We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gordon Beach Inn - enjoyable stay in historic inn”
Review of Gordon Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union Pier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gordon Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Highland Park
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gordon Beach Inn - enjoyable stay in historic inn”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

The building is historic but clean. The rooms are on the small side, but comfortable. There are rocking chairs on the front porch and benches in the large back yard. The private beach on Lake Michigan is just a short walk away. It's a lovely sand beach, great for swimming, running and sunning. The sunsets are great and if it's clear enough you can see the Chicago skyline in the distance. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a small art gallery on the lower level that shows several artists with a variety of styles - be sure to take a look. Timothy's restaurant just off the lobby has an excellent reputation, so reserve ahead of time or be willing to dine at 5 PM or 9 PM.
The inn is kid friendly, but there also were young couples, older couples, small groups of women, and small groups of men who were traveling when we were there. The plumbing is a bit noisy and should be updated. If you are looking for a new facility, this is not a good choice. If you're looking for a relaxing stay in a place with history and charm, you will enjoy it here. We have been before and will return.

Room Tip: If you plan to go to bed early and are a light sleeper, you might want to ask for a room away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    12
    10
    17
See reviews for
11
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've been going to Harbour Country for 26 years, and in a last minute pinch, decided to stay at the Gordon Beach Inn. What was I thinking? Timothy's,the in house restaurant, is not to be included here.
The staff- RUDE- awful-, the room needs just to be torn down and completely rebuilt, bathroom antiquated, a heavy person couldn't even walk around the bed, oh, the soggy bed, and the bathroom, needed lighting assistance and a fan--need I say more?? It is the year 2014, someone please give these people paint, manners, and decorating ideas! Shame on them for calling this inhabitable- or comfortable! Not even quaint!

Room Tip: There is no good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy16Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Union Pier hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Unfortunately, what could be a quaint and cozy country inn just isn't. And I usually love these kinds of places! The lobby and porch are nice enough, and they had one of the great beers from the local Tapistry Brewing Company (terrific place) on tap to enjoy while sitting on a rocking chair. But staying here just isn't an option. Really wish we hadn't. The rooms are dingy, character-less boxes that are poorly ventilated. The beds are very uncomfortable and the furniture is worn. The bathroom is badly dated - the finish from the wooden shelf and towel rack are worn to the bare wood (see pictures) and the old faucet is badly oxidized. The rooms get the food smell from the restaurant below (which apparently is nice). Perhaps the biggest joke of all is the tiny, 13-inch box TV that has to be 25-30 years old. I can't imagine why it's even there. Some things are not better than nothing. That statement also just about sums up the rooms at this place. If I owned this place, I'd feel embarrassed at the condition of the rooms. Definitely very 1950's, which is likely the last time it was updated.

Room Tip: Don't bother to stay here...really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrewExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Gordon Beach Inn staff is inhospitable and rude, the bedding is horrible and uncomfortable, The restaurant, Timothy's, takes the entire lobby so there is no where to go except the dingy room. Advertised as "historic", but the Gordon Beach Inn is just plain old and weary with not even the basic amenities. Nothing works including the hot water, the faucets or the air conditioning. The "private" beach is a mile walk because there is no parking. Union Pier is such a fine area...you can do much better for your money and time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
241 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I should have known when this was the only available Inn within a 20 mile radius! This place needs a LOT of TLC. The room was small and musty with windows locked shut. The 13" TV - yes that's right, 13" - was probably manufactured in the 70's. There was exactly one bar of soap in the bathroom - no shampoo or conditioner or lotion. There's no one at the front desk after 11PM. OH - and at 4AM, someone tried to get into our room! The only nice thing about this stay was the great small collection of draft beers at the lobby bar. And the restaurant seemed to be crowded.

Room Tip: Here's the tip: book early and stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthbetold_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had a wonderful 2 night get away for our anniversary. Didnt plan on eating at Timothys resturant, but the smell was so intoxicating we did the first night and had such a devine meal, dined there the next evening. Rom 3 is great. Whirlpool and small deck. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Choose room 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a okay hotel for what it is. It is an historic hotel so it does not have the amenities of other hotels or bed and breakfast hotel. So if you are looking for amenities this is not the place for you. But most places in Union Pier require more than a two day stay - especially for rentals.

We had room 11 - it was nice and cute! Love the rocking chairs.

Let me say you can hear everything from the other rooms in the hotel. So just be prepared. We did not hear the restaurant but we did hear our neighbors.


Also they have a weird policy about the heat and air. The problem we had when we stayed there was that it was hot during the day and cool at night. So the first night we walk in late and it was cold and it was cold all night. Now then the next day after going to the beach we came back and it was over 80 degrees in the room and we had not touched the thermostat. We went to dinner and came back and it was still 80 degrees. My husband went downstairs and told the manager and she explained it was too cold so they had turned off the air. She was definitely not super friendly in explaining this.

I have to admit if I had more time to plan I would have tried to get a bed and breakfast place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Pier
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
23.1 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
0.8 mi away
Inn at Union Pier
Inn at Union Pier
#2 of 4 in Union Pier
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Beach Inn

Property: Gordon Beach Inn
Address: 16220 Lakeshore Rd, Union Pier, MI 49129-9329
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Gordon Beach Hotel Union Pier
Gordon Beach Inn Union Pier, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing