun as the popcorn and wine was, the real charm of the place is Bill and his ever happy personality and warm smile. Always helpful, never pushy, and made us feel like we have known each other for years after just a few minutes. I can't wait to make another trip back in warmer weather to see the town and the inn in better sunshine, but also to see my new best friend and swap some more stories.

***winter advisory, do not follow gps coordinates! call for directions. GPS will put you and your Prius in unsaved dirt roads****

Room Tip: The Captains Quarters is the largest room, but all of the rooms that we looked at were spacious and...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatUnionPier, Owner at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi Steve,

Thank you for the review, we are all so pleased that you and Debbie had such a good time at the Inn and I certainly enjoyed meeting & getting to know you. We sure had a bonding time getting your car out of the snow. We look forward to your return trip when all this white stuff has been replaced by green grass. But I do admit it is beautiful up here during the winter and the wood burning fireplaces do add an extra treat to the stay. Thanks again for taking the time to write such a nice review; it is always good to hear that our guests have had such a pleasant stay and we have met all your needs.

Regards,
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Pier
22.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
212 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
4.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
4.1 mi away
Lake Country Inn
Lake Country Inn
#1 of 7 in New Buffalo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Union Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Union Pier

Address: 9708 Berrien St, Union Pier, MI 49129-9458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Price Range: $184 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1920's era Bed and Breakfast Inn with 16 guest rooms, private baths, real wood burning fireplaces and 250 foot steps to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. Stay includes full breakfast, snacks & beverages during the day and wine & popcorn in the evening. Located in a quite residential setting within minutes of restaurants, shopping, antique shops, art galleries and wine tasting. Enjoy our hospitality in the casually elegant surroundings of a true country Inn. Open year round. Also available for family gatherings or corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Union Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Union Pier Hotel Union Pier
Inn At Union Pier Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing