We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lightness of staying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages
Ranked #1 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We go relatively often to Union Pier and tend to look for a location by the very lake. This is the first time we did not, and did not regret. The hosts, Julie and Eric, have the lightness of being about them, and it appeared as if in similar fashion the whole property was laying a claim of belonging to the surrounding nature. All was in place, even many guests who seem to have unknowingly fallen under this spell. Delicious breakfast, great room, with hosts and staff taking care of all details, one was looking forward to coming back to the propriety during the stay. Definitely staying here again on our next trips to the area.

Room Tip: Stayed in Silver Maple, very comfortable bed, ceiling with skylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stojimir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 262 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Julie and Eric provide a homey, casual, tastefully rustic B & B with plenty of room to play a game, read, or just relax. Julie is an excellent cook. Everything is homemade and very yummy. She really fusses and makes it look effortless, which I know it is not. They give all the information and directions you want to wineries and great restaurants. They offer good-working bikes to borrow for exploring. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms by the eating area would probably provide a bit more privacy, or the rooms on...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

By chance goggled B & B, Eric answer the phone and yes had an open room on a Monday night. What a great little find, We got to tour some of the open rooms each one nicely decorated, we ended up in the Silver Maple Room. Nice property, walking trails secluded yet close to the beach.
Thanks Eric, Julie and Emily you are a great host.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bvanduyne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Goldberry Woods is now our new favorite place to stay in Southwest Michigan. The hosts, Eric and Julie, are fantastic, the breakfasts outstanding, and our room was perfect for us. We've been to Union Pier a number of times, but it was great to get more insights and helpful information from Julie, Eric, and their staff. Meanwhile, the grounds are lovely and only a mile from the lake. There are bikes available for free and so we biked along the lake and into New Buffalo one afternoon. What a treat! I highly recommend staying here. It is an excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzanneDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our first bed and breakfast experience. I had always been somewhat apprehensive about staying at a Bed and Breakfast so I'm glad our first experience was at Goldberry Woods. We had a wonderful time. Julie and Eric have an innate sense of hospitality. The breakfasts were delicious and there were always snacks to nibble on. The rooms were big with cool beds. The 25-acre grounds were riddled with trails, a large garden, orchard and bee hives. We used a Goldberry kayak to explore the river and Goldberry bikes to travel a short distance to Lake Michigan. The downside is that Goldberry Woods set our future bed and breakfast expectations so high that we're surely to be disappointed at any other place.

Room Tip: I had a chance to look at most of the rooms and they are all nice but I especially liked our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FinchumFarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend at Goldberry and we were very happy with our decision to stay there. The bed frames (we stayed in the American Hornbeam room) are truly a work of art (the beds themselves are quite firm). It's delightful how the room allows you to open a pass-through so that you can watch TV while soaking in the 2-person tub. Julie's breakfasts were simply outstanding. (I can still taste the lemon ricotta pancakes with strawberries. Yum!) Julie and Eric create a friendly vibe for all the guests in the morning at at wine and cheese time as well. The location of the B&B was great for access to Warren Dunes, great restaurants and shops, and local breweries (we'd recommend Greenbush and Journeyman). One reminder I would make for folks considering the B&B is to keep in mind that it is a true B&B rural experience -- meaning if you don't want to chit chat with others at breakfast or are disconcerted by an ant that wanders into your room, then you may be better off at a more standard hotel. For us, we would happily return to Goldberry again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank candidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I took a much needed weekend getaway to Goldberry Woods and couldn't be happier with our stay. Upon arrival, we were received with a warm welcome from the owner, Julie, and enjoyed the wine and snacks served by a lovely fire in the wood burning stove. We stayed in the Golden Maple which was large and tastefully decorated. We found everything to be just as it appears in pictures on the website. We enjoyed chatting with Julie, and I can't say enough good things about her delicious breakfasts! She even went the extra mile to copy her recipes for me! We enjoyed exploring the beautiful grounds as well. Visiting the beach, shopping, wine tasting, and enjoying a romantic dinner at Brewster's Italian Cafe completed our wonderfully relaxing weekend. I highly recommend staying at Goldberry Woods on your next trip to Michigan wine country.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Pier
23.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
220 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
20.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn at Union Pier
Inn at Union Pier
#2 of 4 in Union Pier
234 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lake Country Inn
Lake Country Inn
#1 of 7 in New Buffalo
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages

Address: 9902 Community Hall Rd, Union Pier, MI 49129-9304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Price Range: $150 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 28 acres of beautiful wooded land, we are a family-run Bed & Breakfast and Organic MicroFarm in the middle of Harbor Country, Michigan. Less than a mile from the beaches of Lake Michigan, tucked peacefully in a secluded space along the banks of the Galien River, our exceptional amenities and focus on homegrown, homemade, farm-to-table food will make your visit with us a one-of-a-kind experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages Union Pier, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing